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Police target illegal auto licenses

By Patrick McMahon, USA TODAY

Call it fraud, tax evasion or just a profitable misunderstanding. Thousands
of motorists across America are illegally licensing their cars, trucks and
motor homes out of state.

States and local governments, losing hundreds of million of dollars in
revenue, are cracking down on these scofflaws with neighborhood patrols,

parking lot checkpoints, midnight investigations and criminal prosecutions.

Registering a vehicle

Most states require new residents
to get their cars licensed within 30
to 60 days (sooner if their piates
are expiring.) Many states have
exceptions or permits for military
personnel, college students,
temporary workers and seasonal

visitors,

State
Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
Californta
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
D.C.
Florida
Georgia
Hawalii
Ildaho
inois
Indiana
lowa

Kansas

Deadline
Within 30 days
Within 10 days
Immediately
Within 30 days
Within 20 days
Within 30 days
Within 60 days
Within 60 days
Within 30 days
Within 10 days
Within 30 days
Within 30 days
Within 90 days
Within 30 days
Within 60 days.
Within 30 days
Within 90 days

But perhaps the most potent weapon: tips
from nosy neighbors.

"Over the years, we've found that one of the
most effective ways to accomplish our goal
is to enlist the people who DO pay," says
David Shaw, spokesman for the
Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles.
It has a toll-free line to report violators: 1-
800-I-PAY-TAX.

Virginia's Arlington County Treasurer
Frank O'Leary nicknamed his office's
enforcement program FINK: "Friends in the
Neighborhood Know."

O'Leary has several assistants who scour
parking lots and underground garages to
look for the windshield sticker that shows
the owner paid county personal property tax
on the car. He estimates 8,000 vehicles are
without stickers. And that costs the county
$2 million to $3 million a year.

"Some of it is sheer ignorance," he says,
"but a lot of people just don't want to pay."

In Arizona, an 800-phone line has received
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State
Kentucky
Louisiana
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri
Mentana
Nebraska
Nevada

New
Hampshire

New Jarsoy
New Mexico

New York
North Carolina
State

Nerth Dakota

Ohio
Oklahoma
Oregon
Pennsylvania
Rhode island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee
Texas

Utah

Vermont
Virginia
Washington
West Virginia
Wisconsin
Wyoming

Deadiine
Within 30 days
Within 30 days
Within 30 days
Within 60 days
Within 30 days
Immediately
Within 30 days
Within 60 days
Within 30 days
Within 20 days
Within 30 days
Within 30 days

Within €0 days

Within 60 days

Within 180
days

Within 30 days
Within 30 days
Deadline

Within 150
days

Within 30 days
Within 30 days
Within 30 days
Within 20 days
Within 30 days
Within 45 days
Within 90 days
Within 30 days
Within 3C days
Within 60 days

Within 180
days

Within 30 days
Within 30 days
Within 30 days
Within 2 days

Within 10 days

Sources: AAA Digest of Motor
Laws; stafe DMV offices
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more than 4,200 calls since Oct. 1.

"It's something that the residents of Arizona
feel passionately about," says Arizona
Department of Motor Vehicles
spokeswoman Cydney DeModica. "We
have some people who have programmed
our tip line into their cell phones."

In most states, new residents are required to
register their cars and get new plates usually
within 30 days. Excuses run beyond lack of
time. Some new residents think their old
tags are good until they expire. Some try to
register where they have a vacation house
rather than where they live most of the year.
Others still consider themselves legal
residents elsewhere,

But for most, it's the money. Its often
cheaper to get a license for a car, pay sales
tax or buy insurance in a nearby state. In
Minnesota, police check out cars with
Wisconsin plates. In Massachusetts, it's tags
from New Hampshire. In Arizona, it's
Midwestern states.

Massachusetts Inspector General Greg
Sullivan estimates "in excess of a hundred
million dollars a year" in lost state and local
revenue, mostly from cars registered in New
Hampshire. A major criminal investigation
is underway.

Penalties are frequently modest. "People are
willing to take a chance when it's a few
hundred dollars," says Betty Johnson, an
administrator at the Nebraska Department of
Motor Vehicles, In Omaha, out-of-state
plates were recently the target of a police
"sting operation" outside apartment
complexes at rush hour.

The price of registering an expensive car or
motor home has led many buyers to Oregon,
where plates cost $15 a year with no luxury

or sales tax. In Reno, "our biggest problem is Oregon," Washoe County
prosecutor Kristin Erickson says. "People get a post office box in Oregon
and come back to Nevada with Oregon plates."
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Since Nevada has a large number of high-end vehicles, she says, "this is a
big-time money loser, and it's not being done by people who can't afford
it." California says its violators most frequently have Oregon, Nevada or
Utah plates.

In Arkansas, a state judge was convicted in July of failing to pay a $3,500
use tax and was fined $10,000 after he registered his motor home at an
address in Oregon.

Last year, Oregon launched a campaign to stop non-residents from getting
tags. One poster shows the state's evergreen-tree license plate and says, "If
You're Not From Oregon, You Just Don't Get It."

In El Paso County, Texas, bordering both Mexico and New Mexico,
officials launched V-RAP, the Vehicle Registration Abuse Program.
Texans are tempted to register in New Mexico because it has lower sales
taxes and registration fees and no annual inspection.

In the same way, Mexicans relocating to Texas are reluctant to give up
their old license plates. That way, a person saves by not paying higher
insurance, emissions fees, sales taxes and new drivers license fees. It's also
easier to travel into Mexico with Mexico plates than with Texas tags, state
officials say.

"If you go to sleep every night in El Paso and wake up in El Paso, you are
an El Paso resident," enforcement director Daniel Marquez says. "This is a
big problem here, and all along the Mexican border. Every other car you
see on the road has either a Mexico or New Mexico plate."

Meanwhile, Christopher Lively prowls his northwest Washington, D.C.,
neighborhood of Glover Park several nights a week with a laptop
computer. His target: cars with out-of-state plates hogging valuable parking
spaces.

"It's not just parking, it's revenue for the city," he says. "It's people hoping
to pay lower, out-of-state insurance premiums and end up raising my bills.
It's people who don't want to get their cars inspected. It's people avoiding
jury duty. And sometimes, it's people trying to avoid paying D.C. income
taxes.”

Lively, 39, is a property manager and elected neighborhood commissioner
who has pressed for city action to stop the license plate scofflaws. He even
became a reserve police officer to help.

Lively and three neighbors have accompanied police officers three nights a
week since 1999. Police spot the suspected vehicles, and the volunteers run
the plate numbers through the computer. The officer must issue the
citation. The district launched a citywide enforcement program this
summer.
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Some people disapprove of Lively's efforts. "They ask me, "Why aren't you
smile, applaud me and

out fighting crooks,' " he says. But most residents "
say thanks for doing a good job."
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