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Traffic Safety and Children: Booster Seats
By Melissa A. Savage

The leading cause of death, in America, for those between the ages of 6 and 33 is motor vehicle
crashes. Every 13 minutes, someone in America dies from a traffic crash, and every 10 seconds
someone is injured, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA).
On average, crashes cause about 41,000 deaths each year, which cost $17 billion in medical care
and $107 billion in lost productivicy and property loss. Every American shares that burden at
about $580 per person per year, NHTSA says.

Children are one of the age groups affected most by traffic crashes. In fact, U.S. motor vehicle
crashes are the leading cause of fatal, unintentional injuries for children between the ages of 4 and
14. In 2001, 2,658 children under 16 died in car crashes—slightly lower than 2000 when 2,811
children died. The rate has dropped by nearly 50 percent over the past 25 years or so. The best

way to ensure the safety of child passengers is to buckle them in an appropriate child safety seat or
seat belt.

Booster scats are designed for children between 4 and 8 years and between 40 and 80 pounds.
Many children outgrow safety seats when they reach 40 pounds, after which booster seats can be

used. Some traffic safety advocates believe children should ride in booster seats until they weigh at
least 80 pounds.

All 50 states have some form of child restraint law, and all are primary enforcement laws. One
exception is Colorado—where the new booster seat law for children, 4 to 5, allows for secondary
enforcement. The other is Nebraska—where the law is secondary only for children who may use
seat belts, and standard or primary for those who must be secured in a child safety seat. Most
states require the use of restraint systems for specific age groups.

Gaps in Coverage. Some safety advocacy groups argue that there are gaps in coverage in some
states. In some cases, laws fail to cover children in all seating positions or the law provides an
exemption for out-of-state visitors. One noticeable gap identified by safety advocates is children
who are too big for child safety seats, but too small to be safely secured by an adule-sized lap bele.
Autumn Alexander Skeen and her 4-year-old son Anton were both buckled up using standard lap/
shoulder belts in 1996, while visiting family in Yakima, Wash. When Autumn became distracted
and lost control of her sport utility vehicle, Anton slipped our from under the seat belr and was
thrown from the vehicle. He died instantly. Skeen made a common mistake in thinking thar Anton
was big enough to fit in the vehicle sear without a child safety seat. During che 2000 legislative
session, the Washington Legislature passed Anton’s Law, which requires children between 4 and 5
and berween 40 and 60 pounds to ride secured in a booster seat.
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