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Current Status

There are thirty eight (38) states that have GDL laws.

Florida * Michigan *
Georgia North Carolina *
Illinois Louisiana
New Hampshire California *
Massachusetts Iowa
Nebraska Ohio *
Rhode Island Colorado
Delaware Maryland
Pennsylvama * Alabama
Idaho Indiana
Maine Mississippi
Missouri Nevada

New Jersey New Mexico
New York Oregon
South Carolina South Dakota
Tennessee Texas

Utah Vermont
Virginia Washington
West Virginia Wisconsin

The six states marked by an asterisk have had studies showing the effect
of GDL implementation. All of these states have at least one full year of
implementation information.
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Typical Restrictions (Six State Evaluation)

Learner Stage
Age: Low of 14years 9months to 16 years
Duration: 6 months to 12 months

Supervised Driving: 50 hours; ten (10) hours must be at night.

Intermediate Stage
Age: Minimum age is 16 years.
Night Restriction: lam to Sam (least) to 9pm to 5am (most)
Passenger Restriction: none (least) to (most)
No passenger first six months, than

No passenger midnight to five am for
second six months.




Statistics

A joint publication (Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and the
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)), identified
five (5) characteristics of crashes by age. The five are: Driver error,
Speeding, 3+ occupants, Single vehicle, and Alcohol.

Most crashes have multiple characteristics/causes so the following
percentages will add up to more than 100%.

Characteristic Age

16 17-19 20-49
Driver Error 80% 75% 62%
Speeding 36% 31% 22%
3+ Occupants 33% 26% 19%
Single Vehicle 41% 37% 30%
Alcohol 8% 25% 47%

For our new 16 year old drivers, we must understand that the driving skills
learned in driver’s education classes are just that, driving skills. More often, the
new driver gets into trouble because of their attitude and poor decision making
skills. Teens feel they are immune to harm and as such are less likely to wear
their seatbelt and more likely to seek thrills like speeding.
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Unique Crash Risks for Teen Drivers (beginning drivers, age 16)

Passengers (under age 20)

More than half of the teenage crashes involving a fatality occur
when a teen is driving and there is one or more passenger(s) under
the age of 20.

Note: for an adult driver, passengers in a vehicle slightly i
reduce the risk.

40% increased crash risk
106% increased crash risk
390% increased crash risk

One Passenger
Two Passengers
Three Passengers

i

Night-time Driving

Prior to significant night-time restrictions on driving by beginning
drivers:

14% of the driving occurred between 9:00 pm and 6:00 am,
32 % of fatal crashes occurred during this time.

Driving Experience
New Licensure (Unrestricted License)

Crash Rats (250 miis Incriments): New Licensure Rate is for 10,000 miles

M Rale per 10,000 Miles

250 500 750 1200 1250
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Driver Involvement

% Drivers License/% Motor Vehicle Fatalities - By Age: Nevada Data 2001

% Drivers Lice

W% Fatalitios

% Drivers License/% Drivers in Fatal Crashes: By Age, Nevada Data 2001

% Drivers License
W % Drivers in Fatal Cras




Nevada 2001, by Age

Fatalities & Drivers by Age Fatal Craghes, Nevada, 2001

Survivors of All Fatal Crashes by Age
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Outcomes

Six states have had enough experience (pre and post GDL implementation)
to warrant studies and have had the results published. The following results
are after one full year of implementation of a GDL law.

Florida: Implemented in 1996

19% reduction in fatalities, age 15
11% reduction in fatalities, age 16

Michigan: Implemented in 1997

25% reduction in all crashes, age 16

26% reduction in fatal crashes, age 16

21% reduction in 9pm to Midnight crashes, age 16

51% reduction in Midnight to 5am crashes, age 16
North Carolina: Implemented in 1997

23% reduction in all crashes, age 16

57% reduction in fatal crashes, age 16

43% reduction in 9pm to 5am crashes, age 16
California: Implemented in 1998

20% reduction in “at fault” crashes, age 16

Ohio: Implemented in 1999

23% reduction in all crashes, age 16 & 17
24% reduction in fatal crashes, age 16 & 17

Pennsylvania: Implemented in 1999

27% reduction in all crashes, age 16
45% reduction in fatal crashes, age 16
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