DISCLAIMER

Electronic versions of the exhibits in these minutes may
not be complete.

This information is supplied as an informational service
only and should not be relied upon as an official record.

Original exhibits are on file at the Legislative Counsel
Bureau Research Library in Carson City.

Contact the Library at (775) 684-6827 or
library@Icb.state.nv.us.
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Tax Syst‘em.—-’l‘ﬁe Nevada tax system is Abased on a general sales and use fax
law. In addition, the legislature has levied casino taxes, a property tax and certain
excise, license and privilege taxes. An outline of the Nevada tax system follows:

Title of Tax

. Basis—Rates ,

Due Dates

Corporate organiza-
tion and qualifica-
tion fees,

Annual corporation re-
port fee.

Business privilege tax.

General property tax,

Net procéeds of miner-
als tax.

Gaming tax.

‘Casino entertainment
tax

Alcoholic beverage
tax,

Motor vehicle fuel tax;
special fuel tax; in-
spection fee.

State Tax Handbook

From $175 per $75,000 or less of authorized
capital stock to $425 per $1,000,000 plus
$225 per each additional $500,000. Maxi-
murn amount—$25,000,

$85 flat rate for domestic and foreign corpora-
tions; $165 for initial list of officers and

$25 per employee, per quarter. Business license
application fee, $25.

'y

General property-—35% of taxable value of real

and tangible personal property. Aggregate of

state and local rates fixed to meet budget; not
to exceed 5¢ per $1 of assessed valuation.

Dependent on the ratio of the net proceeds to
the gross proceeds of the operation as a whole:
the rate is 2% for a net-to-gross percentage of
less than 10%; 2.5% for a percentage of at
least 10% but less than 18%; 3% for a per-
centage of at least 18% but less than 26%;
3.5% for a percentage of at least 26% but less
than 34%; 4% for a percentage of at least 34%
but less than 42%; 4.5% for a percentage of at
least 42% but less than 50%; and 5% for a
percentage of 50% or more and where annual
net proceeds exceed $4 million.

County licenses, from $10 to $50 per month:
state licenses, from 3% to 6.25% of gross
revenue per month; state licenses, minimum
of $100, based on number of games operated.

10% of amounts paid for admission, food, re-
freshment, service or merchandise.

Excise—malt beverages, 9¢ per gal. Liquer,
0.5% through 14% alcohol, 40¢; more than
14% through 22% alcohol, 75¢; over 22% alco-
hol, $2.05 per gal.

Gasoline and gasohol-—23¢ per gallon. Addi-
tional county taxes—from 5¢ to 10¢ per gal-
lon. Combined state/county rates vary from
a minimum 28¢ per gallon to 4 maximum of
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Domestic and foreign—
upon incorporation or
qualification or increase
of capital stock,

Last day of the month in
which anniversary of in-
corpoeration occurs.

Reports and payments—
last day of the month fol-
lowing each quarter,

General property—Re-
turns—July 31. Pay-
ment—by 3rd Monday of
"August or in 4 equal in-
stallments on 3rd Mon-
day of August and Ist
Monday of October, Janu-
ary and March.

Reports—February 16, Pay-
ment-—May 10. Esti-
mated report—April 1.
Prepayments required
from large geographically
separate extraction opera-
tions on August 1 (for
preceding 6 months) and
on November 1 and the
following February 16
(for preceding calendar
quarter).

Reports—as required,

Payment—county lcenses,
quarterly in advance;
state licenses, 24th day of
the month following the
month for which the fee is
calculated; the additional
state tax, due annualiy
prior to December 31 for
the ensuing calendar
year,

Reports and payment—
24th of each month.

Reports and payments—im-
porters and manufactur-
ers, by 20th of each
month (3% discount if
paid by 15th of month);
out-of-state vendors, by
10th of each month.:

Gasoline—Returns and pay-
ment-~25th day of each
month.

Nevada
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Taxes by State—Nevada

Title of Tax

Basis—Rates

Due Dates

0il and gas adminis-
trative fee,

Cigarette taxes.

Realty transfer tax,

Sales and use taxes.

Utilities fees.

Insurance companies
tax :

Nevada

33¢ per gallon depending upon the county.
Diesel fuel—27¢ per gallon. Aviation fuel—
2¢ per gallon; counties have an option, by
ordinance, to impose an additional 1¢ to 9¢
per gallon tax. . .

Special fuel—27¢ per gallon of fuel used in.
internal combustion engines to propel motor
vehicles, except gasoline. Compressed natural
gas, 21¢ per gallon. Liquefied petroleum gas,
22¢ per gallon. Water-phased hydro-carbon
fuel, 19¢ per gallon. .

Inspection fee—0.055¢ per g'alloﬁ of motor vehi-

cle fuel or lubricating oil shipped into or held
for sale within the state, ‘

Petroleum discharge fée—0.75¢ per gallon of
motor vehicle fuel, diesel fuel of grade 1 or 2
and other heating oil refined or imported in
Nevada.. Impositionn depends on the fund
balance. T

10¢ per barrel of oil or per S0.00i) cubic feet of
natural gas, as appropriate.

Permit processing fee for oil wells—$200; geo-
thermal wells—from $50 for domestic wells to
$500 for industrial wells.

Cigarettes—35¢ per pack of 20 cigarettes.
Tobacco products—30% of wholesale price.

65¢ per $500 value or fraction in counties with
less than 400,000 population; otherwise, |
$1.25 per $500 of value, - :

2% of gross receipts from sales of tangible per-
sonal property or selected services or sales
price of tangible personal property stored,
used, or consumed plus 4.5% on sale or use of
taxable property in any county.

2% of net profits made in the opération of any
public utility for which county franchise is
granted, -

Additional tax of not over 4.25 mills (3.5 mills
for railroads) per dollar of gross operating
revenue of intrastate utilities and general im-
provement districts, minimum, $10, _—

3.5% of gross premium income of preceding year
covering property or risks in the state less .

- dividends returned, return premiums and
premiums received for reinsurance. The same
rate applies fo surplus line brokers and inde-
pendent procurers. 1.75% reduced rate for a
Nevada domestic company maintaining a
qualified home office in Nevada. The rate
also applies to a foreign company establishing -
a qualified regional office.

Special fuel—Users' re-
ports—last day of Janu-
ary, April, July and
October; suppliers’ re-
ports—Jast day of each
month., Payment—with .
;report. '

Inspection fee—On or
before the last day of
each calendar month,

Petroleum fee—Reports due
the last working day of
the month.

Returns and payments—
last day of month;

Reports—dealers, not later
than 20 days after the
end of each month.

Payment—at time of
purchase of tax stamps,
unless authorized to defer
payment.

Payment—to be evidenced
by county recorder.

Reports and payment—Iast
day of each month for the
preceding month (quar-
terly for taxpayers having
gross monthly sales of less
than $10,000),

Reports—first Monday of
March. -

Payment—first Monday of
o Judy.

Reports—April 15. Pay-
ment—July 1 or quar-
terly on first day of July,
October, January, and
April.

Reports and payment--
March 15 except unaus
thorized - insurance, 30
days after procurement or
renewal. Estimated pay-
_ment—due quarterly on
the last day of the last
month of each calendar
quarter. Surplus lines bro-
kers owing more than
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Title of Tax

Basis—Rates

Due Dates

Estate tax, genera-
tion-skipping trans-
fer tax.

Foreign companies subject to retaliatory taxes,

Basic federal estate tax credit for state death
taxes for residents and nonresident decedents,

Generation-skipping transfer—Tax. imposed to
absorb federal generation-skipping transfer
tax credit. )

$1,000 in a quarter must
report and pay within 45
days after the end of the
quarter,

" Returns—on or before the -

- date the federal estate

tax return is due. Pay-

" ment—within 9 months
" from the date of death.

'St'ate Tax Handbook

Nevada



