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SYNOPSIS OF LAWS PASSED BY
THE NEVADA LEGISLATURE
REGARDING TOBACCO SALES AND USE

PREEMPTION NRS CH 259

In 1991, the Nevada State Legislature passed S.B. 313, which prohibits
local governments from adopting regulations more stringent that state law.

CIGARETTE VENDING MACHINES NRS CH 651

In 1993, the Nevada State Legislature passed S.B. 421, which prohibits
the placement of cigarette vending machines in public elevators, public waiting
rooms of medical facilities and medical professionals’ offices, stores that sell
food, child care facilities and buses, if minors have access to those areas. The
law also establishes a criminal penaity of a misdemeanor and civil penalty of
$100.00 per violation for a person violating this provision of the law.

TOBACCO SALES NRS CH 682

In 1995, the Nevada State Legislature passed A.B. 622, which requires
the attorney general to inspect for and enforce compliance with laws pertaining to
the sale of tobacco and to report upon those inspections. The law also prohibits
the sale of non-tobacco products in a coin-operated vending machine containing
cigarettes. A.B. 622 adopts provisions stating that a person who sells cigarettes
to minors shall be punished by a fine of no more than $500.00 unless prior to the
sale they demanded valid identification that proves the purchaser is over 18
years of age. Finally the law prevents an agency, board, commission or any
political subdivision of the state from adopting restrictions regarding tobacco that
are more stringent than state law.

TOBACCO SALES NRS CH 683

In 1995, the Nevada State Legislature passed A.B. 637, which
appropriated $60,000 to the Attorney General's office to enforce current laws
prohibiting the sale of tobacco to minors.

USE OF TOBACCO BY MINORS DID NOT PASS IN THE ASSEMBLY

In 1997, the Nevada State Senate passed S.B. 33, which would have
prohibited a minor from possessing and using tobacco on school property. The
hill also stated that a minor who engages in such conduct is a child in need of
supervision and care or rehabilitation and required that they pay a $560.00 fine or
perform community service. It also would have required the minor to attend a
class designed to discourage the use of tobacco products for a first or second
offense. For a third offense it would have required the driver's license of such a
minor to be suspended for not less than 1 year. The bill also authorized school
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police officers and other peace officers to issue a citation for the violation. Finally
the bill would have prohibited billboards or signs advertising tobacco products
from being located within 500 feet of schools.

SMOKING IN GROCERY STORES NRS CH 379

In 1999, the Nevada State Legislature passed S.B. 421 which stated that a
grocery store may allow the smoking of tobacco in a public area of the store that
contains a gaming area if: The entire interior public area of the store is 10,000
square feet or less; or (b) The area: (1) Is segregated from the other public areas
of the store by two or more walls or partial walls, or any combination thereof, in a
configuration that includes at least one corner; and (2) Contains a method of
ventilation which substantially removes smoke from the area.

A grocery store built before October 1, 1999 has until January 1,2010,to0
comply with this provision of the law. After January 1, 2010 a grocery store may
allow smoking in a public area only if it contains a method of ventilation, which
substantially removes smoke from the area. If the store remodels 25 percent or
more of its square footage before January 1, 2010, than it must include as part of
the remodel a method of ventilation, which substantially removes smoke from the
gaming area. The law allows a wall or partial wall to be defined as one or more
gaming devices designed to create a barrier that is similar to a partial wall or wall

INTERNET SALES OF TOBACCO NRS 560

In 2001, the Nevada State Legislature passed S.B. 551, which prohibits
the sale of tobacco products to minors through the Internet and requires those
who sell or distribute tobacco products through the use of the Internet to mark
clearly items that are shipped with the words “cigarettes” or “tobacco products.”
Persons who sell or otherwise furnish alcoholic beverages through the use of the
Internet must also label the shipped packages with words that describe the
alcoholic beverages. Further, persons who sell, distribute, or otherwise furnish
tobacco products and alcoholic beverages must adopt policies to prevent an
underage child from obtaining the products.

CONTRABAND CIGARETTES NRS 527

In 2001, the Nevada State Legislature passed S.B. 527, which revised
provisions governing contraband cigarettes, cigarette dealers, and the
enforcement of statutes regarding cigarettes. The law exempted duty-free sales
enterprises and persons importing cigarettes for personal use from provisions
governing the licensing of cigarette dealers and the taxation of cigarettes. The
law also specifies that cigarette revenue stamps must be designed to identify the
dealer who affixed the stamp and requires certain cigarette dealers to file a report
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with Nevada's Department of Taxation if during the preceding month that dealer
affixed cigarette revenue stamps upon cigarette packages imported into the
United States. The measure also stipulates that a retail or wholesale dealer of
cigarettes shall not affix a revenue stamp or meter machine impression upon
cigarette packages that have been imported, manufactured, or packaged in
violation of federal law.

The bill sets forth procedures for law enforcement officers that seize
contraband cigarettes to notify the Department of Taxation of such seizures. The
law also requires the law enforcement personnel of seized cigarettes that are not
transmitted to the Department. .

@ 367‘;’




