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Chair Dondero Loop:   
[Roll was called.  Rules and protocol were stated.]  I will open the hearing on 
Assembly Bill 120.   
 
Assembly Bill 120:  Revises provisions governing certain insurance for motor 

vehicles. (BDR 43-813) 
 
Assemblyman William C. Horne, Clark County Assembly District No. 34:   
Assembly Bill 120 is legislation to address what, I believe, is an inadequacy in 
our auto insurance policy minimums.  Currently a purchaser is required to carry 
these minimums: (1) $15,000 of coverage required for bodily injury to or death 
of one person in any one accident; (2) $30,000 of coverage required due to 
bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident; and  
(3) $10,000 of coverage required for injury to or destruction of property of 
others in any one accident (15/30/10).  However, these minimums do not 
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provide protection for Nevada families or those who are injured on Nevada’s 
roads and highways through no fault of their own.  The purpose of liability 
insurance is to make whole, to the extent possible, persons who are injured in 
an automobile accident because somebody hit them while they were driving on 
our roads.  They could have been driving their vehicle, they could have been a 
passenger in a car, or they could have been the person at fault. 
 
These current minimum limits were set in 1958.  The last time these limits were 
addressed by the Legislature was in 1985, and no action was taken.  In 1958 
the top five television shows were Gunsmoke, Wagon Train, Have Gun—Will 
Travel, the Rifleman, and the Danny Thomas Show.  Gas prices were $0.24 a 
gallon.  The average price of a home was $37,000.  A popular car was the  
Ford Edsel.  The first federal seat belt legislation had not been passed yet; it 
passed in 1968, and Nevada did not require seat belts until 1985.  Imagine, in 
1958, the type of injuries that were seen in emergency rooms and hospitals 
from automobile accidents.  Cars were not even required to have seat belts in 
them, and the people with cars that had seat belts were not required to wear 
them.  Alaska and Hawaii were not even states yet.  My mother and father had 
not yet met in Okinawa, Japan.  Although my father and grandfather were 
serving in the U.S. Armed Forces, they were subject to discrimination at the 
ballot box because in 1958 the Voting Rights Act of 1965 had not arrived.  This 
is what was going on in 1958 when we set the minimum limits on automobile 
insurance that we have today in the year 2011.   
 
I would like to tell you a personal story and why I decided to bring this bill to 
your Committee.  June 5, 2010, I was on my way to pick up my children.  
There were a couple of cars that were racing on U.S. Highway 95.  They were 
driving little sports cars, and I was driving a 2005 Nissan Armada.  One of the 
cars lost control and hit me.  It flipped my car at the speed of 70 miles per hour.  
I have a torn rotator cuff and torn ligaments in my wrist—both of those need 
surgery.  I have an injury to a nerve in my elbow; my hand goes to sleep for no 
reason sometimes.  There was also an injury to my back, which I have had 
physical therapy on and an epidural shot, which cost me $2,200.  Transporting 
me to the University Medical Center Trauma Center after the accident was 
extremely expensive.  Later, I realized the man who hit me had the minimum 
insurance coverage.  It does not even come close to covering the cost of my 
care.  I am very blessed.  I am up, walking around, still going to the gym, and  
I am still in my children’s lives.  There are a lot of people who have accidents, 
not as severe as mine, but have greater injuries.  They may be in wheelchairs or 
have to walk with the aid of a walker or a cane.  They may have had multiple 
surgeries for their injuries.  They may also have the experience where the 
person who hit them had the minimum insurance coverage. 
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I have heard from the insurance companies and rental car companies.  
Everybody tells me that this is going to raise the rates of everybody who buys 
insurance, particularly those who are below the limits that this bill proposes to 
increase.  I knew that when I put the bill in; I know this is not going to be a 
popular bill.  I know it raises rates at a time when the economy is struggling.   
I know this bill is bad for all Nevada families.  All neighborhoods are affected by 
it.  I also understand that one of the purposes of the Legislature is to protect the 
public.  One of the things we are supposed to do is look at laws that we have, 
that are designed to protect the public, and ask ourselves if the law is doing the 
job it was designed to do.  When this bill was passed, these minimum limits 
were set at a certain time, for a certain reason.  We need to occasionally look 
and see whether or not those particular laws are doing that.  I think today, our 
current minimum limits for our insurance do not protect the public.  They do not 
protect those persons who are injured by no fault of their own.   
 
The insurance companies will come up and they will tell you 40 percent or more 
people will be affected with increases in their insurance policies.  They are going 
to say now is not the time to pass this legislation.  Since 1958, I wonder how 
many times the insurance industry has come and said that we need to raise the 
rates because people are not being protected by the current minimum limits.   
I would say they probably have never done that.  We have had good economic 
times.  It is not that they did not know these limits were not adequate to cover 
the expenses of injured people because they are paying the claims.  They hear 
from the injured people and their attorneys.  They know these claims are 
oftentimes getting settled.  Insurance companies are only paying a percentage 
because they do not have enough money to pay all of the health care providers.  
The insurance companies have known this for years.  In good times and in bad, 
they have never come forward to say that these minimum limits are not 
adequate to protect the public.  I do not think they will ever come forward and 
agree with this bill.  Is now the time to have this discussion?  I think it is.  Are 
these the right limits to raise the minimums to?  The last time we had this 
discussion was in 1985, which was quite a long time ago.  I graduated from 
high school in 1980.  This was my first accident, and I was 48 years old at the 
time.   
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Thank you, Mr. Horne.  Are there any questions from the Committee? 
 
Assemblywoman Neal:   
I understand where you are coming from; however, I am one of those people 
who would have to deal with my premium increasing if this bill were to pass.   
I, and a lot of my friends, only make $36,000 a year.  The only reason I get 
good coverage is because I have good credit.  Other people who do not have 
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good credit or get good coverage run into a problem of what bills they are going 
to pay.  I know a few people who cannot pay month to month.  They are 
always battling between their insurance payment and rent.  It has nothing to do 
with the recession; it has to do with the fact that Nevada has low wages, and 
we have a working class who tries to balance and fix their mandatory expenses.  
They have a fixed budget because of low education or whatever their reason 
may be.  I looked at other states and their minimum limits are 25/60/30.  Why 
did you choose not to raise the limits to the range of other states limits?  Maybe 
we should increase just the second tier instead of jumping the first tier from 
$15,000 to $50,000. 
 
Assemblyman Horne: 
I understand everything you said, and I do not disagree with it.  These numbers 
can change; I am not wedded to them.  If this Committee believes the numbers 
I put forth in the bill are too high, you can lower them.  If you believe the 
current numbers are where they need to be, great.  That is the purview of this 
Committee to decide.  I think at the very least I am making the effort to have 
this conversation; I think it is overdue.  I understand that many families have 
troubles paying the existing premiums. 
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Are there other questions from the Committee?  [There were none.]  Now we 
will hear from people in support of A.B. 120.   
 
Graham Galloway, representing Nevada Justice Association:   
We are in favor of and support this legislation.  The goal of this legislation is to 
protect everyone in this room and to protect everyone in this state.  With the 
explosion in medical expenses and car repair expenses, the current limits are not 
doing their jobs.  They are not taking care of people.  We have some of the 
lowest limits in the nation, and they are not cutting it.  I talk to people on a 
daily basis who are accident victims, and on top of it they are victimized by the 
system because the insurance limits are not sufficient to cover their medical 
needs, loss of income, or car repairs.  In preparation for this meeting, I did a 
quick look around my office.  I have 19 cases that I could identify without even 
looking into the files where the injured parties had bills or medical expenses in 
excess of $15,000 and the wrongdoer only had the minimum-limit policy, which 
puts that victim in the hole.  We are a two-lawyer firm, and we talk to people 
on a weekly and daily basis who are victimized by the situation.  Not only are 
they hurt, out of work, and in pain, but now they owe money because they 
have hospital bills more than the insurance coverage available. 
 
Our position on this bill is that it is long overdue, as Assemblyman Horne stated.  
Nobody is happy about raising rates.  At this point, I do not know if anybody 
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has a grasp on what changes will happen to the rates, but nevertheless it has to 
be dealt with.  Assemblywoman Neal referenced numbers.  I just want to say 
from our perspective, $50,000 is probably not sufficient.  If we were lawyers 
on the plaintiff’s side, we would want a $100,000 limit, but $50,000 is a good 
start.  Anything less than $50,000 creates problems for a large segment of the 
individuals out there who get injured. 
 
From our experience, in the past five years a routine emergency room visit for a 
run-of-the-mill, minor to moderate car accident used to be $2,500.  We see bills 
on a routine basis that are $15,000 to $25,000.  If you consider a minimum 
less than $50,000, $25,000 is even going to be a struggle for a lot of accident 
victims.  From our perspective, $50,000 is probably not enough; $15,000 is 
certainly not enough. 
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Thank you, are there any questions? 
 
Assemblywoman Woodbury: 
I was just wondering, what happens when a party is not completely covered?  
Does it go into a lawsuit? 
 
Graham Galloway:   
Yes and no.  There are a couple scenarios.  If you have your own underinsured 
motorist coverage, then you look to your own insurance carrier to make up the 
deficit or what did not get covered from the wrongdoer.  If you are like a lot of 
my clients and a lot of people in this state, you do not have underinsured 
motorist coverage because you opted out of that.  The current law right now 
allows people to opt out of that coverage, so then you get into a lawsuit and 
hopefully someone has personal assets.  Realistically that does not occur 
because if you are buying the minimal limits of coverage, usually you are an 
individual who does not have a lot of personal assets.  Typically when an 
individual comes into my office, the wrongdoer has the minimal coverage, and 
the individual has $25,000 in medical expenses.  They do not have any 
additional coverage of their own, and that is an out-of-luck situation where  
I have to have a hard discussion with that individual.  I try to negotiate the 
medical expenses away, so they are not in the unfortunate situation of owing 
somebody money.  That happens on a regular basis.   
 
Assemblywoman Benitez-Thompson:   
I want to make sure I am reading the bill right.  The testimony has sounded like 
it is applicable to every registered owner, but am I right that this bill is specific 
to people who have short-term leases and who are renting cars? 
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Graham Galloway:   
That is just the first section of the bill.  As far as I understand the bill, it applies 
to every registered owner not just the short-term lessees or lessors, which 
would be the rental car situation.  It applies to anyone who owns and registers a 
vehicle.   
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Mr. Horne, would you like to clarify that? 
 
Assemblyman Horne: 
Mr. Galloway’s statement was correct.  This bill is not solely directed at the 
lessees but to all ownerships. 
 
Assemblyman Frierson:   
Are either of you aware of any statutory scheme in any other state where there 
is a separate limit for people who are determined to be indigent?  If there is a 
certain qualification, there is a lower bracket of insurance limits if they are 
determined to be indigent, and for everyone else there would be a separate 
bracket.  I just thought of it, and I was wondering if either of you were aware it 
existed anywhere. 
 
Graham Galloway:   
I am not aware of any pool or fund for indigent registered owners.  I think there 
are states where there are pools if you are a high-risk driver or you are not able 
to obtain affordable insurance.  New Jersey has some kind of state-organized 
pool for drivers who cannot afford the regular insurance rates. 
 
Assemblyman Atkinson:   
Does anyone have any indication of what increasing these limits may do to 
people’s insurance rates?  I am asking that because I am with State Farm, and 
each time I renew, they send me something that says I can pay what I have 
been paying for six months, or I have three other options.  Those options 
usually have increased limits, and those options cost more money.  I do not 
understand because I have a high limit, but they still send it to me.  I do wonder 
what is going to happen to those individuals who are barely able to afford their 
insurance as it is.   
 
Assemblyman Horne:   
In my discussions with members of the insurance industry, the insurance 
commissioner, and his actuary, they came up with the same numbers of an 
increase on the premiums.  About 40 percent of the insured are going to 
experience an increase in their rates if this bill passes.  I forget the level of 
increase.   
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Brett J. Barratt, Commissioner, Division of Insurance, Department of Business 

and Industry: 
We did run some numbers, and we submitted an exhibit (Exhibit C) to answer 
any questions such as this.  This is subjective data; these numbers were 
gathered from our top ten auto insurers which represent about 80 to 90 percent 
of the marketplace.  We found that 59 percent of consumers will benefit from 
this because they have the proposed new minimum or higher.  There is about 
41 percent who have lower limits than what is being proposed.  Passage of this 
bill would mean those 59 percent who have the new proposed limits or higher 
would see a slight reduction in their rates.  For those 41 percent who are 
currently below the proposed limits, they would see a significant increase in 
their insurance rates. 
 
Assemblyman Atkinson:   
I am trying to word my question without sounding like I am opposing your bill.  
Have we tried to gauge any kind of demographics as to who this bill will affect?  
I ask this question because there are a couple different bills this session that are 
going to deal with insurance issues.  I have a bill myself that is modeled after 
something California is doing to make insurance more affordable for a certain 
group of people who are making under a certain amount of money.  I am 
concerned about those people, and I do not want to talk too much about the 
diversity issue.  Do your numbers take demographics into account or is this just 
a broad number? 
 
Brett Barratt:   
The information we have is aggregate data; it does not take into consideration 
various demographics.  What we look at is how many people have chosen what 
rate in this state.   
 
Assemblyman Kirner:   
I have a question on your data.  Do any of these policies affect fleets?  Are 
fleets included in this, or are they just individual policies? 
 
Rajat Jain, Actuary I, Property and Casualty Section, Division of Insurance, 

Department of Business and Industry:   
They are just individual policies.  These numbers were derived based upon the 
insurance policies from the top ten auto insurers (Exhibit C).   
 
Assemblyman Kirner:   
Would this bill affect fleets as well?  Rental car fleets, AT&T service trucks,  
et cetera? 
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Rajat Jain:   
As you are aware, commercial automobile rates are deregulated in Nevada.  The 
Division of Insurance does not have access to that information. 
 
Assemblyman Hammond:   
Right now you have a certain number of uninsured motorists out there.  I do not 
want to act like I am opposing the bill right away, but I want to ask this 
question: what do you think will happen when the rates get raised?  What is the 
threshold?  As soon as we get to a certain dollar amount, how many people 
decide not to pay the insurance and drive around uninsured? I am concerned 
about that.  Have you looked into those numbers? 
 
Rajat Jain:   
We do not have the ability to get those numbers.  It is a reasonable expectation 
that people who are opting to go uninsured in violation of our statute at the 
current minimum limits will probably continue to do so at higher limits.  Whether 
that number increases or not, we do not know.  Logic would dictate that it 
would have an adverse impact on those numbers. 
 
Assemblywoman Neal:   
You say you are not able to calculate it, but I know for a fact when I got my 
insurance, my rate changed in two instances: when I moved from Louisiana to 
Nevada from school, and when I moved from one zip code into another zip code 
within North Las Vegas.  I know the insurance companies are tracking that, and 
they are calculating the rate based on that information.  Why can you not just 
ask them to give you what they tracked?  That is how they are setting rates, 
and they are specifically doing that in Nevada. 
 
Rajat Jain:   
You are correct.  There are a lot of different criteria that go into rate developing 
today.  A few years ago, I could sit down with you and compute your rate for 
you, which is not feasible in the current environment.  Rate making is complex.  
To a certain degree, we can request the information from the insurance industry 
and we probably have some information, for example by zip code.  We can 
provide you the rating information.  What we do not collect is information based 
upon certain other criteria such as race, gender, and marital status.  Based on 
the information I have seen, the larger impact will probably be in metropolitan 
areas like Las Vegas. 
 
Assemblyman Sherwood:   
I think the issue we see is if you are poor, you are going to be hurt by this bill.  
This is not a demographic issue.  A $300 insurance bill for someone who is 
living in poverty is a lot of money.  On the flip side, there are 600 chiropractors 
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who are not getting paid.  The chiropractors lose their business because the 
insurance minimum limits are not high enough to pay them what they should be 
paid.  Is there any kind of savings that you have thought about where you can 
save $122 to $290 a year in other things, and we can still allow the current 
minimums so everyone can have affordable insurance?   
 
Graham Galloway:   
First of all, if you do not change the limits, the poor will be that much more 
adversely affected because they are going to have less insurance to cover their 
bills.  It is tough being poor, and to have to pay more for insurance will be hard.  
I do not know how to reconcile it.  I would assume that if liability limits were 
raised, then there are going to be fewer underinsured or uninsured motorist 
claims.  I do not know if anyone has realized that there might be a decrease in 
certain claims and an increase in other claims.  I do not know what the trade-off 
is rate wise.  It is a hard situation.  There is never a good time to raise rates or 
taxes.  Sometimes it has to be done.  The current limits do not do the job for 
the majority of the people as far as I can tell from my practical experience. 
 
Assemblyman Horne:   
Yes, one can argue that this bill, if passed, will harm poor people.  I want to 
remind the Committee that poor people drive and get injured on the roads as 
well.  A rich person might get hit by somebody who has these minimum limits 
and be able to make up that difference and pay the rest of their medical costs, 
not worry about money they are losing from their job, et cetera.  A poor person, 
on the other hand, who is injured on the road by someone who has the 
minimum limits as of today would be in a tough situation.  They would not have 
a savings account, their own business, et cetera.  This bill is to protect 
everyone regardless of their class standing.  If you are harmed on the road 
today by somebody with these minimums, you are going to be hurt more than 
physically but also financially. 
 
My attaché brought me an example.  If she was to have GEICO raise her limits 
to what is suggested on this bill—she is married, 40 years old, and has a child 
that drives a 2006 Toyota Corolla—her limit would go from $111 to $188 for  
6 months.  That is a $77 increase.  She is an average consumer of auto 
insurance.  I know it is not scientific, but it gives you an example. 
 
Assemblyman Atkinson:   
The numbers you just gave are from the minimum limits, which are in place 
now, to the limits that are proposed in your bill? 
 
Assemblyman Horne:   
Yes. 
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Assemblyman Frierson:   
I appreciate the aspect behind this bill; people who do not have a lot of money 
also get hurt and have bills.  They might even be at a greater disadvantage from 
the limits but the rates, if we were to compare our limits currently, would be 
subject to the insurance industry if the limits were changed.  Am I misreading 
the estimates, or are we still subject to the insurance industry if we raise the 
limits? 
 
Rajat Jain:   
There is a possibility.  We can only speak of the rates that are currently filed.  
According to current rates, if the limits are raised, the premiums for those 
people would go up.  How the change of minimum limits actually affects the 
market environment, the claims experience of the insurance industry, and the 
future rate setting is very difficult to project at this point in time.  I do expect 
the trends to show up.  Unfortunately, I am reminded of an old law, Newton’s 
third law of motion: every action has an equal and opposite reaction.  With low 
liability limits, those who opt to have uninsured or underinsured motorist 
coverage see an increase in their rates.  Increasing the liability limits affects 
those who probably cannot afford the increased premium, but it protects all 
Nevadans and could possibly lower the underinsured and uninsured motorist 
rates.  It is not an easy solution.  It is highly unpredictable at this point what 
will happen with the future rate settings.   
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Are there any other questions? 
 
Assemblyman Brooks:   
This may be a question for those who are opposed, but I will ask anyway.  The 
increase in the premium is by $168, which is proposed here.  That seems quite 
extreme.  It is more than the initial premium of $122.  I am just wondering if we 
can find a way to double the coverage as opposed to going to 50/100/25; we 
can do 30/60/20.  This might be a question for the insurance companies.  Is 
there a way to double the coverage as opposed to raising the limits to the rate 
which was proposed? 
 
Rajat Jain:   
Absolutely, there is a possibility to find middle ground.  I did not specifically 
look at the numbers for 30/60, but I did look at the numbers for 25/50, and the 
average premium with currently filed rates increasing from 15/30 to 25/50 will 
raise the rate at about 20 to 25 percent.  That does not include the rates that 
may go up by another three or four percent if the property damage is increased 
as well.  The overall increase will have a slightly lower impact.  This is a public 
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policy matter.  I can only provide you the numbers.  I would be happy to look 
into 30/60 specifically if you would like me to do so. 
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Are there any other questions?  [There were none.]  Thank you, we will now 
hear from those who oppose A.B. 120.   
 
Michael Geeser, representing AAA Nevada:   
I want to begin by giving my deepest sympathies to Assemblyman Horne.  That 
story gets played out a lot in this state.  It is our job to lay out the 
consequences for you if something were to take place.  I would like to explain it 
without going through a lot of numbers and statistics.  I will give you a couple 
of consequences that have already been mentioned.  If the minimum limits were 
to be raised, the proponents of the bill are absolutely right, we would have 
higher insurance rates.  It is in our best estimation that rates would go up  
25 percent.  We would also have a higher uninsured rate, which currently in 
Nevada is at 15 percent, the 14th highest uninsured rate in the country.  We 
already have two issues that are on the table that this bill would further 
advance.  Another statistic, if you took all of the people who currently have the 
minimum limits in Nevada and ask them to move their limits up to what is being 
proposed, it would affect close to 45 percent of all insured motorists in the 
state.  That is a really big number; you would be asking a lot of people to pay 
more money for insurance.  We could raise the limits and collect money, but 
people would not want to pay more money.  We would get a few phone calls 
about that.  I just wanted to come up here and underlie some of the 
consequences that would follow if this bill were passed.  I wanted to do that in 
an easy explanation, without using actual numbers.  Those are the reasons  
AAA Nevada opposes the bill. 
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Thank you, are there any questions? 
 
Assemblyman Hambrick:   
The state actuary was unable to provide certain data, and I am unsure as to 
whether you will be able to either, but you have given us statistics about the 
percent of uninsured.  Can you estimate what that may rise to?  There are 
already financial consequences.  Do you feel comfortable with addressing the 
financial consequences, whether they are good or bad? 
 
Michael Geeser:   
My thought is the consequence would be bad.  It would impact a lot of people.  
It would certainly drive up the uninsured rate.  There are a lot of people living in 
poverty, barely making their minimum payments, but those minimum payments 
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allow them to continue driving.  It allows them to get to work and get their 
children to school.  You raise those rates, and a certain segment of the 
population will drop off.  We already have one of the highest uninsured rates in 
the country.  I fear that a bill like this will increase that segment of the 
population.  That would be a horrible consequence that would follow from this 
bill. 
 
Assemblyman Hambrick:   
Can you explain with hard numbers? 
 
Michael Geeser:   
I cannot.  I do not have any estimates as to what limits at different increments 
would do, and what those would mean to insurance rates.  Any minimum limit 
that is raised would definitely increase the rates. 
 
Assemblyman Atkinson:   
First, you indicated that rates would increase by 25 percent, and I am not sure 
if we were able to get an actual number from the proponents of the bill.  Where 
did you get that number?  Assemblyman Horne was saying his attaché’s 
insurance would go up $77.  I am not a mathematician, so I do not know if that 
is 25 percent.   
 
Michael Geeser:   
I do not know.  I can tell you that the average, from AAA Nevada, would be  
25 percent.  That could mean much more then $77 or much less than $77 
based on the situation.  The 25 percent is just an average of people who 
currently carry the minimum limits.  I apologize, but I am not a mathematician 
either. 
 
Assemblyman Atkinson:   
You cannot give me any examples?  You did not bring any examples with you 
today?  I know you said now is not a good time to raise the limits.  When would 
be a good time?  I think it would be better for me and this Committee to figure 
out the numbers.  I do not think it is fair to the proponent of the bill for you to 
come up here and throw out that number and not explain it with examples.  You 
can say 25 percent to anything.  If you are going to make that statement, we 
should have something more concrete.  We should know what it means.  I do 
not know what it means. 
 
Michael Geeser:   
I did not bring any dollar amounts from AAA Nevada.  I know that  
Property Casualty Insurers Association of America (PCI) did bring numbers.  
They supported their numbers with a handout (Exhibit D).  I want to say the 
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introduction of this exhibit is going to come from Jeanette Belz with PCI and not 
AAA Nevada.  They have actual dollar amounts in their letter of opposition, 
page 2 of their handout.  It also gives the potential impact that this bill would 
have on insurers.  It even breaks it down to different parts of the state. 
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Thank you, Mr. Geeser.  Are there any other questions? 
 
Assemblywoman Neal:   
Other than saying that the rate will be higher, do you have any solutions that 
will bridge Assemblyman Horne’s suggestion to at least try to protect people 
who get into an accident?  Do you have an idea of a higher limit that is less 
than the 50/100? 
 
Michael Geeser:   
You can knock those minimum limits down to as low as you could possibly go; 
that would probably help.  The problem is the rates are going to get raised.  If 
the appetite is that it is alright to raise rates as long as we have the minimum 
limits going up, I think you could do that.  I want everybody to know there is a 
consequence as soon as you raise the minimum limit to anything.  The 
consequence is that the rates will go up for half of the motoring public, 
according to our information at the proposed rates in the bill.  If you just raise 
the limit in small increments, the number of those affected will go down.  What 
that number is, I cannot tell you. 
 
Assemblyman Hammond:   
Going back to 1958, I would imagine $15,000 minimum for bodily damage 
would have covered quite a bit.  What would $15,000 cover today, a broken 
arm? 
 
Michael Geeser:   
I could not honestly tell you what $15,000 would cover.  Somebody from the 
medical field would be better served to explain what medical costs are, and how 
they are covered.   
 
Assemblyman Hammond:   
I do not want to say that I support or oppose the bill right now, but I think that 
$15,000 was quite a bit of money back in 1958, but $15,000 today, in an 
emergency room, does not seem like a lot of money. 
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Any other questions? 
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Assemblyman Hogan:   
I think this is more of an observation than a question.  I think most of us have 
grown up with some understanding of the principle of insurance: regular people 
cannot afford certain catastrophic things to happen to them.  We appreciate the 
fact that if many hundreds of thousands of people band together and pay what 
we can to insure against those risks, it makes sense.  It is a sensible thing to do 
if it can be done within your personal economics.  I think we are faced with a 
problem here.  While that principle is still entirely true, it seems to me what is 
frustrating is our attempt to forecast what the results would be and to evaluate 
whether we should consider this or not.  If the amount we have to pay to share 
the risk with the rest of the citizenry is prohibitive for us, then we are likely to 
drop out or settle for a much lower coverage, thus decreasing the value of the 
principle. 
 
We should, through the Commissioner of Insurance, stimulate a little bit of 
competition among the companies offering insurance for accidents of this kind.  
That might be one of the ways insurance companies could still do well, and 
people could have a slightly more accommodating level of coverage and 
protection.  It would take a certain amount of additional effectiveness by the 
state regulators to achieve a system that has a more competitive way of 
operating.  It is frustrating to see that we were just balancing one cost against 
another.  We have the cost to all of us as drivers, which is devastating.  
Whereas we think back to the details of Assemblyman Horne’s personal 
example, we may see that what happens on a personal matter is a lot more 
devastating.  Not being able to be compensated for serious injuries is much 
more devastating than having to pay $177 more for a six-month policy.  We 
have not found the comparative numbers or a way to drive to a decision.   
I would like to see a decision that would leave neither the average ratepayer nor 
the average accident victim devastated by the effects of the system we have 
had for all of these years and threaten to keep. 
 
Assemblyman Frierson:   
Is there someone who could provide us with other state minimum limits, so we 
can compare?  I ask because I am aware that at least one state did this and 
repealed it two years later, but the level that it was when they repealed it is still 
higher than ours.  This may result in some long-term savings if we ultimately do 
raise the rates, so people do not have those outstanding medical bills.  I am 
curious, at least regionally, what other states are doing.   
 
Michael Geeser:   
I do not have the information.  Maybe someone else in the room does. 
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Chair Dondero Loop:   
If there are no more questions, we will move on.   
 
Robert Ostrovsky, representing Hertz Corporation:   
I have a very short statement.  We would like to dispose of the sections 
involving the rental car industry.  When you go to rent a car, you and the rental 
car company have joint and several liability for any accident you might have.  
Currently that is the law.  We rent in the blind.  We do not ask to see your 
insurance documents, and we do not know what insurance levels you carry.  
We offer a product which will waive all of those, and we will pick up the claim.  
You are sort of buying on-the-spot insurance from us without an actuarial 
advantage.  We do not get to analyze if you are a good driver or not.  These 
costs fall on us.  Hertz puts more than 6,000 vehicles on the road.  They are 
not all out on the road every single day, but there is a huge risk for us when 
rates get raised.  If you want to eliminate joint and several liability, that is 
another story.  Right now Hertz is responsible as any other rental car company 
for the actual damages caused by anyone who might rent one of our vehicles.  
If you raise the limits, we will have to push harder to sell our product, which is 
expensive because we do not have any actuality or rating.   
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Mr. Compan, will you speak next please? 
 
Robert Compan, representing Farmers Insurance Group:   
You would be surprised how many of our insurance agents would like to see the 
minimum limits in Nevada go up; it increases their commissions.  However, 
insurance in Nevada is a contract between you and your agent, and that is a 
conversation that you as a customer ask of your insurance agent when you get 
insurance.  Nevada does have financial responsibility, minimum limits that you 
must have, 15/30/10.  I am not sure if the Committee understands that; 
$15,000 per person in the car for a maximum of $30,000.  The $10,000 is the 
property damage amount that would be paid for the car.  On top of that, there 
is optional coverage you can add: collision coverage, to protect your car from 
damage; comprehensive coverage, which is anything but collision; medical 
payment coverage; and additional coverage on top of your liability coverage, up 
to $1 million.  The decision of what you buy is between you and your agent. 
 
I have been with Farmers Insurance Group for 25 years, and I spent 18 of those 
years in claims.  I saw the magnitude and the problems of what happens when 
somebody chooses to have lower limits.  They are faced by a trial attorney who 
looks at their assets, should they be found negligent in an accident.  This is one 
thing we ask our agents to cover whenever they talk to somebody about 
coverage.  If you have the minimum limits, you get into an accident, and 
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someone is represented by an attorney, they can come after your house, 
401(k), pension, et cetera.  You need to be financially sure of what you want.  
Unfortunately, there are a lot of customers in Nevada that will be faced with a 
rate increase should this bill be passed. 
 
Farmers Insurance Group also owns a group of companies: Farmers Insurance 
Group; Bristol West Insurance Group, which is a high-risk insurance company 
that addresses these types of limits; Foremost Insurance Group; and  
21st Century Insurance, which was an old American International Group, Inc. 
company, is an internet-based insurance company.  Please look at the exhibit  
I have provided (Exhibit E).  Just for Farmers Insurance Group alone,  
11.5 percent of our customer base has 15/30.  Most of the time, our agents are 
able to convince our clients that they need more coverage.  However, there is a 
customer base that just cannot afford it.  They are simply trying to work day to 
day and be responsible citizens by buying insurance.  If you were to take that 
11.5 percent of our customers and move them up to 50/100, there would be a 
43 percent increase in yearly premiums.  We are proud of our premiums at 
Farmers Insurance Group.  We are an expensive insurance company, and we 
pride ourselves because we give good customer service, but if you have an 
average premium of $1,000 now, that means your annual premium at the 
proposed minimum limits will be $1,430.  If you add into that the property 
damage limits, which are now $10,000 and proposed to change to $25,000, 
there is going to be a 9 percent increase.  Between the current limits of 
15/30/10 and the proposed limits of 50/100/25, there is going to be a  
52 percent rate increase for the average Nevadan who insures his car with 
Farmers Insurance Group. 
 
I am trying to get statistical data for the Committee from Bristol West Insurance 
Group, our high-risk company, which targets the SR-22 files and people who 
really cannot afford insurance.  That is our high-risk pool company that we use 
to try and put our product out there affordably.  They do not have all the bells 
and whistles that Farmers Insurance Group has.  As soon as I get that 
information, I will supply it to you.  
 
One thing Mr. Geeser mentioned is that the uninsured driver’s cost would most 
likely go up.  Last session we worked with the Legislature and the  
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to establish an insurance verification 
program called Nevada Liability Insurance Validation Electronically (LIVE).  It is 
still a work in progress.  The statute has been in effect since the early 1990s 
but now it is a live program where insurance companies report, in real time, to 
the DMV.  The problem with that is if you fail to pay your insurance, you are 
going to be subject to a $250 fine.  If I am faced with higher limits in insurance 
coverage and it is going to cost me $1,500 every 6 months and I am trying to 
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feed my family, I would opt to take my chances not being insured and receiving 
the $250 fine from the DMV.  It is not staggering or punitive; that is just what it 
is in the state.   
 
Assemblyman Atkinson:   
You mentioned a moment ago about going after people’s assets if there is an 
accident, and you have to make a recovery.  What happens if the person does 
not have any assets?  Most people who drive without insurance do not have 
assets. 
 
Robert Compan:   
I am speaking from personal experience along with claims experience.  You are 
right.  If you do not have assets, there is nothing to go after.  When my 
daughter turned 16, to get an affordable insurance product at that time,  
I bought her a minimum insurance policy, 15/30/10.  You would think, being a 
claims guy, I would know better.  I had 250/500 with $1 million liability on my 
own cars, but I bought her this off-kilter insurance just thinking it would be 
good and she would be fine.  I did not realize that she lives in my house; 
therefore, I am responsible for her.  She has no assets, but I do.   
 
Assemblyman Atkinson:   
I get that.  I have a 14-year-old that is already asking for a license.  What about 
the people who do not have assets? 
 
Robert Compan:   
With the people who do not have assets, there is nowhere to go. 
 
Assemblyman Atkinson:   
I am asking because I have a constituent who this happened to. 
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Are there any other questions? 
 
Assemblyman Hambrick:   
Am I correct in assuming, and it would depend on how sharp your attorney is, 
the person who does not have assets may never have assets depending on the 
judgment of the court in a jury trial.  Could they be subject to future loss of any 
assets? 
 
Robert Compan:   
Yes, they can be subject to assets and future earnings.  I commend 
Assemblyman Horne; I understand his thought process.  He and I spoke about 
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this prior to my testimony here today, and I consider him a good law man and a 
good friend. 
 
Keith Duffy, representing Nevada Rental Car Group:   
I represent several car rental companies: Alamo Rent A Car, Savmor Car Rental, 
Payless Car Rental, National Car Rental, Dollar Rent A Car, Thrifty Car Rental, 
Fox Rent A Car, and Enterprise Rent-A-Car.  Right now, we do not support this 
bill.  This bill will drastically increase the cost and the exposure every time we 
rent out a vehicle.  In Nevada, rental car companies are authorized to have the 
state minimums.  Right now the state minimums are 15/30/10; that gives us a 
$40,000 exposure every time we rent out a vehicle, plus the cost of the car.  
With the limits raising to 50/100/25, our exposure goes up to $125,000.  Most 
rental car companies are self-insured, and it is not through an insurance policy. 
Some do have policies and their premiums will be affected.  When we pay out 
claims, it is money we cannot recover; people cannot afford to pay us back.  
Nevada is a stacking state.  If someone does have insurance, their insurance 
may run out, and we pay whatever is left.  If there is a way to separate that 
too, that would be great.  Currently, if you hit a rental car in the state, you will 
actually get paid double what you would as an individual.  We understand and 
think this should be something to look at, but the cost for us would be 
extravagant.  We are looking at three-times more cost.  The rental car cost and 
the daily rates will go up.  In the rental car industry, there is a ceiling on the 
amount someone will pay for a vehicle, about $40 a day.  It has not changed 
too much in the past years, but the cost of cars, taxes, and fees have.  Instead 
of raising rates for profit, we have had to reduce prices, so people would still 
rent vehicles.  This is something we understand, but it is really tough on us right 
now.  The last few years have been tough with the change in the economy. 
 
We are concerned that we will see more fraud with the higher limits.  There is 
more money available, so it is possible the victim will be over treated to receive 
a higher amount of cash back from somebody’s claims.  I do not know if anyone 
has looked at studies on that. 
 
Assemblyman Atkinson:   
I am having a difficult time understanding.  Why would you be against this bill?  
I feel like it helps rental car companies because if people are carrying higher 
limits, their insurance will cover all the damage, and your insurance would not 
have to pay anything.   
 
Keith Duffy:   
We would have more exposure to pay out because every time we rent out a 
vehicle, we have that exposure.  It would affect the cost of what we pay out 
for the people who do not have insurance.  People come in and lie to us by 
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telling us they have insurance; then they rent a car and wreck it.  They tell us 
they do not have insurance, and our insurance ends up paying for it.  On the flip 
side, what you said is possible.  We have had a few cases where we do hit 
state minimums.  It is not a common everyday occurrence.  We probably pay 
out more than we get versus state minimums.   
 
Assemblyman Atkinson:   
Do you have numbers on how often that happens?  This is new information for 
me.  When a renter declines your insurance, I did not know rental car companies 
did not check to make sure the individual had his own.  The rental car 
companies just trust that if you decline their insurance you have your own?  
There is no check process? 
 
Keith Duffy:   
We rely on people to make an educated decision when they come in.  We ask 
them if they would like to go with our coverage.  They have the option then to 
opt in or opt out.  It is almost impossible to check for insurance.  It is a 
customer service issue.  We would love to check everybody, every single time, 
but insurance companies close, and it depends on the circumstances.  It really is 
a tough deal.  There is not a 100 percent, foolproof way to check and balance.  
We do have people who come in and give us their insurance cards, but their 
insurance cards are sometimes invalid.  People do try to outsmart the system. 
 
Assemblyman Atkinson:   
I disagree.  I think there are numerous ways out there to check people’s 
insurance, and if other companies can do it, then so can the rental car 
companies.  It might cost them a little bit up front, but I believe it will cost them 
a lot less money in the end.  I believe there is a way, and if the rental car 
companies truly wanted to do it, they could.  You provided me with too many 
excuses: customer service, taking too long, et cetera.  I certainly believe there is 
a way to check. 
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Thank you.  Are there any other comments or questions for Mr. Duffy?   
[There were none.]   
 
Lisa Foster, representing Allstate Corporation and American Family Insurance 

Company: 
Both companies I represent do have some serious concerns with this bill.  You 
have heard what the concerns are from some of my peers in the insurance 
industry.  We echo those concerns, but the primary one being we think it will 
raise premiums for a significant number of Nevadans.  American Family 
Insurance Company reports that about a third of their insured will see an 
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increase in premiums if this bill is passed.  Allstate Corporation points out that 
those hit hardest by the bill will be those that have nonstandard or high-risk 
policies.   
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Thank you.  Are there any questions? 
 
Jeanette K. Belz, representing Property Casualty Insurers Association of 

America:   
We did submit some information (Exhibit D).  Based on Property Casualty 
Insurers Association of America (PCI) data that their research institute council 
looked at, they estimate about 45 percent of the state’s insured drivers would 
be affected, increasing their premiums by about 18 to 26 percent.  The table 
that Mr. Geeser referred to is on page 2, and it indicates that Las Vegas drivers 
will bear the larger increase, about $122 to $290 annual increase.  We are 
concerned about the uninsured rate.  Nevada has the 14th highest uninsured 
rate in the nation, about 15.2 percent.  We are concerned that people would 
drop their coverage, and the uninsured motorist rates for the remaining insured 
customers would go up.  There was a question about the limits that are in 
surrounding states; I do not have those numbers, but Marie Holt from the 
Division of Insurance is here, and she does.   
 
Assemblywoman Neal:   
I want to find a solution.  The insurance premiums are taxed, and the car rental 
companies are taxed.  A certain amount of those taxes are added to the State 
General Fund.  Passing this bill is going to raise rates, but the state already 
taxes the insurance.  This could be a way for us to get additional money to then 
subsidize the indigent.  Then we could protect people like Assemblyman Horne 
who fall into that situation.  My concern is for those who are struggling and 
cannot pay.  There has to be some kind of subsidy associated with it.  Since the 
rate is going to go up, we are going to tax more, and we are going to receive 
more money into the State General Fund.   
 
Jeanette Belz:   
You are faced with a very difficult public policy question, and you are right, 
there are some benefits.  Mr. Compan mentioned that the insurance agents will 
make higher commissions.  There is a premium tax that is currently placed on 
insurance premiums, and if the premiums are higher, then the tax the state 
receives is greater.  What the Legislature decides is not up to me. 
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Thank you.  Are there any other questions?  [There were none.] 
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Joseph Guild, representing State Farm Insurance Company:   
State Farm Insurance Company, with all due respect to Assemblyman Horne, 
feels like it is not a good time to pass a piece of legislation which would impact 
our policyholders in a negative way. 
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Thank you.  Is there anyone neutral on A.B. 120?  [There was no response.]  
Are there any other questions or comments? 
 
Assemblyman Horne:   
Thank you for the opportunity and taking time for this lengthy bill.  I hope this 
Committee really thinks about the purpose of the limits.  All of the individuals 
speaking in opposition did not suggest that they would be in favor of this bill if 
the economy was better.  Insurance companies will always oppose this bill.  It is 
up to us to decide whether or not the limits are doing what they are supposed 
to and if now is the time to change it.  That is all I ask the Committee to do. 
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Thank you, Assemblyman Horne.  I will close the hearing on A.B. 120.  We will 
hold this bill for a future work session.  We are going to go into our first work 
session.  We will explain the process.  The opportunity for public hearing on 
these bills has passed.  A work session is when the Committee reviews bills 
previously heard and any proposed amendments.  It is not customary for the 
Committee to take testimony or otherwise rehear the bills but rather to take 
action on the bills.  If a technical issue arises, the Chair, at her discretion, may 
ask a witness for clarification.  Our Committee Policy Analyst, Jennifer Ruedy, 
will take us through the work session document (Exhibit F).  We will begin with 
Assembly Bill 26.   
 
Assembly Bill 26:  Revises provisions to clarify that motor vehicle liability 

policies must be written specifically for Nevada. (BDR 43-488) 
 
Jennifer Ruedy, Committee Policy Analyst:   
You should have the work session document (Exhibit F) in front of you.  
Assembly Bill 26 revises provisions to clarify existing law that motor vehicle 
liability policies must be written specifically to meet the requirements for such 
insurance in Nevada, in both the producer of the insurance policy and the 
insurer must be authorized to transact casualty insurance in Nevada.  This bill 
was heard on February 17, 2011.  There were two amendments presented, and 
the second one was handed out to you (Exhibit G).  It is from Jeanette Belz with 
Property Casualty Insurers Association of America (PCI).  The first amendment 
was presented by Jesse Wadhams.  His amendment was to delete  
“duly appointed” from subsection (b) of section 1.  That would clarify all 
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producers of insurance can issue the certificate.  Some producers of insurance 
are licensed, not appointed.  The second amendment is in your handout; it was 
submitted by PCI.  Senate Bill No. 312 of the 75th Session had a provision in 
section 2 that deleted the seven-day grace period.  This amendment would 
reinstate the deletion.  
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Will Ms. Belz come up and clarify her amendment please. 
 
Jeanette K. Belz, representing Property Casualty Insurers Association of 

America:   
I appreciate this opportunity.  There were two bills in the 75th Legislative 
Session that addressed insurance verification.  Property Casualty Insurers 
Association of America continues to support insurance verification.  As  
I testified from Las Vegas on February 17, 2011, we continue to find challenges 
where people feel that they are insured, but in fact it is insurance that comes 
from another state and does not meet the Nevada insurance requirement, which 
is that it must be Nevada insurance.  The request was originally for 30 days, but 
it is now a 7-day grace period for those people who come in and think they are 
covered by their insurance from another state.  They would have seven days to 
produce Nevada insurance.  If they did not, at that point they would be 
considered uninsured. 
 
I did a lot of research on the two bills from the 75th Legislative Session.  For 
example, a daughter goes out of state to Utah for school and finds out that 
Utah insurance is cheaper than Nevada insurance.  She has a Nevada registered 
vehicle, but goes and purchases Utah insurance on that vehicle and then finds 
out she is not insured according to Nevada’s standards.  The request is for that 
person to have a seven-day grace period.  I do want to clarify; we do not want 
people who do not have insurance to have another seven days to be uninsured.   
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Thank you.  Are there any questions? 
 
Assemblyman Sherwood:   
We just heard that we have some of the worst insurance in the country as far 
as minimum limits.  If someone had insurance at a limit higher than the 
minimum, is that legal insurance as far as filing a claim for medical insurance in 
another state?  We would not recognize it in Nevada, but in Utah, would they 
still file a claim? 
 
Jeanette Belz:   
I am not the right person to answer that question. 
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Chair Dondero Loop:   
Could the Department of Motor Vehicles answer it? 
 
Jeanette Belz:   
Possibly the Division of Insurance can answer it. 
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Is there somebody still here from the Division of Insurance? 
 
Marie D. Holt, Chief Examiner, Property and Casualty Section, Division of 

Insurance, Department of Business and Industry:   
I wish I could say I could explain that, but there are a number of issues that 
would come into play.  Yes, the policy in Utah would remain active as long as 
the premium was paid accordingly, but there may be some concern with other 
parties who may have been involved in that loss.  I will look further into that.   
 
Assemblyman Sherwood:   
I would want to make sure we would avoid an unintended consequence of 
trying to collect our Insurance Premium Tax: a universe of people who are not 
uninsured and trial lawyers who have nothing to work with and cannot file a 
claim. That would be a real unintended consequence that would make it bad for 
everybody. 
 
Marie Holt:   
Yes, I would agree.  If a policy had been written in another state, Nevada would 
not be collecting the premium tax on that particular policy, and again, there 
would need to be consideration as to whether that policy was still being paid in 
Utah.  Nevada has special state-specific endorsements that we request our 
insurers provide on a policy written in Nevada; those coverage requirements 
would not be provided for if it was written in another state. 
 
Assemblyman Sherwood:   
We just heard that 46 percent of the people who are insured have the state 
minimum limits. 
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Remember that we are clarifying things today, not rehearing the bill. 
 
Assemblyman Atkinson:   
Were both of these amendments considered by the Department of Motor 
Vehicles (DMV)? 
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Jeanette Belz:   
The DMV does have the amendment. 
 
Assemblyman Atkinson:   
That is not what I asked.  I want to know if someone talked to the DMV about 
these amendments.   
 
Jeanette Belz:   
I cannot speak for the DMV because I have not spoken to them since they 
received the amendment.  However, I do not think they are in favor of my 
amendment. 
 
Assemblyman Atkinson:   
Can the DMV come up?  The amendment says, “On Behalf of the Department of 
Motor Vehicles.”  Typically if someone has an amendment to a bill being 
proposed, by anybody including an agency, they should be given the 
opportunity to discuss it with them first.  Did the DMV have the option to talk 
to someone about these amendments before they were submitted? 
 
Rhonda Bavaro, Administrator, Division of Central Services and Records, 

Department of Motor Vehicles:   
I saw the email from Jeanette Belz with her proposed amendment, and we 
testified at the hearing that we were not in support of the amendment.  We 
have concerns with it. 
 
Assemblyman Atkinson:   
Can you tell me those concerns? 
 
Rhonda Bavaro:   
First, every state has different minimum liability insurance coverage; another 
state may not meet the minimum liability we have in Nevada.  Second, during 
the seven-day grace period, we were concerned who would be responsible for 
coverage.  Would it be the previous insurance company or the new insurance 
company?  Additionally, our Nevada Liability Insurance Validation Electronically 
(LIVE) program will only confirm Nevada insurance.  We would have no way to 
confirm that out-of-state insurance policy is still in effect.   
 
Assemblyman Atkinson:   
Does this hold true for the other amendment as well? 
 
Rhonda Bavaro:   
We are fine with Mr. Wadhams’ amendment.  
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Assemblyman Atkinson:   
This is the problem with some of these amendments that are submitted after 
the fact.  I am alarmed by that.  I have concerns with that because I, myself, 
thought that this was a pretty good bill. 
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Are there any other questions or points of clarification? 
 
Assemblyman Brooks:   
I have in my notes that there are also 30 days for new residents to get 
insurance and 60 days to register a new vehicle.  Were any of those 
amendments ever put forth? 
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Those are not amendments, Mr. Brooks.  That is existing law. 
 
Assemblyman Brooks:   
It is existing law, thank you. 
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
I would like to entertain a motion. 
 

ASSEMBLYMAN ATKINSON MOVED TO AMEND AND DO PASS 
WITH AMENDMENT A, SUBMITTED BY MR. JESSE WADHAMS, 
ASSEMBLY BILL 26. 
 
ASSEMBLYMAN FRIERSON SECONDED THE MOTION. 
 
THE MOTION PASSED.  (ASSEMBLYWOMAN DIAZ WAS ABSENT 
FOR THE VOTE.) 
 

Chair Dondero Loop:   
I will assign the floor statement to Mr. Atkinson. 
 
Now, we will start Assembly Bill 30.   
 
Assembly Bill 30:  Revises provisions relating to the authorization of certain 

emergency vehicles. (BDR 43-457) 
 
Jennifer Ruedy, Committee Policy Analyst:   
Assembly Bill 30 was heard on February 22, 2011 (Exhibit F).  It expands the 
list of divisions or offices within the Department of Public Safety that may be 
authorized to obtain permits from the Department of Motor Vehicles to own and 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/76th2011/Bills/AB/AB30.pdf�
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/76th2011/Exhibits/Assembly/TRN/ATRN344F.pdf�
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operate authorized emergency vehicles.  The measure adds the following 
divisions and office: the Capitol Police Division, the Investigation Division, the 
State Fire Marshal Division, the Training Division, and the Office of the 
Department of Public Safety.   
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Thank you.  Are there any questions or comments from the Committee?   
 
Assemblyman Kirner:   
I do not see a problem with this bill, but I do not understand what the Training 
Division is. 
 
Assemblyman Hambrick:   
I received an email about certain divisions or offices not being included.  There 
are some divisions that feel they should have been included in these groups.   
I am not sure if we are seeing the entire bill.  I am prepared to vote, but I am 
not sure if everyone saw the email.  Assemblyman Atkinson is indicating he also 
saw the email from the group of people within the Department of Public Safety 
stating that something was left out of the bill.  [Assemblyman Atkinson agreed.] 
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
I recognize your concern.  I think it will be handled on the Senate side.  Can we 
move forward on the bill and vote? 
 
Assemblyman Hambrick:   
That is fine. 
 
Chair Dondero Loop:   
Are there any other questions?  [There were none.]  I would like to entertain a 
motion. 
 

ASSEMBLYMAN FRIERSON MOVED TO DO PASS 
ASSEMBLY BILL 30. 
 
ASSEMBLYMAN ATKINSON SECONDED THE MOTION. 
 
THE MOTION PASSED.  (ASSEMBLYWOMAN DIAZ WAS ABSENT 
FOR THE VOTE.) 
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Chair Dondero Loop:   
Is there any public comment?  [There was none.]  Are there any comments from 
the members?  [There were none.]  We are adjourned [at 5:06 p.m.]. 
 
 
 

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED: 
 
 
 
 

  
Jordan Neubauer 
Committee Secretary 

 
 
APPROVED BY: 
 
 
 
 
  
Assemblywoman Marilyn Dondero Loop, Chair 
 
 
DATE:    
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	[Roll was called.  Rules and protocol were stated.]  I will open the hearing on Assembly Bill 120.
	Assemblyman William C. Horne, Clark County Assembly District No. 34:
	Graham Galloway, representing Nevada Justice Association:
	Yes and no.  There are a couple scenarios.  If you have your own underinsured motorist coverage, then you look to your own insurance carrier to make up the deficit or what did not get covered from the wrongdoer.  If you are like a lot of my clients an...
	Brett J. Barratt, Commissioner, Division of Insurance, Department of Business and Industry:
	The information we have is aggregate data; it does not take into consideration various demographics.  What we look at is how many people have chosen what rate in this state.
	I have a question on your data.  Do any of these policies affect fleets?  Are fleets included in this, or are they just individual policies?
	Rajat Jain, Actuary I, Property and Casualty Section, Division of Insurance, Department of Business and Industry:
	They are just individual policies.  These numbers were derived based upon the insurance policies from the top ten auto insurers (Exhibit C).
	Would this bill affect fleets as well?  Rental car fleets, AT&T service trucks,  et cetera?
	Rajat Jain:
	As you are aware, commercial automobile rates are deregulated in Nevada.  The Division of Insurance does not have access to that information.
	Right now you have a certain number of uninsured motorists out there.  I do not want to act like I am opposing the bill right away, but I want to ask this question: what do you think will happen when the rates get raised?  What is the threshold?  As s...
	Rajat Jain:
	We do not have the ability to get those numbers.  It is a reasonable expectation that people who are opting to go uninsured in violation of our statute at the current minimum limits will probably continue to do so at higher limits.  Whether that numbe...
	You say you are not able to calculate it, but I know for a fact when I got my insurance, my rate changed in two instances: when I moved from Louisiana to Nevada from school, and when I moved from one zip code into another zip code within North Las Veg...
	Rajat Jain:
	You are correct.  There are a lot of different criteria that go into rate developing today.  A few years ago, I could sit down with you and compute your rate for you, which is not feasible in the current environment.  Rate making is complex.  To a cer...
	I think the issue we see is if you are poor, you are going to be hurt by this bill.  This is not a demographic issue.  A $300 insurance bill for someone who is living in poverty is a lot of money.  On the flip side, there are 600 chiropractors who are...
	First of all, if you do not change the limits, the poor will be that much more adversely affected because they are going to have less insurance to cover their bills.  It is tough being poor, and to have to pay more for insurance will be hard.  I do no...
	Assemblyman Horne:
	Yes, one can argue that this bill, if passed, will harm poor people.  I want to remind the Committee that poor people drive and get injured on the roads as well.  A rich person might get hit by somebody who has these minimum limits and be able to make...
	My attaché brought me an example.  If she was to have GEICO raise her limits to what is suggested on this bill—she is married, 40 years old, and has a child that drives a 2006 Toyota Corolla—her limit would go from $111 to $188 for  6 months.  That is...
	The numbers you just gave are from the minimum limits, which are in place now, to the limits that are proposed in your bill?
	Assemblyman Horne:
	Yes.
	I appreciate the aspect behind this bill; people who do not have a lot of money also get hurt and have bills.  They might even be at a greater disadvantage from the limits but the rates, if we were to compare our limits currently, would be subject to ...
	Rajat Jain:
	There is a possibility.  We can only speak of the rates that are currently filed.  According to current rates, if the limits are raised, the premiums for those people would go up.  How the change of minimum limits actually affects the market environme...
	Are there any other questions?
	This may be a question for those who are opposed, but I will ask anyway.  The increase in the premium is by $168, which is proposed here.  That seems quite extreme.  It is more than the initial premium of $122.  I am just wondering if we can find a wa...
	Rajat Jain:
	Absolutely, there is a possibility to find middle ground.  I did not specifically look at the numbers for 30/60, but I did look at the numbers for 25/50, and the average premium with currently filed rates increasing from 15/30 to 25/50 will raise the ...
	Are there any other questions?  [There were none.]  Thank you, we will now hear from those who oppose A.B. 120.
	Michael Geeser, representing AAA Nevada:
	I want to begin by giving my deepest sympathies to Assemblyman Horne.  That story gets played out a lot in this state.  It is our job to lay out the consequences for you if something were to take place.  I would like to explain it without going throug...
	Thank you, are there any questions?
	The state actuary was unable to provide certain data, and I am unsure as to whether you will be able to either, but you have given us statistics about the percent of uninsured.  Can you estimate what that may rise to?  There are already financial cons...
	Michael Geeser:
	My thought is the consequence would be bad.  It would impact a lot of people.  It would certainly drive up the uninsured rate.  There are a lot of people living in poverty, barely making their minimum payments, but those minimum payments allow them to...
	Can you explain with hard numbers?
	Michael Geeser:
	I cannot.  I do not have any estimates as to what limits at different increments would do, and what those would mean to insurance rates.  Any minimum limit that is raised would definitely increase the rates.
	First, you indicated that rates would increase by 25 percent, and I am not sure if we were able to get an actual number from the proponents of the bill.  Where did you get that number?  Assemblyman Horne was saying his attaché’s insurance would go up ...
	Michael Geeser:
	I do not know.  I can tell you that the average, from AAA Nevada, would be  25 percent.  That could mean much more then $77 or much less than $77 based on the situation.  The 25 percent is just an average of people who currently carry the minimum limi...
	You cannot give me any examples?  You did not bring any examples with you today?  I know you said now is not a good time to raise the limits.  When would be a good time?  I think it would be better for me and this Committee to figure out the numbers. ...
	Michael Geeser:
	I did not bring any dollar amounts from AAA Nevada.  I know that  Property Casualty Insurers Association of America (PCI) did bring numbers.  They supported their numbers with a handout (Exhibit D).  I want to say the introduction of this exhibit is g...
	Thank you, Mr. Geeser.  Are there any other questions?
	Other than saying that the rate will be higher, do you have any solutions that will bridge Assemblyman Horne’s suggestion to at least try to protect people who get into an accident?  Do you have an idea of a higher limit that is less than the 50/100?
	Michael Geeser:
	You can knock those minimum limits down to as low as you could possibly go; that would probably help.  The problem is the rates are going to get raised.  If the appetite is that it is alright to raise rates as long as we have the minimum limits going ...
	Going back to 1958, I would imagine $15,000 minimum for bodily damage would have covered quite a bit.  What would $15,000 cover today, a broken arm?
	Michael Geeser:
	I could not honestly tell you what $15,000 would cover.  Somebody from the medical field would be better served to explain what medical costs are, and how they are covered.
	I do not want to say that I support or oppose the bill right now, but I think that $15,000 was quite a bit of money back in 1958, but $15,000 today, in an emergency room, does not seem like a lot of money.
	Any other questions?
	I think this is more of an observation than a question.  I think most of us have grown up with some understanding of the principle of insurance: regular people cannot afford certain catastrophic things to happen to them.  We appreciate the fact that i...
	We should, through the Commissioner of Insurance, stimulate a little bit of competition among the companies offering insurance for accidents of this kind.  That might be one of the ways insurance companies could still do well, and people could have a ...
	Michael Geeser:
	I do not have the information.  Maybe someone else in the room does.
	Chair Dondero Loop:
	If there are no more questions, we will move on.
	Robert Ostrovsky, representing Hertz Corporation:
	I have a very short statement.  We would like to dispose of the sections involving the rental car industry.  When you go to rent a car, you and the rental car company have joint and several liability for any accident you might have.  Currently that is...
	Mr. Compan, will you speak next please?
	Robert Compan, representing Farmers Insurance Group:
	You would be surprised how many of our insurance agents would like to see the minimum limits in Nevada go up; it increases their commissions.  However, insurance in Nevada is a contract between you and your agent, and that is a conversation that you a...
	I have been with Farmers Insurance Group for 25 years, and I spent 18 of those years in claims.  I saw the magnitude and the problems of what happens when somebody chooses to have lower limits.  They are faced by a trial attorney who looks at their as...
	Farmers Insurance Group also owns a group of companies: Farmers Insurance Group; Bristol West Insurance Group, which is a high-risk insurance company that addresses these types of limits; Foremost Insurance Group; and  21st Century Insurance, which wa...
	I am trying to get statistical data for the Committee from Bristol West Insurance Group, our high-risk company, which targets the SR-22 files and people who really cannot afford insurance.  That is our high-risk pool company that we use to try and put...
	One thing Mr. Geeser mentioned is that the uninsured driver’s cost would most likely go up.  Last session we worked with the Legislature and the  Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to establish an insurance verification program called Nevada Liability...
	I am speaking from personal experience along with claims experience.  You are right.  If you do not have assets, there is nothing to go after.  When my daughter turned 16, to get an affordable insurance product at that time,  I bought her a minimum in...
	I get that.  I have a 14-year-old that is already asking for a license.  What about the people who do not have assets?
	With the people who do not have assets, there is nowhere to go.
	I am asking because I have a constituent who this happened to.
	Keith Duffy, representing Nevada Rental Car Group:
	Lisa Foster, representing Allstate Corporation and American Family Insurance Company:
	Jeanette K. Belz, representing Property Casualty Insurers Association of America:
	We did submit some information (Exhibit D).  Based on Property Casualty Insurers Association of America (PCI) data that their research institute council looked at, they estimate about 45 percent of the state’s insured drivers would be affected, increa...
	I want to find a solution.  The insurance premiums are taxed, and the car rental companies are taxed.  A certain amount of those taxes are added to the State General Fund.  Passing this bill is going to raise rates, but the state already taxes the ins...
	Jeanette Belz:
	You are faced with a very difficult public policy question, and you are right, there are some benefits.  Mr. Compan mentioned that the insurance agents will make higher commissions.  There is a premium tax that is currently placed on insurance premium...
	Thank you.  Are there any other questions?  [There were none.]
	Joseph Guild, representing State Farm Insurance Company:
	State Farm Insurance Company, with all due respect to Assemblyman Horne, feels like it is not a good time to pass a piece of legislation which would impact our policyholders in a negative way.
	Thank you.  Is there anyone neutral on A.B. 120?  [There was no response.]  Are there any other questions or comments?
	Assemblyman Horne:
	Thank you for the opportunity and taking time for this lengthy bill.  I hope this Committee really thinks about the purpose of the limits.  All of the individuals speaking in opposition did not suggest that they would be in favor of this bill if the e...
	Thank you, Assemblyman Horne.  I will close the hearing on A.B. 120.  We will hold this bill for a future work session.  We are going to go into our first work session.  We will explain the process.  The opportunity for public hearing on these bills h...
	Jeanette K. Belz, representing Property Casualty Insurers Association of America:
	Thank you.  Are there any questions?
	We just heard that we have some of the worst insurance in the country as far as minimum limits.  If someone had insurance at a limit higher than the minimum, is that legal insurance as far as filing a claim for medical insurance in another state?  We ...
	Jeanette Belz:
	I am not the right person to answer that question.
	Could the Department of Motor Vehicles answer it?
	Jeanette Belz:
	Possibly the Division of Insurance can answer it.
	Is there somebody still here from the Division of Insurance?
	Marie D. Holt, Chief Examiner, Property and Casualty Section, Division of Insurance, Department of Business and Industry:
	I wish I could say I could explain that, but there are a number of issues that would come into play.  Yes, the policy in Utah would remain active as long as the premium was paid accordingly, but there may be some concern with other parties who may hav...
	I would want to make sure we would avoid an unintended consequence of trying to collect our Insurance Premium Tax: a universe of people who are not uninsured and trial lawyers who have nothing to work with and cannot file a claim. That would be a real...
	Marie Holt:
	Yes, I would agree.  If a policy had been written in another state, Nevada would not be collecting the premium tax on that particular policy, and again, there would need to be consideration as to whether that policy was still being paid in Utah.  Neva...
	We just heard that 46 percent of the people who are insured have the state minimum limits.
	Remember that we are clarifying things today, not rehearing the bill.
	Were both of these amendments considered by the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)?
	Jeanette Belz:
	The DMV does have the amendment.
	That is not what I asked.  I want to know if someone talked to the DMV about these amendments.
	Jeanette Belz:
	I cannot speak for the DMV because I have not spoken to them since they received the amendment.  However, I do not think they are in favor of my amendment.
	Can the DMV come up?  The amendment says, “On Behalf of the Department of Motor Vehicles.”  Typically if someone has an amendment to a bill being proposed, by anybody including an agency, they should be given the opportunity to discuss it with them fi...
	Rhonda Bavaro, Administrator, Division of Central Services and Records, Department of Motor Vehicles:
	I saw the email from Jeanette Belz with her proposed amendment, and we testified at the hearing that we were not in support of the amendment.  We have concerns with it.
	Can you tell me those concerns?
	Rhonda Bavaro:
	First, every state has different minimum liability insurance coverage; another state may not meet the minimum liability we have in Nevada.  Second, during the seven-day grace period, we were concerned who would be responsible for coverage.  Would it b...
	Does this hold true for the other amendment as well?
	Rhonda Bavaro:
	We are fine with Mr. Wadhams’ amendment.
	This is the problem with some of these amendments that are submitted after the fact.  I am alarmed by that.  I have concerns with that because I, myself, thought that this was a pretty good bill.
	Are there any other questions or points of clarification?
	I have in my notes that there are also 30 days for new residents to get insurance and 60 days to register a new vehicle.  Were any of those amendments ever put forth?
	Those are not amendments, Mr. Brooks.  That is existing law.
	It is existing law, thank you.
	I would like to entertain a motion.
	I will assign the floor statement to Mr. Atkinson.
	Now, we will start Assembly Bill 30.
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