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1412 South Decatur Blvd.

Las Vegas. Nevada 89102
Nevada Tel: 702.804.8835
ASSOCiati()ll Fax: 702.804.8887

. Toll Free: 888.NAS. 3544
Services, e

March 20, 2003

Judy Farrah - via fax (562-9863) and U.S. Mail
2397 Grassy Spring Place
Las Vegas NV 89135

Dear Judy:

I have reviewed reviewed SB325, section 51. The proposal states ....cost of collecting
assessments at a rate established by the association not to exceed (1) $20 on an outstanding
balance less than $200, (2) $50 on an outstanding greater that is $200 but less than $500, (3)$100
on an outstanding balance that is $500 but less than $1,000, (4) $250 on an outstanding balance
that is $1,000 and (5) $500 if the outstanding balance is greater than $500.00. Cost of collecting
is partially defined as any collection fee, filing fee, recording fee, referral fee, fee for postage or
delivery. The term does not include costs incurred by an association during a civil action
(lawsuit) to enforce payment of assessments. With the “exception” to the definition of “cost of
collection™, the proposal gives the green light to associations to spend unlimited sums of money
in pursuing delinquent owners in court. The exception also obligates a delinquent owner to pay
for attorney’s fees and court costs, potentially thousands of dollars.

This proposal is dangerous to associations in many ways.

1) This proposal will drive companies that specialized in “no cost to the association
assessment collection” out of business. Most collection actions for delinquent
assessments are for amounts due between $250 and $1,000.00. Under the proposal,
the most a collection agency could charge would be $50 and $100 respectively. What
the proposal does not consider, among other things, in the price recommendation is
the out-of-pocket cost to enforce a lien. The cost to record a document is §14.00.
The cost to send out a letter first class and certified mail is approximately 34.00. A
title insurance policy from a title company, costs between 3250.00 and $350.00. The
proposal does not consider the cost of overhead, the cost of having an employee
conduct basic due diligence as required, at a minimum, under the Fair Debt
Collection Practices Act, general compliance costs and the cost of basic notification
to the owner of the pending collection agency. The proposal does not consider the
cost incurred by a licensed collection agency to conduct business. A licensed
collection agency must pay a yearly agency fee. A licensed collection agency must
carry a bond, NRS §649.105. The cost of carrying just the minimum bond liability
amount is in excess of $1,200 per year. Many collection agencies also carry E&O
insurance or professional liability insurance, all at additional costs. A tiered pricing
structure, as recommended, serves no practical purpose. What the proposal does not
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realize is that the cost and risk to a collection agency to collect $50 in past due
assessments is the same in trying to collect $5,000.00 in past due assessments. A
collection agency that performs this type of work is always prone to lawsuits. The
risk is considerable in a collection agency setting. Penalties for violation of the Fair
Debt Collection Practices Act can be significant, 15 USC 1692k §813. It only seems
proper that the risk (lawsuits) be analyzed with the benefit (charging reasonable fees.)

The fee structure, as proposed, will force assessment collection agencies out of
business.

If an association cannot retain a company to conduct its assessment collection duties,
the association will most likely have no option but to become less diligent in its
assessment collection activities, thereby allowing delinquencies to increase. Many
collection agencies provide “no-cost” to the association assessment collection. In
other words, the costs of collection is a burden, and rightfully so, on the delinquent
owner, not the association and not to ruie abiding owners. If there are no companies
to provide such a service, the only option to an association is pursue a delinquent
owner in court or, because of financial limitations, not engage in active past due
assessment collection. In court, there is no guarantee of success. Also, there are
considerable attorney’s fees. If this is the only option to an association, cash strapped
associations may determine that costly court assessment collection is not a viable
option. With such an economic situation, association’s will lack money to fund
reserves, pay for common areas, pay for insurance. With this proposal, an association
will see property values decrease, maintenance fall by the wayside, and an
unwillingness for lenders to make loans in such cash strapped and underserved areas.

The proposal encourages homeowners associations to file lawsuits. It appears to be
the intent of the proposal to limit the costs incurred by a delinquent homeowner.
However, this proposal encourages those associations who can afford to retain
lawyer, to file a lawsuit against the delinquent owner. As most insurance will not
cover such a lawsuit, the cost of collection (attorney’s fees and court costs) will be
bom by those owners paying assessment on a timely basis. Also, the cost to a
delinquent owner will be significant as the delinquent owner will most likely retain an
attorney to defend the lawsuit. Why would the government be encouraging lawsuits
to be funded by rule abiding owners? -I am a ruls abiding dssessment paying owner in
a beautiful homeowners association. I want my assessment money spent on
maintaining and improving my home and association. I do not want my assessment
money spent on attormeys trying to collect from rule ignoring homeowners, especially
when there are collection companies available to do it at no cost to my association.
Also, SB325 could potentially result in literally thousands of additional lawsuits
being filed every month, in local courts.

Who 1s the legislature trying to protect? A delinquent owner is provided ample notice
before a collection action commences. It is customary that if a delinquent owner is 1-
2 months late, the only penalty is a minimal late fee, perhaps $20 or $30. In other
words, collection fees and costs are assessed against an owner only after the
association and management company have exhausted all other collection efforts such
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as letters and phone calls. Most collection agencies’ initial charge is approximately
$75.00. That means an owner will often have the opportunity to resolve the
delinquency with collection fees and costs of under $100.00. It is by the inaction of a
delinquent owner that results in collection fees and costs increasing. The proposal in
essence provides those individuals, especially those in cash strapped association, who
do not want to pay assessments, a refuge to not pay assessments.

Most lawsuits are settled out of court for pennies on the dollar. Under this proposal,
the only assessment collection option available to an association would be a civil
lawsuit. After all, no collection company will be available to associations under the
price structure recommended. Under this proposal, a theoretical civil action against a
delinquent owner would proceed as follows. Owner is delinquent $500 in
assessments. The association cuts a check to its attorney’s for $3,500.00 (retainer) to
commence 2 civil action against the owner. The case possibly goes to trial. The
delinquent owner pays all the delinquencies ($500) and reimburses the association
$3,500 in attorney’s fees. In reality, the scenario would be something like this:
Owner is delinquent for $500 in assessments. The association writes a check to an
attorney for $3,500.00, money that could be used funding reserves or refreshing
landscaping. The delinquent owner then cross-complains (sues) the association for
some alleged breach of its (association) duty. A battle ensues costing more money on
both sides. 1 year later, both sides settle. Each agrees be responsible for his own
attorneys fees. Meanwhile, the association is out the $500 in original assessments, an
additional year of assessments, plus $3,500.00 in attorney’s fees. The delinquent
owner is released from his assessment obligation, has no responsibility for the
association’s attorney’s fees, and the cost to collect, and, in essence, is a burden born
by the rule abiding, assessment paying homeowners. There is absolutely no
semblance of fairness to the rule abiding, assessment paying homeowner. Is this truly
what the legislature intends?

Recommendations. It is the intent of the legislature to establish a comfort zone with
respect to assessment collection and the fees and costs incurred therein. However, it
is irresponsible of the legislature to financially paralyze an association in pursuing
such an objective. Isuggest the legislature consider the following when trying to
achieve such a comfort zone; A) The most common sense approach would be to
allow the market place to decide what the cost of collection will be. There are a
number of assessment collection agencies in the state. They compete for association
business. Allow the marketplace to determine the price. If an owner feels the fees
are too high, he or she can always file a complaint with the collection agency’s state
licensing division, the Financial Institutions Division. The division may then conduct
the proper investigation. B) Look at the real cost to collect past due assessments.
Consider the following, 1) Overhead 2) Insurance 3) Compliance costs 4) Risk to
lawsuits 5) Recording, filing, costs 6) Postage costs and 7) Title insurance costs. C)
Some states, such as California, have limited the costs and established time lines in
attempts to establish such a comfort zone. A number of years ago California limited
the amount a company may charge with the preparation and recording of a lien to
$425.00, California Civil Code §1366.3(a)(4). The restriction is irrespective of the
delinquency amount. There is talk about increasing this sum for 2004. California
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Civil Code §2924(c)(d) restricts the amount of foreclosure fees, not costs, just fees,
that a trustee (collection agent) can charge. Said amount is limited to $300 of the first
$150,000 in principal. California has established a 30-day “stay” between the time a
lien is recorded and the time foreclosure proceedings may commence.

7} Final analysis. The proposed fee structure would force “no cost to the association”
assessment collection companies out of business. The existence of such companies is
vital to the financial viability of associations, especially those cash strapped
association. This office collected in excess of $3.8 million for associations in 2002,
all at no cost to the association. Can you imagine if $3.8 million worth of lawsuits
were filed in state courts, with any individual claim, or delinquent account, averaging
$500.007 The burden on our legal system would be staggering. SB325 encourages
lawsuits. The only benefactor under such a proposal would be the attorneys. As an
aside, attorneys would be encouraged to prolong lawsuits as payment to attorneys
under such a proposal would not be the customary contingency, but an hourly billing.
Those suffering from such a proposal would be those delinquent owners responsible
for limitless attorney’s fees and those rule abiding owners who would be funding the
lawsuits. The other loser in such a scenario would be the association who, instead of
spending money to maintain and enhance property values, would be spending funds
trying to collect assessment. The associations unable to fund lawsuits against
delinquent owners would find properties falling into disrepair and property values
decreasing. Simply put, SB325 will not accomplish that for which it is intended.

I trust this information will be useful in addressing SB325. Please do not hesitate to call
should you have any questions or would like additional information.

David Stbne

Encl.




§ 2924¢

Upon your written request, the beneficiary or mort-
gagee will give you a written itemization of the entire
amount you must pay. You may not have to pay the
entire unpaid portion of your account, even though full
payment was demanded, but you must pay all amounts
in default at the time payment is made. However, you
and your beneficiary or mortgagee may mutually agree
in writing prior to the time the notice of sale is posted
(which may not be earlier than the end of the three-
month period stated above) to, among other things, (1)
provide additional time in which to cure the default by
transfer of the property or otherwise; or (2) establish a
schedule of payments in order to cure your default; or
both (1) and (2).

Following the expiration of the time period referred
to in the first paragraph of this notice, unless the
obligation being foreclosed upon or a separate written
agreement between you and your creditor permits a
longer period, you have only the legal right to stop the
sale of your property by paying the entire amount
demanded by your creditor.

To find out the amount you must pay, or to arrange
for payment to stop the foreclosure, or if your property
is in foreclosure for any other reason, contact:

(Name of beneficiary or mortgagee)

(Mailing address)

{Telephone)

If you have any questions, you should contact a
lawyer or the governmental agency which may have
insured your loan.

Notwithstanding the fact that your property is in
foreclosure, you may offer your property for sale, pro-
vided the sale is concluded prior to the conclusion of the
foreclosure.

Remember, YOU MAY LOSE LECAL RIGHTS IF
YOU DO NOT TAKE PROMPT ACTION. [14-pcint
boldface type if printed or in capital letters if typed]”

Unless otherwise specified, the notice, if printed,
shall appear in at least 12-point beldface type.

If the obligation secured by the deed of trust or
mortgage is a contract or agreement described in para-
graph (1) or (4) of subdivision (a) of Section 1632, the
notice required herein shall be in Spanish if the trustor
requested a Spanish language translation of the con-
tract or agreement pursuant to Section 1632. If the
obligation secured by the deed of trust or mortgage is
contained in a home improvement contract, as defined
in Sections 7151.2 and 7159 of the Business and
Professions Code, which is subject to Title 2 (commenec-
ing with Section 1801), the seller shall specify on the
contract whether or not the contract was prinecipally
negotiated in Spanish and if the contract was princi-
pally negotiated in Spanish, the notice required herein
shall be in Spanish. No assignee of the contract or
person authorized to record the notice of default shall
incur any obligation or liability for failing to mail a
notice in Spanish unless Spanish is specified in the
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contract or the assignee or person has actyg] Ynowl - |
adge that the secured obligation was Principally nowl.
tiated in Spanish. Unless specified in writi *go- '}
. . g to 1},
contrary, a copy of the notice required by subdivisig, .
of Section 2924b shall be in English. e

(2) Any failure to comply with the provisiong of thi
subdivision shall not affect the validity of a sale in £y, 1.
of a bona fide purchaser or the rights of an enc,-u:lr_;.‘
brancer for value and without notice. S

(c) Costs and expenses which may be charged pursy.
ant to Sections 2924 to 29241, inclusive, shall be limitey |
to the costs incurred for recording, mailing, includiy, *
certified and express mail charges, publishing, anfl
posting notices required by Sections 2924 to 9994;
inclusive, postponement pursuant to Section 2924 noE
to exceed fifty dollars (350) per postponement and a fee’
for a trustee’s sale guarantee or, in the event of judicjal
foreclosure, a litigation guarantee. For purposes of thig
subdivision, a trustee or beneficiary may purchage
trustee’s sale guarantee at a rate meeting the stan.
dards contained in Sections 12401.1 and 12401.3 of the-
Insurance Code.

(d) Trustee’s or attorney’s fees which may be charge
pursuant to subdivision (a), or until the notice of sale is’
deposited in the mail to the trustor as provided in.
Section 2924b, if the sale is by power of sale contained.
in the deed of trust or mortgage, or, otherwise at any’
time prior to the decree of foreclosure, are hereby:
authorized to be in a base amount that does not exceed:
three hundred dollars ($300) if the unpaid principal
sum secured is one hundred fifty thousand dollars:
($150,000) or less, or two hundred fifty dollars ($250) if.
the unpaid principal sum secured exeeeds one hundred”
fifty thousand dollars ($150,000), plus one-half of 1
percent of the unpaid principal sum secured exceeding
fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) up to and including one-
hundred fifty thousand dollars ($150,000), plus one-.
quarter of 1 percent of any portion of the unpaid.
principal sum secured exceeding one hundred fifty
thousand dollars ($150,000) up to and including five
hundred thousand dollars ($500,000), plus cne-eighth
of L percent of any portion of the unpaid principal sum
secured exceeding five hundred thousand dollers
{$500,000). Any charge for trustee’s or attorney’s.fees
authorized by this subdivision shall be conclusively
presumed to be lawful and valid where the charge does
not exceed the amounts authorized herein. For pur
poses of this subdivision, the unpaid principal sum
secured shall be determined as of the date the notice of
default is recorded.

(e) Reinstatement of a monetary default under the
terms of an obligation secured by a deed of trust, o
mortgage may be made at any time within the P‘“","d
commencing with the date of recordation of the notl‘“i, L
of default until five business days prior to the date & ;-
sale set forth in the initial recorded notice of sale. :

In the event the sale does not take place on the dat®
set forth in the initial recorded notice of sale or &
subsequent recorded notice of sale is required 10 be
given, the right of reinstatement shall be revived 85 &
the date of recordation of the subsequent notice of 5 e; .
and shall continue from that date until five busines®
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is greater, unless the declaration specifies a late charge
- : o a smaller amount, in which case any late charge
L ;mpOSEd shall not exceed the amount specified in the
declaration. . . .
(8} Interest on all sums imposed in accordance with
. this section, including thp delinquent assessment, rea-
e sonable costs of collection, and late charges, at an
: apnual percentage rate not to exceed 12 percent inter-
- ast, commencing 30 days after the assessment becomes

2.
du(ﬂ Associations are hereby exempted from interest-
rate limitations imposed by Article XV of the California
" Constitution, subject to the limitations of this section.

. ‘Added Stats 1985 ch 874 § 14. Amended Stats 1987 ch 596 § 1; Stais

' 1890 ¢h 1517 § 4 (AB 3689), operative July 1, 1991; Stats 1991 ch 355
ek & 2(AB 871), ch 412 § 2 (AB 623); Stats 1992 ¢h 1250 § 2 (AB 790},
- gective September 29, 1992, Amended Stats 2000 ch 125 § 1 (AB

-1859).

§ 1366.1. Excessive assessments

An association shall not impose or collect an assess-
ment or fee that exceeds the amount necessary to
defray the costs for which it is levied.

hded Stats 1986 ch 548 § 1. Amended Stats 1992 ch 1382 § 2 (SB
17508

1366.3. Alternative dispute resolution

{2) The exception for disputes related to essociation
assessments in subdivision (b) of Section 1354 shall not
apply if, in a dispute between the owner of a separate
jinterest and the association regarding the assessments
posed by the association, the owner of the separate
terest chooses to pay in full to the association all of
e charges listed in paragraphs (1} to (4), inclusive,
nd states by written notice that the amount is paid
der protest, and the written notice is mailed by
rtified mail not more than 30 days from the recording
'a notice of delinquent assessment in accordance with
tion 1367; and in those instances, the association
all inform the owner that the owner may resolve the
ispute through alternative dispute resolution as set
rth in Section 1354, civil action, and any other proce-
ures {0 resolve the dispute that may be available
rough the association.

) The amount of the assessment in dispute.
:(2) Late charges. :
) Interest.
YAll fzes and costs associated with the preparation
d filing of a notice of delinquent assessment, includ-
g all mailing costs, and including attorney’s fees not
0 exceed four hundred twenty-five dollars ($425).
(b) The right of any owner of a separate interest to
ilize alternative dispute resolution under this section
May not be exercised more than two times in any single

;:y five calendar years. Nothing within this section
a:f. Preclude any owner of a separate interest and the
~SOtiation, upon mutual agreement, from entering
-i-mé:!temative dispute resolution for & number of
The. In excess of the limits set forth in this section.
. OWner of a separate interest may request and be

4
Warded through alternative dispute resclution rea-
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COMMON INTEREST DEVELOPMENTS

§ 1367

sonable interest fo be paid by the association on the
total amount paid under paragraphs (1) to (4), inclu-
sive, of subdivision (a), if it is determined through
alternative dispute resolution that the assessment lev-
ied by the association was not correctly levied.

Added Stats 1896 ch 1101 § 3 (AB 1317).

§ 1367. Lien for delinquent assessments

(a) A regular or special assessment and any late
charges, reasonable costs of collection, and interest, as
assessed in accordance with Section 1366, shall be a
debt of the owner of the separate interest at the time
the assessment or other sums are levied. Before an
association may place a lien upon the separate interest
of an owner to collect a debt which is past due under
this subdivision, the association shall notify the owner
in writing by certified mail of the fee and penalty
procedures of the association, provide an itemized
statement of the charges owed by the owner, including
items on the statement which indicate the principal
owed, any late charges and the method of calculation,
any attorney’s fees, and the collection practices used by
the association, including the right of the association to
the reasonable costs of collection. In addition, any
payments toward such a debt shall first be applied to
the principal owed, and only after the principal owed is
paid in full shall such payments be applied to interest
or collection expenses.

{b) The amount of the assessment, plus any costs of
collection, late charges, and interest assessed in accor-
dance with Section 1366, shall be a lien on the owner's
interest in the common interest development from and
after the time the association causes to be recorded
with the county recorder of the county in which the
separate interest is located, a notice of delinguent
assessment, which shall state the amount of the assess-
ment and other sums imposed in accordance with
Section 1366, a legal description of the owner’s interest
in the common interest development against which the
assessment and other sums are levied, the name of the
record owner of the owner’s interest in the common
interest development against which the lien is imposed,
and, in order for the lien to be enforced by nonjudicial
foreclosure as provided in subdivision (d) the name and
address of the trustee authorized by the association to’
enforce the lien by sale. The notice of delinquent
assessment shall be signed by the person designated in
the declaration or by the association for that purpose,
or if no one is desigriated, by the president of the
association, and mailed in the manner set forth in
Section 2924b, to all record owners of the owner's:
interest in the common interest development no later
than 10 calendar days after recordation. Upon payment
of the sums specified in the notice of delinquent assess-
ment, the association shall cause fo be recorded a
further notice stating the satisfaction and release of the
Hen thereof. A monetary penalty imposed by the asso-
ciation as a means of reimbursing the association for
costs incurred by the association in the repair of dam-
age to common areas and facilities for which the
member or the member’s guests or tenants were re-
sponsible may become a lien against the member’s




