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CHAIR SCHNEIDER: 
We will open the hearing on Senate Bill (S.B.) 117. 
 
SENATE BILL 117: Revises provisions governing the licensure of certain 

physicians. (BDR 54-194) 
 
SENATOR VALERIE WIENER (Clark County Senatorial District No. 3): 
The Attorney General had a one-day health summit regarding the health-care 
services workforce in Nevada. I was at the summit. One concern of the 
participants at the summit was the glitches in how we license some of our 
physicians. Because of a snag in our licensing requirements, there are a few 
weeks delay to meet residency standards. It is easier to go to Pennsylvania and 
sit for licensing if they do not meet the residency requirement in Nevada. My 
concern is that someone who goes to Pennsylvania to sit for licensing might 
stay in Pennsylvania.  
 
I spoke with the Attorney General and, as the Chair of the interim Legislative 
Committee on Health Care, asked for a presentation on this issue and said that 
I would entertain, with the permission of the Committee, a bill draft request to 
address this concern. We had a presentation portraying the concerns and the 
remedies which resulted in S.B. 117. There is also a proposed amendment to 
this bill which I support (Exhibit C). 
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KEITH LEE (Board of Medical Examiners): 
The Board of Medical Examiners (BME) would like to offer a proposed 
amendment to S.B. 117, Exhibit C. This amendment was created in conjunction 
with the American Academy of Family Physicians. 
 
AMBER JOINER (Nevada State Medical Association): 
This measure is straightforward. Page 3, lines 11 through 14 of the bill state 
“… a resident who is enrolled in a postgraduate training program in this State, 
has completed at least 24 months of the program and has committed, in 
writing, that he or she will complete the program …”. This would then enable 
the resident to apply for a license.  
 
We heard testimony during the interim that residents can be delayed for up to 
six months from becoming physicians. During that time the residents may 
receive offers from other states. This creates an unnecessary barrier. 
 
Section 2, subsection 2 would require the applicant to prove satisfactory 
completion of a postgraduate education before the license would be effective 
and before being able to practice medicine independently. 
 
The Nevada State Medical Association (NSMA) supports S.B. 117. The NSMA 
only received the amendment today and has not been able to present it to its 
members. However, it appears the NSMA could support the concepts of the 
amendment. 
 
MR. LEE: 
The Board of Medical Examiners has proposed an amendment to S.B. 117, 
section 1, subsection 2, paragraph (d), subparagraph (3), Exhibit C. The term 
“progressive” has been added prior to “postgraduate training” in line 1. This 
reflects Nevada Revised Statute (NRS) 630.160, subsection 2, paragraph (d), 
subparagraph (1), which refers to the 36 months of postgraduate training as 
progressive postgraduate training.  
 
The language being added expands the scope of the intention of S.B. 117 to 
include attendees of any United States or Canadian accredited medical school. 
The way the bill was written, it could be said that it applies only to attendees of 
the University of Nevada School of Medicine. We want to expand this to include 
potential doctors who may consider coming to Nevada. 
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The American Academy of Family Physicians and the BME have spoken about 
how this change in the law can be used to begin recruiting physicians for 
Nevada from around the country and from Canada. This will lower the barrier of 
the time frame for admission to practice medicine in Nevada. 
 
In section 2, subsection 2 of the bill we are proposing to change the 
requirement of 120 days to 60 days. The 60 days would be enough time for 
applicants to submit their information to the BME. The fully accredited licenses 
could be issued that much faster.  
 
With the 36 months of progressive postgraduate training that we require, it is 
an additional assurance that we have the highest quality physicians coming to 
Nevada. This bill and the amendment, without endangering the required training, 
allow us to recruit physicians earlier and possibly keep them here. 
 
CHAIR SCHNEIDER: 
Would any regulations need to be revised or added as a result of the passage of 
this bill? 
 
MR. LEE: 
No, they would not. 
 
SENATOR BREEDEN: 
After the applicant has turned in the documents, how long does it take to issue 
the license? 
 
LYNETTE DANIELS (Chief of Licensing, Board of Medical Examiners): 
By the time the 24th month of training has been completed, the applicant 
should have applied for a license. As soon as we have all of the information 
verified, the license will be issued. Applicants will be able to apply to sit for 
board certifications, to start the hospital credentialing process and the process 
of credentialing for their insurance providers. It would be quick. 
 
SENATOR BREEDEN: 
What do you mean by “quick”? 
 
MS. DANIELS: 
We are licensing individuals between 30 to 60 days.  
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SENATOR SETTELMEYER: 
How does Canadian medical training compare to the requirements for American 
medical training? 
 
MS. DANIELS: 
It is similar to the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education 
requirements. 
 
DAVID A. JOHNSON, M.D. (Chair, Advocacy Committee, Nevada Academy of 

Family Physicians) 
Some of the difficulties physicians face upon coming out of residency and 
practicing are not only the need to have the license but being able to sit for 
board certification as well. This exam is offered twice a year, in July and 
December. The board certification is important to help physicians get 
credentialed to start working. To apply for the exam, they must have an 
unrestricted license to practice medicine in any state, which is not now possible 
in Nevada. Many of us have gotten licenses from other states to sit for board 
certification.  
 
If applicants cannot apply to take the exam by May, then they will not be able 
to take it until December. There is a lag time where they cannot use their board 
certification to help them credential so they can start working and the 
employers can start getting reimbursed on their behalf.  
 
The license is also important for the credentialing process. The credentialing 
process can take anywhere from three to six months. My employer was still 
trying to credential me with some insurance providers more than six months 
after I started working. Some residents with whom I worked got their licenses in 
other states. Many of our residents coming out of training have left the State 
because they must wait three to six months before they can start working in 
Nevada.  
 
This bill corrects a long-standing problem which we have seen for many years in 
the residency program. The Nevada Academy of Family Physicians (NAFP) fully 
supports the amendments which have been proposed. It will allow us to keep 
our physicians and allow us to start recruiting physicians who have left the 
State. 
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Nevada ranks 47th for primary care physicians per capita, and ranks 50th for 
pediatric subspecialists per capita. Of concern to me, in my community of the 
Carson Valley, since I started three years ago, we have lost four family 
physicians, three pediatricians, one neurologist, one psychologist and an 
emergency room physician. They have all closed their practices and left the 
community.  
 
CHAIR SCHNEIDER: 
Why are these physicians leaving? 
 
DR. JOHNSON: 
Everyone has different reasons, depending on their specialty. The specialists 
have left because the primary care physicians have left. Pediatricians who were 
in our community were supporting two practices, one at Lake Tahoe and one in 
the Carson Valley. They could no longer continue to care for patients in both 
areas. They closed their Carson Valley practices and are now practicing only at 
Lake Tahoe. They left 4,000 pediatric patients for us. We are absorbing them, 
but we are feeling the strain. 
 
I have submitted a letter from Thomas J. Hunt, M.D., President of the NAFP and 
myself supporting S.B. 117 (Exhibit D). 
 
DEREK BEENFELDT (Nevada Academy of Family Practice Physicians): 
Family medicine residency is three years. One of the documents presented to 
you indicates that Nevada is one of the few states requiring three years of 
postgraduate training prior to licensure (Exhibit E). The three-year residency 
program for a family physician places a burden upon those residents as they are 
beginning to graduate.  
 
I have been working with the residents and, as April, May and June approach, 
they are trying to make decisions as to what they are going to do and where 
they are going to go. Without fail, they discuss the difficulty of the issuance of 
a license in Nevada and the fact that they may have to apply for a license out of 
state in order to sit for their board exam. 
 
It makes sense that the goal of Nevada is to recruit and retain physicians who 
have been trained. When the residents are graduating and are weighing the pros 
and cons of whether to stay in Nevada or go to another state, this has weight in 
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the decision-making process. By rectifying this situation, we have a better 
ability to retain those physicians who are being trained here.  
 
JOHN PAPPAGEORGE (Health Services Coalition): 
We support S.B. 117. 
 
BILL M. WELCH (President/CEO, Nevada Hospital Association): 
We also support this bill. 
 
CHAIR SCHNEIDER: 
We will close the hearing on S.B. 117 and open the hearing on S.B. 132. 
 
SENATE BILL 132: Revises provisions governing licensure of osteopathic 

physicians. (BDR 54-195) 
 
SENATOR WIENER: 
Senate Bill 132 brings parity to licensing opportunities for the State Board of 
Osteopathic Medicine. The language in this bill for licensing by endorsement is 
the same language in statute for D.O.s and M.D.s. The BME is able to do this 
now without an expiration date of the statute. The same provision was in 
statute for the osteopathic physicians, but the statute had an expiration date. 
They requested the removal of the expiration date which would allow them to 
do the same kind of licensing they had been allowed to do anyway. This bill 
removes the expiration date so there is parity between the boards to do this 
licensure by endorsement. 
 
DIANNA HEGEDUIS, ESQ. (Executive Director and Board Counsel, State Board of 

Osteopathic Medicine): 
If the expiration date is removed as proposed in S.B. 132, it will allow us to 
license physicians faster and easier. I have provided correspondence for your 
information (Exhibit F). 
 
It takes approximately two to three months to license individuals for a full 
license to practice osteopathic medicine. With endorsements, if they meet 
certain criteria such as board certification, have been practicing for five years or 
more and have no disciplinary action on their record, we can license them in 
between board meetings. This allows the osteopathic profession to gain more 
physicians expeditiously. Removing the expiration date allows us to remain 
business friendly and encourage physicians to come to Nevada. The Board has 
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monthly meetings so we can ensure physicians are licensed as quickly as 
possible; but with endorsements, they may be licensed in between the board 
meetings.  
 
CHAIR SCHNEIDER: 
Do you have to revise any of your regulations? 
 
MS. HEGEDUIS: 
No, we do not. 
 
CHAIR SCHNEIDER: 
We will close the hearing on S.B. 132. 

 
SENATOR COPENING MOVED TO DO PASS S.B. 132. 

 
SENATOR BREEDEN SECONDED THE MOTION. 

 
THE MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY. 

 
***** 

 
CHAIR SCHNEIDER: 
We will open the hearing on S.B. 61. 
 
SENATE BILL 61: Makes various changes relating to social work. (BDR 54-506) 
 
KIM FRAKES, L.C.S.W. (Executive Director, Board of Examiners for Social 

Workers): 
I have submitted written testimony (Exhibit G) and a packet of information 
regarding S.B. 61 (Exhibit H and Exhibit I). 
 
Senate Bill 61 proposes an additional level of licensure, the licensed master’s 
social worker (LMSW). We offer three levels of licensure now, the licensed 
social worker (LSW) who is either the bachelor’s or master’s level of social 
work; the licensed clinical social worker (LCSW), who is an individual who has 
completed a master’s examination, has completed 3,000 hours of postgraduate 
work in the clinical field and has successfully passed a clinical examination; and 
the licensed independent social worker (LISW), who is an additional master’s 
level for those who want to go into more advance generalist practice. The 
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LMSW will have completed a graduate level program in social work and 
successfully passed an examination which measures minimal competency. The 
public will be better informed regarding the education level of the social worker 
who is working with them. 
 
The LMSW will provide a setting for a master’s level social worker in which to 
do some limited clinical social work. This will be worked out through 
regulations. Hopefully, this will address some of the social worker shortages we 
have in the mental health profession.  
 
I have included in my presentation a table of other states which offer a 
postgraduate level of licensure without the internship experience, Exhibit H. If 
individuals from other states come here for endorsements, even though they 
may come to this State with an LMSW, they would be included in the LSW level 
of licensure. The third handout shows the levels of practice, the degree 
required, the areas and scopes of practice and the LMSW as proposed in 
S.B. 61. 
 
RANDY REINOSO, L.S.W. (President, Board of Examiners for Social Workers): 
There is a distinction between a person who has a bachelor’s level of education 
in social work and a person who has a master’s level in social work. There is an 
incongruity between education and the level of licensure offered in this State. 
 
There are 27 other states offering the LMSW or LGSW. They are called 
something different, but in concept they are the same. It is an identification of 
someone who has a master’s level of education. 
 
The proposal is, a person would take a separate, nationwide, standard exam 
given by the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB). During the two years 
in which a person is working on a master’s degree, the education is more 
specific. It can range from clinical work to work in social service policy and 
administration. 
 
Many employers in a health-care setting are looking for someone who has a 
master’s level of education, but currently in Nevada we only offer the LSW for 
those individuals, unless they want to go on and become an LCSW. This bill 
would offer a better way to distinguish between the nuances among the levels 
of education. It would be better for the public and employers by knowing who is 
capable and competent to provide the needed services. 
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SENATOR BREEDEN: 
Once someone graduates with a master’s degree, is there a time frame in which 
the examination for the LSW needs to be taken and what is the cost? 
 
MS. FRAKES: 
There is no time limit in which you must apply for licensure.  
 
SENATOR BREEDEN: 
What is the fee for the examination? Can it be taken locally? 
 
MS. FRAKES: 
The examination is offered by the ASWB. The cost is approximately $100, and 
it can be taken locally throughout the nation. 
 
SENATOR SCHNEIDER: 
Do you have to change regulations to do this? 
 
MS. FRAKES: 
Yes, we would address a lot of things in regulation. 
 
SENATOR SCHNEIDER: 
Have you spoken with anyone at the Office of the Governor about the 
regulations? 
 
MS. FRAKES: 
We would hold public workshops for the regulations. 
 
MR. REINOSO: 
No, we have not spoken with anyone at the Governor’s Office. 
 
SENATOR SCHNEIDER: 
The Governor has proposed a freeze on all regulations this year. You should 
speak with someone at the Governor’s Office to determine if this would come 
under the freeze. 
 
SENATOR PARKS: 
I have reviewed this bill. I have received half a dozen e-mails from individuals in 
the licensed social work business opposing the passage of this bill. Part of their 
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opposition deals with the internship. What are the changes in this bill to the 
internship requirement? 
 
MS. FRAKES: 
Individuals who are in either clinical or independent social work internships are 
LSWs who have taken the masters exam and have an MSW and a registration 
number. This bill would require them to transition to the LMSW. This is 
something we would be addressing in regulation. 
 
SENATOR PARKS: 
I am getting the sense, from the e-mails I have received, that this would open 
the door to poor practice. You have had rather stringent regulations and now 
you are becoming more lenient. Is there a reason why this bill is coming forward 
now? 
 
MS. FRAKES: 
This bill was proposed in the last legislative Session but was not enacted.  
 
MR. REINOSO: 
There is a misunderstanding of the bill. If anything, in terms of the internship, it 
would be a much easier and quicker way of identifying someone as being 
qualified to be in an internship. Now, an LSW could mean any number of things. 
It is too broad. The LMSW would add a level of specificity which would be more 
meaningful to the public. There should be no issue about the internship. 
 
The concern might be that the LMSW would be on a par with the LCSW and be 
able to do the same things as the LCSW. That is not what we are suggesting in 
this bill. The LCSW is definitely a higher level of social work licensure. The 
LMSW would be doing clinical work under the supervision of an LCSW. This 
would enable the LCSW to focus on the more complex, clinical work. The 
LMSW would be doing more basic work. 
 
CHAIR SCHNEIDER: 
Would you please explain section 8, subsection 2, paragraph (e) of the bill? 
 
MS. FRAKES: 
Sometimes when someone is applying for a license, and we get the background 
check, that person may be in the process of a continued appeal and may not yet 
have been convicted.  
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CHAIR SCHNEIDER: 
If they have been found guilty, can they continue to practice if they are on 
appeal? 
 
MS. FRAKES: 
No, we can refuse a license.  
 
MATT NICHOLS (Counsel): 

The way I read section 8, the existing language says “The Board 
may refuse to issue a license …”. The Board is authorized to refuse 
to issue the license. How that interplays with section 7, the 
existing language that says “The Board shall grant a license …” 
I couldn’t say for sure. So, there might be a bit of a grey area there 
in terms of whether the Board has the authority to refuse to issue a 
license if the person has been convicted but that conviction is on 
appeal. 

 
SENATOR ROBERSON: 
Section 8, subsection 2 says “The Board may refuse …”, it does not have to 
refuse someone who has been convicted. That is problematic from my 
perspective. 
 
Section 8, subsection 2, paragraph (a) says “… good moral character … .” What 
is your definition of “good moral character?” 
 
MS. FRAKES: 
Moral character is a subjective term. The specific phrase “good moral character” 
is standard language for all regulatory licensing boards. It is not specific to our 
board. The Commission on Ethics’ definition of “good moral character” is what 
any ordinary person would consider as being either good or poor moral 
character.  
 
SENATOR ROBERSON: 
I understand this is not part of the amendment, but I am concerned about the 
subjectivity. 
 
MARK NICHOLS (Executive Director, National Association of Social Workers): 
I have submitted written testimony in support of S.B. 61 (Exhibit J). 
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SUSAN RHODES (Public Policy Advocacy Chair, National Association of Social 

Workers): 
On behalf of our board of directors, I concur. 
 
JIM BERTONE (Board Member, Board of Examiners for Social Workers): 
Adding the LMSW to the continuum of licensing would increase the pool of 
social workers available to the State. We have a lot of rural areas that are not 
addressed, and people in rural areas also have mental health issues. Licensed 
clinical social workers could supervise LMSWs in rural areas, giving us a better 
representation of social work in mental health services at rural clinics. This was 
one of the intentions of S.B. 61.  
 
CONSTANCE J. BROOKS (Clark County): 
Clark County supports S.B. 61 because it would increase the availability of 
social workers, particularly in the mental health area. We utilize social workers 
in various sectors of county government including Family Services, Social 
Services, the University of Nevada Medical Center, Juvenile Justice Services 
and the County Manager’s and County Commissioner’s offices. 
 
CHAIR SCHNEIDER: 
Please meet with Senator Roberson to review the wording in section 8. 
 
We will close the hearing on S.B. 61 and open the hearing on S.B. 80. 
 
SENATE BILL 80: Makes various changes to the provisions governing 

manufactured housing. (BDR 43-480) 
 
JIM DEPROSSE (Administrator, Manufactured Housing Division, Department of 

Business and Industry): 
There are three components to S.B. 80: a new category of licensure, 
clarification of factory-built housing and manufactured buildings, and 
clarification of written agreements for licensed work. 
 
There are now several licensure categories: dealers, manufacturers, and a group 
of licensees that pertain to the installation and repair of manufactured housing. 
In the category of installation and repair, we have a general service person and 
various trade categories such as plumbing, electrical, etc. 
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The category of general service person was designed to mirror what a general 
contractor would be, but in the world of manufactured housing. There is 
one component in the general service person licensure category specific to the 
installation of manufactured homes and commercial coaches. That requirement 
essentially disqualifies some individuals who have applied for licensure.  
 
A general contractor who is licensed with the State Contractors’ Board who 
comes to us to get a general service person’s license would be unable to, unless 
he has two years of installation experience of manufactured homes. The new 
category, limited serviceperson, would allow a general contractor to be licensed 
and oversee projects, work on electrical systems, plumbing, etc., but would not 
be able to install or uninstall homes for transport. 
 
The new category of license, licensed serviceperson, would satisfy those 
individuals who have come to us in the past who do not have the installation 
experience or do not wish to install homes, but just want to repair them. 
 
SENATOR SETTELMEYER: 
Why would someone need another specific license to install electrical 
components other than a general electrical license? Is there something special 
about a manufactured home that requires a different skill level? 
 
MR. DEPROSSE: 
There is a difference. Manufactured homes are built to federal building 
standards, which is the National Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety 
Standards Act of 1974, or the “HUD Code.” It is different from the International 
Building Code for stick-built homes. 
 
Nevada Revised Statute 624.284, the State Contractors’ Board statute, limits 
the scope of anyone licensed with the State Contractors’ Board. That statute 
states: “A contractor’s license issued pursuant to this chapter does not 
authorize a contractor to construct or repair a mobile home, manufactured 
home, manufactured building or commercial coach or factory-built housing.” 
 
In addition, NRS 624.031 states: “The provisions of this chapter do not apply 
to: “… The construction, alteration, improvement or repair of personal property 
… .” A manufactured home is personal property; it can be moved. A stick-built 
home is real property; it is affixed to the land.  
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The drafting of this bill was due to these exemptions within the State 
Contractors’ Board. We have created a licensing division and also act as the 
State building official for manufactured housing, commercial coaches, etc. 
 
The next component of the bill relates to factory-built housing and 
manufactured buildings. We have a lot of definitions regarding homes and/or 
structures built in factories, then taken to a site. In S.B. No. 89 of the 75th 
Session, definitions for factory-built housing and manufactured buildings were 
inserted throughout NRS 489. There are some locations in the statute where 
those two definitions should not have been inserted. For example, when a 
manufactured home is delivered to a site and installed, it is personal property. 
The intent of manufactured buildings and factory-built housing is once they 
arrive at the site, they are actually real property. They are assembled in their full 
finished state and become real property. 
 
The insertions of the definitions in S.B. No. 89 of the 75th Session require some 
of these manufactured buildings and factory-built housing to be titled. We only 
title personal property; we do not title real property. There is a disconnect just 
by definition. 
 
Through S.B. 80, we are trying to withdraw from NRS 489 the inappropriate 
insertions of manufactured buildings and factory-built housing. 
 
CHAIR SCHNEIDER: 
What happens to the mobile home to make it real property? 
 
MR. DEPROSSE: 
There is a process whereby a manufactured home, sitting on land owned by the 
same person, can be converted to real property. It can become affixed to the 
land. 
 
CHAIR SCHNEIDER: 
It would have to be set on some sort of foundation with the wheels and tow 
package removed. 
 
MR. DEPROSSE: 
That is correct. It typically happens on private land. 
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SENATOR COPENING: 
If the definitions are taken out of NRS 489, are they mentioned in some other 
statute that refers to real property? Does that mean that a report of sale would 
not be required on these two items? I am concerned we are going to drop 
something here. 
 
MR. DEPROSSE: 
Factory-built housing is addressed in NRS 461. It also appears in some places in 
NRS 489. The intent of factory-built housing is different than a manufactured 
home. When a factory-built house arrives at the site, it is real property once it is 
fastened there. Inserting it into NRS sections which require it to be titled with 
us because it is personal property is a conflict. It never becomes personal 
property.  
 
SENATOR COPENING: 
This then might be a task for our legal team, to make sure that if it is stricken 
here it is addressed elsewhere, specifically for the various aspects mentioned 
here. 
 
MR. DEPROSSE: 
The third component of this bill pertains to written agreements. In NRS 489, 
when a new manufactured home is sold to a homeowner, it is required that 
there is an agreement in writing for the installation and setup of the home. 
There is no requirement for the installation and setup of a used home, nor is 
there a requirement for any kind of a written agreement for any repair work 
done.  
 
Part of the Manufactured Housing Division, Department of Business and 
Industry’s role is to oversee the complaints from consumers against our 
licensees. Most of the complaints relate to the fact that the consumer was 
unaware of what they were paying for. Both parties would be protected if there 
was a simple process which would require a written agreement to be signed by 
both the consumer and the licensee. 
 
There are no regulatory requirements with this bill. 
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PETER KRUEGER (Subcontractors’ Legislative Coalition): 
Our concern is in section 1 and the new license for the limited serviceperson. 
The State Contractors’ Board already licenses plumbers, electricians, etc. Some 
of our contractors would have to maintain two licenses.  
 
In addition to being licensed as a plumber, etc., the current law and this 
proposed legislation requires licensees to attend an eight-hour class conducted 
by the Manufactured Housing Division. Of those 8 hours, only 15 minutes 
addresses the specialty trade; the rest addresses skirting and tying down a 
mobile home and all the other mobile-home-specific requirements. This license 
costs, depending on the size of the business, anywhere from $500 to $1,500 a 
year. Our goal is to work with the current administrator of the Manufactured 
Housing Division to try to iron out the differences between NRS 624 and this 
bill.  
 
MR. DEPROSSE: 
The fee for a new, two-year license is $450 and $350 for a renewal. This bill 
will increase the pool with more people who want to do repairs but not 
installation.  
 
SENATOR SETTELMEYER: 
Perhaps an individual licensed in another area, such as traditional homebuilding, 
could get a reduced fee for this license. 
 
CHAIR SCHNEIDER: 
Is it a violation for an in-park maintenance man to do minor repairs, at no cost 
to the homeowner, on homes in a mobile home park? 
 
MR. DEPROSSE: 
Technically, in NRS 489, it is a violation.  
 
CHAIR SCHNEIDER: 
I will close the hearing on S.B. 80. 
 
We have a bill draft request (BDR) for introduction, BDR 54-219. 
 
BILL DRAFT REQUEST 54-219: Enacts provisions relating to energy efficiency, 

renewable energy and building construction. (Later introduced as 
Senate Bill 181.) 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/76th2011/Bills/SB/SB181.pdf�
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SENATOR PARKS MOVED TO INTRODUCE BDR 54-219. 
 

SENATOR BREEDEN SECONDED THE MOTION. 
 

THE MOTION CARRIED UNANIMOUSLY. 
 

***** 
 

CHAIR SCHNEIDER: 
I would like to have a vote on S.B. 58. 
 
SENATE BILL 58: Makes various changes relating to an employer who 

knowingly misrepresents or conceals a material fact relating to a person's 
eligibility for industrial insurance benefits. (BDR 53-287) 

 
SENATOR BREEDEN MOVED TO DO PASS S.B. 58. 

 
SENATOR PARKS SECONDED THE MOTION. 

 
THE MOTION CARRIED. (SENATOR HALSETH ABSTAINED FROM THE 
VOTE.) 

 
***** 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/76th2011/Bills/SB/SB58.pdf�
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CHAIR SCHNEIDER: 
Having no further business, the meeting of the Senate Committee on 
Commerce, Labor and Energy is adjourned at 1:38 p.m. 
 
 

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED: 
 
 
 

  
Suzanne Efford, 
Committee Secretary 

 
 
APPROVED BY: 
 
 
 
  
Senator Michael A. Schneider, Chair 
 
 
DATE:  
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S.B. 117 C Keith L. Lee Amendment 
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M.D. 
Letter from Nevada Academy of 
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S.B. 117 E Derek Beenfeldt State Specific Postgraduate Education 
Requirements 

S.B. 132 F Dianna Hegeduis Letter from State Board of 
Osteopathic Medicine 

S.B. 61 G Kim Frakes, L.C.S.W. 
 

Letter from Board of Examiners for 
Social Workers 
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