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REMARKS TO INTRODUCE SENATE BILL 341
BY
SENATOR BARBARA K. CEGAVSKE
BEFORE THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE
APRIL 10, 2003

Introduction

Senate Bill 341 establishes a dual or concurrent enrollment program that will benefit
high school students by encouraging them to explore careers in teaching or nursing.
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e Senate Bill 341 proposes to require that the Board of Regents pays the fees and
expenses for certain courses taken by high school students.

e To be eligible to receive the financial assistance, the student:
o Maust be enrolled in a high school in this state, including charter schools; and

o Must be taking a course at an institution of the University and Community
College System of Nevada that would satisfy the requirements for an .
undergraduate degree in teaching or nursing.

Like most other states, Nevada has two public policy issues that can be addressed with
the passage of S.B. 341:

e Encouraging more of our high school graduates to go on to college; and

o Focusing on the shortage of professionals entering either teaching or nursing.
Nevada Revised Statutes 389.160: Dual Enrollment

Nevada Revised Statutes 389.160 allows a high school student to be enrolled
concurrently in a college level course that applies both.to high school graduation
requirements and to earned college degree credit. The local board of trustees may
prescribe courses for dual credit with the approval of the State Board of Education.

The student pays for the course, however. This may exclude low-income students
when no tuition assistance is available.

According to the Education Comunission of the States, as of July 2001, the following
state policies applied to paying for the costs of postsecondary classes: '

o In four states, the state pays the tuition;

* In five states, the school district pays the tuition;
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e In2l states, the funding comes from multiple sources; and

o In 20 states, the student pays the tuition.

Senate Bill 341 would provide some financial assistance directed toward a certain goal.
Within the amounts appropriated for this purpose, the Board of Regents will pay for the
costs that are associated with courses leading to undergraduate degrees in teaching or
nursing.

Shortages in Nursing and Téaching

o Nursing—According to the Nevada Department of Employment, Training and
Rehabilitation, by 2010, Nevada will need 30,236 registered nurses, licensed
practical purses, and nursing assistants. Over this decade, that is a 37 percent
increase.

« Assembly Bill 378 from the 2001 Legislative Session set as a goal the doubling of
the enrollment in nursing programs by the year 2006-2007. To achieve that goal,
Nevada must enroll more than 1200 nursing students per year. In the 2002-2003
academic year, the institutions of the UCCSN enrolled 686 students.

e Teaching—According to the Nevada Occupational Employment and Projections
2000-2010, Nevada will need about 35 percent more elementary and secondary
teachers by the end of the decade.

« By 2005-2006, the Federal No Child Left Behind Act will require that all middle
school and high school teachers must have a major in the subject they teach. This
will effectively eliminate out-of- eaching but it will also impact the looming
teacher shortage.

Nevada Administrative Code (NAC) 387.345

Members of the committee may not be aware that some years ago the State Board of
Education changed the way school districts may count students for student aid.

o Nevada Administrative Code 387.345 was amended by the State Board of Education
to require that a pupil be enrolled in a minimum number of courses per year in
order to be counted as a full-time pupil for the purposes of receiving state aid
through the State Distributive School Account. This requirement is being phased in
over time, beginning with the cohort of pupils who entered ninth grade in
2000-2001.

¢ With the class entering ninth grade in fall 2000, pupils must take six_courses. In
fall 2001, the tenth graders must take six courses. This group, as eleventh graders



in fall 2002, must also take six courses. As twelfth graders in fall 2003, they must
enroll in five courses.

Nevada Administrative Code 387.345 is not a requirement on the student as such.
Rather, it is a requirement that the school district require such course registration
from a student if it is to count that student for state aid. If a student is registered for
less than the defined number of courses required to qualify as full-time, the district
will not get paid for that student.

The Nevada Department of Education has advised that the provisions of
NAC 387.345 would include any authorized course. These would include dual
credit enrollment in college courses, work study programs, and independent study,
for example,

So, if our high school students, especially twelfth graders, must be enrolled in at
least five courses, starting with this fall’s senior class, they may as well be working
toward college credit, if they have all of their other requirements met.

Conclusion

Senate Bill 341 provides a means to help high school students to begin their college
careers. :

Within the amounts appropriatcd, the Board of Regenfs can assist high school
students to take courses that lead to degrees in teaching or nursing, two areas facing
shortages in professionals.

Senate Bill 341 is an investment in our students for a return that will address future
needs as Nevada’s population continues to grow.

I'urge your support for S.B. 341.
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