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Chair Atkinson: 
I will open the hearing on Assembly Bill (A.B.) 106. 
 
ASSEMBLY BILL 106 (1st Reprint): Provides for the award of certain costs, fees 

and expenses to prevailing parties in actions before the Occupational 
Safety and Health Review Board under certain circumstances. (BDR 53-
156) 

 
Assemblyman Ira Hansen (Assembly District No. 32): 
Assembly Bill 106 allows prevailing parties in actions before the Occupational 
Safety and Health Review Board, Division of Industrial Relations (DIR), 
Department of Business and Industry, to be awarded certain costs, fees and 
expenses. This mirrors federal law that applies to 23 states under the federal 
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA), U.S. Department of 
Labor. The Nevada Occupational Safety Health Act is a State law that 

https://nelis.leg.state.nv.us/77th2013/App#/77th2013/Bill/Text/AB106
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implements the federal Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970. 
Twenty-seven states, including Nevada, have opted to implement their own 
state OSHA plans. The remaining 23 states are governed by the federal OSHA 
plan. The DIR administers the Nevada OSHA (NV OSHA) law. The DIR is tasked 
with providing safe and healthy working conditions for every employee by 
establishing and enforcing regulation, educating and training employees and 
establishing reporting procedures for job-related accidents and illnesses. Under 
State law, there is an enforcement provision for suspected violations. If DIR 
issues a citation, an employer has 15 working days to notify DIR that it will 
contest the citation. This appeal is sent to the Board, which consists of five 
members appointed by the Governor. The Board holds a formal fact-finding 
hearing and renders a decision based on the evidence presented. If an employer 
is unhappy with the Board’s decision, it can appeal to district court. Nevada law 
currently does not allow awarding attorney’s fees and expenses to the 
prevailing party. However, if the State is governed by the federal OSHA plan, 
the Equal Access to Justice Act applies. This act provides that a party prevailing 
against the United States in litigation may be awarded fees and expenses unless 
the agency’s position was substantially justified. Fees and expenses can also be 
awarded if the agency proposed a penalty that was reduced and subsequently 
determined to be unreasonable. These awards are statutorily limited to certain 
small entity parties with a designated net worth and number of employees. This 
federal law was originally enacted in 1980.  
 
Sections 2 through 5 include definitions of terms used in the bill. For example, 
“expenses” includes the cost of studies, analyses, reports, tests or projects 
necessary to prepare a party’s case. “Fee” includes reasonable fees for 
attorneys, persons representing a party before the Board and extra witnesses. 
Section 5 defines parties eligible to be awarded expenses and fees. “Party” is 
a natural person with a net worth of $2 million or less. “Party” can also be 
a business with a net worth of $7 million or less and 500 or fewer employees. 
These are the same thresholds as federal law. The DIR employees are not 
considered parties for purposes of this bill. 
 
Section 6 awards costs to prevailing parties for actions against DIR or the court.  
 
Section 7 awards fees and expenses to prevailing parties unless the Board or 
court determines the position of DIR was substantially justified or the existence 
of special circumstances make the award unjust. The prevailing party would 
need to submit an application to the Board or court for fees and expenses within 



Senate Committee on Commerce, Labor and Energy 
May 31, 2013 
Page 4 
 
30 days of the decision. Any fees awarded must be based upon the prevailing 
market rate for the type and quality of the service provided. The Board or court 
may reduce or deny the amount awarded if it is determined the prevailing party 
engaged in conduct that unduly or unreasonably protracted the final resolution 
or matter. 
 
Section 8 of the bill provides that the employer would be considered the 
prevailing party if the demand by DIR is substantially in excess of the judgment 
obtained by DIR and is unreasonable when compared to the judgment. This is 
only applicable as long as the employer has not committed a willful violation of 
law or acted in bad faith, or if there were not special circumstances that make 
the award unjust. 
 
Section 9 of the bill allows DIR to appeal the award of costs, fees or expenses. 
If the award is affirmed, DIR must pay interest.  
 
Section 10 requires the award of costs, fees and expenses be paid by the funds 
appropriated by the Legislature to DIR. 
 
The genesis of A.B. 106 is a union cabinet shop in Sparks called 
Victory Woodworks. Victory Woodworks was working in Clark County and was 
accused of safety violations by NV OSHA. Once everything was settled, 
Victory Woodworks was exonerated and the Board dismissed their case with 
prejudice. Victory Woodworks incurred about $8,000 in fees and expenses. 
There is no mechanism to allow them to recoup those expenses. There are such 
mechanisms under federal OSHA laws. The language in A.B. 106 comes, almost 
verbatim, from the federal OSHA standards and the Equal Access to Justice 
Act.  
 
I worked with the Office of the Attorney General on how to fund the awards. 
Instead of money coming from the State General Fund, there is a torts claim 
fund called the Fund for Insurance Premiums used by the State to settle minor 
tort claims. There is currently about $2 million in that fund. The awards would 
come from the Fund for Insurance Premiums instead of the State General Fund. 
 
I have submitted Proposed Amendment 9412 (Exhibit C) on behalf of DIR. It is 
not fair to allow the government to sue or take advantage of a private individual 
without allowing the individual a way to recoup losses if he or she is wrongly 
accused.  

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/77th2013/Exhibits/Senate/CL/SCL1321C.pdf
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Senator Hutchison: 
Do sections 5 through 7 mirror federal law? There is means testing in federal 
law. Does federal law contain “substantially justified” language? 
 
Assemblyman Hansen: 
This is taken almost verbatim from federal law because there are significant 
amounts of case law. This is not breaking new ground. It is taken almost 
verbatim from the federal Equal Access to Justice Act. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
Are you concerned about how many employers, companies or individuals would 
be determined to qualify for payment of attorney’s fees from the State given the 
language? It is limiting about who can receive awards because of means testing 
and net worth requirements. Typically, if you prevail, you prevail—it does not 
matter what your net worth is or if it was substantially justified or not. Under 
A.B. 106, there is a means test, and the court does not have to award to 
a prevailing party if the court believes DIR was substantially justified or there 
were other special circumstances that would make the award unjust. It seems 
as if that would swallow the rule. 
 
Assemblyman Hansen: 
This is not supposed to be a lawyer-employment act. We did not want to make 
it so severe we would hamper the NV OSHA in its job to ensure worker 
protection. They have a job to do, and this opportunity would apply only when 
NV OSHA abuses the system. I would not mind seeing it go further in protecting 
the contractors who are typically accused, but we want to make sure OSHA is 
allowed to do their job to protect worker safety. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
Do you think this strikes the right balance? 
 
Assemblyman Hansen: 
Yes. 
 
Donald E. Jayne (Administrator, Division of Industrial Relations, Department of 

Business and Industry): 
The DIR is neutral on the public policy of A.B. 106. As Assemblyman Hansen 
testified, the language mirrors the federal OSHA plan. Similar language does 
exist in a handful of state plans but not in every state plan. It does not directly 
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affect workplace safety, so it is not a federal requirement for state plans to 
have this provision. That is why DIR views it as public policy. If the State 
decides to implement this public policy, DIR included a fiscal note on the bill. It 
is a new provision, and staff would have to be devoted to working on it. 
Additional attorney’s fees would be incurred for the staff counsel that supports 
the Board. Ultimately, the penalty portion would be paid out of the Fund for 
Insurance Premiums. Penalties would not impact the State General Fund, but 
they would impact DIR through the assessment-based enterprise fund at DIR.  
 
Danny Thompson (Nevada State AFL-CIO): 
When A.B. 106 was heard in Assembly Committee on Ways and Means, we 
noticed the fiscal note was zeroed out. Having served on the Advisory Council 
to DIR for about 14 years, I am familiar with the processes. In the past, DIR has 
had problems. The federal OSHA audited NV OSHA after incidents on The Strip 
where 16 people died. The NV OSHA was criticized for not having enough 
experienced NV OSHA inspectors. The NV OSHA inspectors serve an 
apprenticeship, and when they become certified, they quit and join the private 
sector. Certified NV OSHA inspectors can more than double their salaries in the 
private sector.  
 
I am concerned about funding this through an enterprise fund. When the 
enterprise fund runs out, NV OSHA will have to raise the assessment fees. Will 
this affect the assessment to every employer in the State? I think it will. The 
State requires NV OSHA inspectors to take furlough time when they are the 
ones who generate revenue. The DIR has limitations to control what happens.  
 
Senator Hutchison: 
Based on your experience with DIR, are you aware of cases where courts have 
ruled cases as frivolous or told DIR they did not have substantial justification for 
bringing a case? 
 
Mr. Thompson: 
I am not aware of any.  
 
Senator Hutchison: 
I am wondering if this has ever happened. If it has never happened, then there 
may not be a problem. I do not think a judge will award attorney’s fees based 
on the wording of this bill. 
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Mr. Jayne: 
This is new to Nevada, so we do not have a model. The way the bill is 
structured, when a citation is contested it would go to the Board not in front of 
a court. When the Board makes a determination or decision on whether to 
overturn or modify the citation if DIR does not have substantial justification for 
the citation, then attorney’s fees could be awarded. The body that would pass 
judgment would be the Board or the court if anyone appealed beyond the Board. 
If someone chose to appeal the decision, took it to district court and lost again, 
then there could be additional penalties and interest. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
Even though this is new, the idea of going through this process is not new. Are 
you aware of a board or a court ever telling OSHA they have brought a frivolous 
action against a contractor or they do not have substantial justification for 
bringing a case against a contractor?  
 
Mr. Jayne: 
No, I do not know of any cases like that. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
Have you ever seen that happen in your experience? 
 
Mr. Jayne: 
No, I have not seen that in my experience. All of my experience is in Nevada. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
If that is the case, there probably is not a concern about a court or board 
awarding these kinds of fees. Is that a safe assumption based on your prior 
experience? 
 
Mr. Jayne: 
That is an element about which we can merely draw assumptions and build 
speculation. We built some assumptions in our fiscal note, and I could try to go 
through them. We estimated we would win 80 percent of the cases. Of the 
20 percent of cases that were left, we had to assume how many would be 
appealed. We attempted to bring that down to a smaller number. We do not 
have any experience in this area, so it was based on a series of assumptions. 
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Senator Hardy: 
I am intrigued by your 80 percent-to-20 percent assumption. Does federal law 
include attorney’s fees provisions? 
 
Mr. Jayne: 
It is my understanding the language in A.B. 106 is modeled after federal 
legislation.  
 
Senator Hardy: 
If we look at this federally and start multiplying the 20 percent you assumed, 
we start delving into people who are not only the individual who approached 
Assemblyman Hansen. It sounds like it is not unusual for the government not to 
be defensible in their accusations. Is that fair a statement? 
 
Mr. Jayne: 
I believe that is a reasonable statement. I am sure these awards have been 
made because at least half the states have this provision. I am sure those cases 
have been brought and awards granted. Hopefully, it has been on a limited 
scale.  
 
Senator Hardy: 
If we have other states or the federal government that have figured out this 
provision of awarding attorney’s fees, there is probably some history that would 
help us determine how at risk an enterprise fund would be and how that fund 
could be accessed by people who were not accused rightfully. Therefore, we 
would have some kind of idea what that would be. Is that how you did your 
fiscal note? 
 
Mr. Jayne: 
As I have mentioned, regarding public policy, DIR is neutral on A.B. 106. As to 
how to construct a fiscal note based on a series of assumptions, we could not 
and did not have the time to gather information from every individual state. We 
were able to garner that it does happen. We built a series of assessments, and 
we eliminated a majority of the contested citations that would get to a review 
board by estimating that 80 percent wins is typical. Those sorts of statistics 
have not been kept for Nevada, historically. We began to build from there. Of 
the 20 percent left, what was the likelihood of some of those cases coming 
back for attorney’s fees? What was the likelihood of some of those getting past 
the threshold of “substantially justified?” As in any fiscal note, it is a series of 
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assumptions. If we had more time, we could poll every state and see if they 
would give up that level of information and then back into some percentage that 
would be a national average. We felt the assumptions on which we built it were 
reasonable. The Department of Administration felt they were reasonable. I have 
had people tell me we were high and we were low.  
 
Senator Hardy: 
How much was the bottom line before the fiscal note was removed because it 
went into the enterprise fund? 
 
Mr. Jayne: 
Our fiscal note has remained the same. We show where the revenue would 
come from if we had to administer the elements of A.B. 106. From a policy 
standpoint, we are neutral. If the bill were processed, we would need the 
resources to conduct that effort. 
 
Senator Hardy: 
I am looking for a number. I am looking at $2 million in an enterprise fund. What 
does the enterprise fund go to normally? Does it turn it over yearly? Are we 
going to drain the enterprise fund? 
 
Mr. Jayne: 
The enterprise fund is an assessment to all insurance companies in Nevada. It 
includes private insurance, self-insured individuals and self-insured groups. The 
bottom line of the fiscal note is zero. The fiscal note came in at zero because 
DIR would receive revenue via the assessments. The impact to the enterprise 
fund if this bill were processed is probably between 1 percent and 1.5 percent 
in each fiscal year. The total for the biennium is about $917,000. The zero on 
the fiscal note is because the revenue would come from enterprise fund. 
 
Senator Hardy: 
Will this increase the assessment on the insurance companies? 
 
Mr. Jayne: 
My estimate would be 1 percent to 1.5 percent increase in each fiscal year to 
cover this.  
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Paul McKenzie (Northern Nevada Building and Construction Trades Council 

Development Corporation; Advisory Council to the Division of Industrial 
Relations, Division of Industrial Relations, Department of Business and 
Industry): 

The Building and Construction Trades Council of Northern Nevada is neutral on 
A.B. 106. We have dealt with contractors that feel they have been overly 
assessed for violations on the job, and we have seen contractors that are under 
assessed.  
 
Sitting on the Advisory Council for DIR for the last 6 years, I have listened to 
the staffing issues NV OSHA has faced. The financial downturn in the State has 
caused that to become worse. The wage rates that the inspectors get do not 
lead to people wanting to stay there a long time. Most of the people who are 
staff that have been there for a long time were there before the downturn. They 
are going to be there for their whole careers. Private industry wants the staff 
DIR trains. They are the best people to go out and keep a site from having 
NV OSHA violations because they are trained in what to look for. We had 
a mine inspector recently who completed his training and was offered a job at 
$450,000 per year in the private sector. That does not tend to let us keep 
inspectors.  
 
There needs to be a way for a person to feel relief when wrongly accused of 
something. There is financial burden put on the accused to spend time and 
money to clear his or her name, and additional burden on the DIR and NV OSHA 
staff. The experienced NV OSHA inspectors will be preparing and presenting the 
cases, so we are taking them out of the workplace to substantiate that the 
cases are good. The adverse effect that can have on workforce safety is 
unknown, but it will have an effect because they will not be out there doing 
their jobs. The apprentices we are training cannot work without an experienced 
inspector. That is how mistakes in citations are made. Every public agency will 
protect its employees.  
 
When the contractors feel they have been wronged and NV OSHA thinks they 
are right, the two will not meet in the middle and negotiate a resolution. This is 
going to make the contractors feel they can pursue this as far as possible and, if 
they are vindicated in the end, they will be paid. On the other hand, the way 
I understand the explanation of the bill, DIR does not get attorney’s fees back if 
they are justified because DIR is not included in the definition of “party.”  
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I fear there could be a negative impact on safety because inspectors will not be 
inspecting. This is good for the contractors. I am concerned that this will 
overload NV OSHA and reduce worker safety because of limited staffing. 
 
I do not think there will be very many of these cases in the first year. Less than 
5 percent of the cases the Board hears are overturned as being frivolous. The 
majority are substantiated. Many times the cases are settled under reduced 
penalties. Under this legislation, the parties can pursue for attorney’s fees and 
expenses. Reducing the penalties saves time and money for both parties. Letting 
parties pursue for expenses will quell either side from wanting to negotiate.  
 
The fiscal note is very important because it will come from every contractor and 
business in the State, and insurance rates will increase. The estimate is 
20 percent of cases will be appealed. If the rate is higher, then insurance rates 
will increase even more to cover the cost because this is an enterprise fund. The 
funding mechanism to pay those fines is a separate fund from DIR’s operations 
fund. The Office of the Attorney General administers the fund for litigation from 
the Fund for Insurance Premiums. That fund is there to protect the State 
General Fund from litigation. That fund would replenish, but the needed staffing 
is the biggest cost.  
 
Senator Hardy: 
The State-trained NV OSHA inspector who goes to work in the private sector is 
probably doing more prevention than inspection, which is what I want. The 
NV OSHA inspectors are worth their weight to prevent problems. We could look 
at this like tuition. Maybe people should pay the State to receive this training. 
 
It sounded like you want mediation included in A.B. 106. The parties could see 
a mediator instead of going to court. Do you know how the estimate of 
20 percent of the cases being appealed relates to other states? How do you feel 
about mediation? 
 
Mr. McKenzie: 
Mediation is valuable to both parties in any conflict. I am not sure that 
mediation before going to the Board would keep the costs down. The Board is 
a type of mediation court panel, and the members review the case from an 
independent standpoint. There are members from business, labor and the public 
to review these citations and judge the merit of them. The preparations are 
intense. The contractor Assemblyman Hansen mentioned had to hire an 
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attorney, and members of his staff had to prepare and do this. If there was 
a chance to sit down before going to the Board to see if there is a reasonable 
solution, that might be something that could eliminate all of this. 
 
Senator Settelmeyer: 
I have worked in and around construction most of my life. I understand your 
concern about NV OSHA inspectors having to spend time substantiating 
citations. In the same respect, most of the NV OSHA inspectors are doing their 
jobs. They are looking out for safety and doing a great job. Every once in 
a while there is a rogue person who is on a vendetta and is manufacturing 
violations. Would it not be a good idea to have something to help curb those 
frivolous citations in order to redirect inspectors to focus on worker safety? 
 
Mr. McKenzie: 
I do not disagree with A.B. 106. There is a reason for this legislation. My 
concern is there may be ways to address the issue that are not quite as costly 
as this. I am concerned that we are increasing costs for everyone to operate in 
the State because of increased operations costs of NV OSHA to prepare for 
these cases. This is something to bring up in mediation prior to investing so 
much in it. I am concerned about the cost and effect on NV OSHA and that 
coming back to the employers. If the employers are not in business, people are 
not working.  
 
Senator Settelmeyer: 
I want NV OSHA to be busy because then we would have an extreme amount 
of construction. That would be great. I am concerned because sometimes when 
construction slows down, construction-based entities tend to be more 
detail-oriented.  
 
Jack Mallory (Southern Nevada Building and Construction Trades Council, 

Building and Construction Trades Department, AFL-CIO): 
Like my counterparts from other labor organizations, the Southern Nevada 
Building and Construction Trades Council is neutral on A.B. 106. I agree with 
what Assemblyman Hansen has argued for having some type of recourse 
against frivolous complaints. I would prefer to have a clearer definition of 
“substantially justified,” although that may be a legal term that is easily 
interpreted by the courts. I believe Senator Hardy’s suggestion for mediation 
would be a valid method for trying to resolve issues. The DIR indicated that 
there had been an increase over recent years in the number of appeals of 
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citations that have occurred, in part because of changes in the nature of 
construction. Many general contractors, owner-developers and awarding bodies 
have imposed additional requirements to disclose safety issues from previous 
years. There has been an increase in the number of appeals of citations that 
have been imposed because of the potential negative impact it would have on 
construction. 
 
Adam Plain (Insurance Regulation Liaison, Division of Insurance, Department of 
Business and Industry): 
The Division of Insurance, Department of Business and Industry is neutral on 
A.B. 106. We do not have a stake in this bill. I wanted to clarify a few issues 
regarding the discussion on the fiscal impact of the bill. The DIR does assess its 
costs to employers even though it is an enterprise fund. Some of those are 
self-insured, and some are fully insured in the commercial market. An insurer 
receives a premium tax credit under Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 680B.036 
to the extent it ensures a fully insured commercial market policy. Increasing 
premium tax credits will impact the State General Fund. Increased costs passed 
on to fully insured employers will have a long-term effect on the State General 
Fund. 
 
Chair Atkinson: 
Was that issue discussed in the Assembly Committee on Ways and Means? 
 
Mr. Plain: 
I was not there when this bill was heard. The Division of Insurance has not been 
monitoring this bill.  
 
Bruce Breslow (Director, Department of Business and Industry): 
The budget for DIR was approved with a 10 percent across-the-board increase 
for safety inspectors. Arizona pays their inspectors much more than Nevada, 
but they still have the same issue. We are not going to be able to compete with 
the private sector. Inspectors would prepare for the cases anyway whether 
there are attorney’s fees or not. There is additional new staff. Financially, it 
does come out neutral, but it is new staff that would be preparing for these 
hearings. Mediation is typically voluntary. Even with mediation, there is no 
guaranteed result. Mediation is often a waste of time. However, the parties do 
negotiate, often before they get to hearings. Fines are reduced and citations are 
changed during negotiations. This is a good idea. It is great for business to have 
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the opportunity to recoup losses. This creates more of a level playing field for 
businesses. 
 
Patrick Sanderson (Laborers International Union of North America Local 872): 
For over 40 years, I worked in the construction industry. The only thing 
protecting employees when there is an unsafe contractor is NV OSHA. I have 
called them, and they have saved my life and saved me from injury. We need 
NV OSHA. I am afraid this will cut back on safety because NV OSHA inspectors 
will be gun-shy about making citations. I am concerned about inexperienced 
NV OSHA inspectors who are still learning and do not use common sense. 
When you are a worker, you are only as safe as you make yourself. Sometimes 
contractors put you in an unsafe area. You can either walk off the job or do the 
best you can. When you call NV OSHA, they come and inspect the area. The do 
not always come the day you call, but they do show up. I do not want this to 
become similar to a construction defect law where liars get rich, nothing is done 
and people continue to be injured.  
 
Senator Hutchison: 
Why would awarding attorney’s fees and costs if DIR is found to have brought 
a case that was not substantially justified cause safety problems? If it is a real 
safety issue, it will be justified. Legitimate safety issues will be justified. 
 
Mr. Sanderson: 
My concern is when the experienced NV OSHA inspectors are taken off the job 
to testify. There are journeymen and apprentices. There is a shortage of 
experienced NV OSHA inspectors already. I do not want to take the chance of 
not having someone competent going to job sites to inspect worker safety. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
Why do think this bill will increase the number of hearings? They have to show 
up for the hearing when they make citations anyway. Are you saying this will 
increase the number of citations, so they will have to come in for even more 
hearings? 
 
Mr. Sanderson: 
Every company has someone running it, and they are ego-driven. If they think 
they have been wronged, they are going to fight it in court. Some NV OSHA 
inspectors have the same mindset. I do not want to take the chance that 
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changing this law will take inspectors off the job sites. I want NV OSHA 
inspectors at job sites protecting workers. 
 
Assemblyman Hansen: 
I have been in the construction industry for 34 years. There is nothing in the bill 
that would protect unsafe contractors. Assembly Bill 106 ensures that if 
someone is falsely accused, that person has reasonable recourse to have some 
compensation to be made whole again. Mediation is a great concept. The 
problem is there is nothing in the middle to meet. The Board does not have 
a fiscal way to make people whole if they have been falsely accused by the 
government. That is what this bill does. The Board is now a mediator that can 
settle these situations. The $900,000 is a new number. I have a letter stating 
the award is estimated at $80,000 each year of the biennium. This is not a new 
fund. We already have a fully funded revolving account for tort claims. That is 
where this would go. There is nothing new regarding the fiscal impact. There 
would be no cost at all to the State or the Fund for Insurance Premiums. This is 
a substantially high bar to meet before being able to apply for costs, fees or 
expenses. There is no evidence that other states have had any adverse impact 
on safety because they had a reasonable mechanism to make people whole who 
have been falsely accused by the government. It is nice to protect NV OSHA, 
but keep in mind we are discussing people who have been falsely accused by 
the government. It is only right they be made whole when they are dragged 
through these process and pay out of their own pockets. Contractors are not 
ego-driven and doing this simply for their egos. They are doing this to make 
a living, and it is wrong to deprive them of their livelihood and force them to 
fight the government without allowing them to be compensated. We allow that 
to happen in small claims hearings. In this circumstance, there is no mediation. 
There is no board to turn to for any sort of financial compensation in the 
absence of this law being passed.  
 
Chair Atkinson: 
The hearing on A.B. 106 is now closed. I will open the hearing on A.B. 186. 
 
ASSEMBLY BILL 186 (2nd Reprint): Revises provisions relating to 

compensation. (BDR 53-796) 
 
Mr. Mallory: 
Assembly Bill 186 is an important measure related to employment in the private 
sector. I have been involved in the construction industry as a worker and 

https://nelis.leg.state.nv.us/77th2013/App#/77th2013/Bill/Text/AB186
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administrator for nearly 20 years. I have never seen an abstract of NRS 608 
posted on a job site. In this industry, workers should not be at the employer’s 
office; they should be on the job site. When I was working in the field, the only 
time I would go to the employer’s office was to fill out paperwork when I was 
hired. I always knew my conditions of employment. My employers would 
provide some information, and the rest was in the collective bargaining 
agreement that covered my employment. While I cannot speak directly about 
what nonunion construction employers do relative to this situation, my 
organization has experience with employers who were sued by its employees 
because they failed to pay them the minimum wage or overtime pay. These 
workers were not aware of overtime and minimum wage provisions that exist in 
State and federal law. This has become almost an industry practice, in part 
because of the lack of knowledge of the law as well as wanting to drive down 
costs in increased competition. We believe if these employees were provided 
the information that is included in this proposed law, they would receive what 
they are supposed to be paid. Additionally, there are workers who have been 
underpaid or in some cases not paid at all. Companies have gone out of 
business, filed bankruptcy or just simply disappeared. This has left many 
workers with no source of funds to make them whole. I do not have specific 
information related to how frequently this situation occurs or the number of 
workers left out in the cold in these situations. The labor commissioner can 
speak more thoroughly regarding this provision. On the first day of this Session, 
I approached the business community and explained what I was hoping this bill 
would achieve and sought input on how this would impact business. 
I negotiated a reasonable compromise with the representatives that will start to 
address the problems I have identified.  
 
Section 4 of the bill creates a Wage Claim Restitution Account to provide 
restitution to employees who are underpaid or not paid by their employers when 
no other source of funding is available. It would be funded by carving out 
25 percent of the penalties that may be imposed by the labor commissioner for 
violation of NRS 608.040. This penalty is imposed by the labor commissioner 
when an employer fails to pay an employee in full within 3 days after the wages 
or compensation of a discharged employee becomes due or on the day the 
wages or compensation is due to an employee who resigns or quits. This 
penalty is imposed in addition to the actual wages owed to the employee. 
Carving out a portion from the penalty does not harm the employee. This 
provision does not add any fees to employers or divert funds from the State 
General Fund.  
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Section 5 codifies what we believe is already a presumed requirement. 
Employers must provide new employees, at the time of hire, specific information 
regarding their employment including their rate and method of compensation, 
overtime provisions, regular pay date and the contact information for the 
workers’ compensation insurance carrier. While this section does not specify the 
method an employer must use to provide this information, it does add 
administrative burden to the employer. The intent of “at the time of hire” is for 
this to apply on the date a new employee actually starts working and is in 
compensable status. An employee handbook would potentially satisfy the 
requirements for information regarding pay date and contact information. Many 
employers who have a stationary work environment display the excerpt of 
NRS 608 in plain view in areas where workers normally congregate. The 
information regarding workers’ compensation insurance is posted with that. 
Collective bargaining agreements contain much of this information. While the 
proposed law does not specify the method to provide the information, we 
believe those things would be considered valid methods for providing it. Section 
5 goes into effect October 1, and the remainder goes into effect upon passage 
and approval. 
 
Senator Settelmeyer: 
I agree with the concept of posting the information. Currently, if an employee is 
underpaid, an action will be brought forward, and the labor commissioner goes 
after the employer who will have to give money to the employee. Is this 
additional money? Is this in case the employer does not pay? What happens if 
the employer pays later? Is someone being paid twice?  
 
Thoran Towler (Labor Commissioner, Office of Labor Commissioner, Department 

of Business and Industry): 
The most common claim is for individuals who are not paid for the last 2 weeks 
of work. My office takes the claim, and we try to make sure we can get money 
for that employee. We focus on the wages first. Under NRS 608.040, we can 
also collect penalties. Penalties equal the daily rate of pay for that employee up 
to 30 days that the employee remains unpaid. For example, if the employee files 
a claim for $2,000 for the last 2 weeks of work, we will usually recover the 
$2,000 plus penalties. The penalties could amount to an additional $1,000. The 
employee receives a check for $3,000 even though the claim was for $2,000. 
Section 4 of the bill proposes that the Office of Labor Commissioner would keep 
25 percent of the penalties we collect and send it to a restitution fund. The 
penalties are necessary because people filing claims usually need to pay late 
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charges or overdraft fees. They deserve the penalties, but the penalties are 
generous. Approximately 10 percent of the claims we receive are from people 
whose employers have disappeared. This bill creates a restitution fund for the 
10 percent of people for whom we are not able to collect unpaid wages. The 
individual claimants would receive less in penalties, but they would continue to 
receive their full wages and some penalties. 
 
Senator Settelmeyer: 
About the 25 percent that would go to the new account, where did it used to 
go? 
 
Mr. Towler: 
Everything under NRS 608.040 goes to the claimant. Under section 4 of the bill 
75 percent, instead of 100 percent, would go to the claimant and 25 percent 
would go to the restitution fund. 
 
Senator Settelmeyer: 
We are taking money away from the claimants. Is there an easier way to do this 
without having the State Treasurer and State Controller involved? 
 
Mr. Towler: 
The State Treasurer and State Controller offices are completely involved 
already. We did have a separate account previously, but during our legislative 
audit 2 years ago, it was determined that it would be safer to have all our 
money handled by the State Controller and State Treasurer. It may take a little 
more time, but there is better tracking of money. 
 
Senator Hardy: 
I am not familiar with NRS 608.013. Are there parameters around that? If you 
hire someone to fix your home, if you have a small business or if you hire 
seasonal workers are you included in NRS 608.013? Whom does NRS 608.013 
capture? Is there a level of business? Is it limited to businesses with 25 or more 
employees? 
 
Mr. Mallory: 
The NRS 608.013 captures every employer doing business in the State. 
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Senator Hutchison: 
It seems that, anecdotally, we are using the construction industry to model 
legislation for every single employer in the State. This law applies to a company 
with just two employees. Why are we doing this? 
 
Mr. Mallory: 
My experience is in the construction industry. It is my belief the vast majority of 
businesses are already complying with these requirements. Representatives 
from the business community could better address their perspectives. This is 
intended to affect those individual employers who are currently not complying 
with what we believe to be an inferred requirement under law. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
Who are these employers? 
 
Mr. Mallory: 
I could give you a list of companies that have been pursued in litigation by their 
employees for failure to pay overtime, minimum wage or issues with workers’ 
compensation. We are trying to create a standard for all industries. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
Would that list to which you are referring to be directed at the construction 
industry? 
 
Mr. Mallory: 
It would not. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
Do you have lists of law practices, accounting firms, Laundromats and other 
businesses? 
 
Mr. Mallory: 
The list would include only construction industry employers based on my 
experience in the construction industry. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
Do you have a list of other companies outside of construction that are having 
problems with this? Has that been explored? 
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Mr. Towler: 
I have looked into this and talked with different associations of employers in 
Nevada. The first version of this bill had some strict requirements, and there 
were employers that were against it. This version is more realistic. Many 
employers already provide this information and think this is the current law. 
There are many cases in my office where the employer claims to hire an 
employee at $10 per hour and the employee claims to have been hired at 
$12 per hour. I believe them both. There is miscommunication. I am against 
additional regulations because I do not think it is necessary to heavily regulate 
business. It does not promote growth. This bill could have a great benefit 
because it is not a very strong requirement, and it could benefit those employers 
when there are miscommunications.  
 
Senator Hutchison: 
Are there other specific penalties attached to violation of section 5? What 
happens if an employer does not conspicuously post an abstract of NRS 608 or 
provide this information at the time of hire? 
 
Mr. Towler: 
Page 4 of the bill references NRS 608.195. That is a catchall law. Any violation 
of NRS 608 is technically a misdemeanor, and there could be a penalty of up to 
$5,000 per violation. The provisions in this bill would fall under NRS 608, so 
that would be a possible penalty. There is also the possibility of up to 6 months 
incarceration for a misdemeanor. That is not common, and it has been several 
years since a district attorney has prosecuted under NRS 608, but those are the 
associated penalties. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
If we pass A.B. 186, any employer in the State that does not conspicuously 
post the material set forth in section 5 or provide the information, regardless of 
the size or sophistication level of the employer or any prior violations, the 
employer could be subject to a misdemeanor citation, which could include up to 
6 months incarceration or a $5,000 fine. Is that correct? 
 
Mr. Towler: 
Those are the maximum penalties. 
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Mr. Mallory: 
Statute already requires that an employer conspicuously post the information. 
That is not something added to law. We are proposing to clarify what we 
believe to be inferred, that employers are required to provide that information to 
their employees.  
 
Senator Hutchison: 
Is it your position it would be good policy in this State if employers who, 
regardless of size, sophistication and prior citation, do not provide that 
information be subject to a misdemeanor charge including up to 6 months 
imprisonment and a $5,000 fine? 
 
Mr. Mallory: 
I believe so. I think there is a lot of discretion granted to the labor commissioner 
in these matters in terms of the severity of the offense and the penalty fee 
imposed. I cannot speak for the Office of Labor Commissioner, but I think the 
absolute maximum that could be imposed would be for an extremely egregious 
violation. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
Is that pure speculation on your part?  
 
Mr. Mallory: 
Yes. 
 
Mr. Towler: 
I have been labor commissioner for a year and a half. Historically, and under 
current control, we become aware of issues either by complaint or by audit. For 
a first violation, unless it is absolutely egregious, we issue a warning and 
schedule a follow-up audit. If the employer continues to violate law, we start 
issuing citations. The fines usually start at $250, depending on the violation. 
We want to help businesses come into compliance. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
Administrative penalties and warnings are not articulated in law. That is just 
your practice in your office under your administration. Is that correct? 
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Mr. Towler: 
Yes. There is a maximum fine of $5,000. We give a warning first and then start 
fining up towards $5,000. 
 
Senator Settelmeyer: 
How much of a problem is this? I would like information on the total amount of 
underpaid money that was owed to individuals in that last cycle. I would also 
like to know the total penalties assessed and the total of the funds that 
remained uncollected because the company went out of business. 
 
Mr. Towler: 
I will get you information on the total penalties underpaid, total penalties and 
total uncollectable penalties for the last fiscal year. 
 
Mr. Thompson: 
The Nevada State AFL-CIO supports A.B. 186. 
 
Mr. McKenzie: 
The Building and Construction Trades Council of Northern Nevada supports 
A.B. 186. 
 
Robert Ostrovsky (Nevada Resort Association): 
The Nevada Resort Association is opposed to A.B. 186. I am not concerned 
about the restitution account. I am concerned about section 5, subsection 2, 
paragraph (i). This would require that we give the contact information for the 
workers’ compensation insurance carrier at the time of hire. The NRS 616A.490 
requires employers to post a notice identifying the industrial insurance carrier 
and specifies the contents of the notice. We have to put that up now. Does 
posting that notice meet the obligation of this bill? Mr. Mallory believes it does. 
I do not think the bill is clear. We need to remove or modify section 5, 
subsection 2, paragraph (i) to indicate the posting of the notice is adequate. The 
problems in the construction industry do not apply to the gaming industry. 
Construction workers may never visit the main office. We post these notices; 
we have big human resources departments, so it easy for us. It is not easy out 
on the job site where workers need to know their rights.  
 
Ray Bacon (Nevada Manufacturers Association): 
The Nevada Manufacturers Association has similar concerns to those of 
Mr. Ostrovsky. We have also discussed that the notice given to the employee 
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will be accurate only on the day it is given because of the nature of 
employment. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
Are your concerns inclusive of the penalties we have discussed?  
 
Mr. Bacon: 
That is existing law. We have dealt with that for a long time. In my dealings 
with NV OSHA, we found they are a reasonable organization to deal with. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
Is it your testimony that section 5, subsection 2 and the associated penalties 
are current law? 
 
Mr. Bacon: 
I do not know. 
 
Samuel P. McMullen (Las Vegas Metro Chamber of Commerce): 
The Las Vegas Metro Chamber of Commerce supports the restitution fund. We 
have heard from Mr. Mallory that the posting of this information is enough, but 
the language does not seem to say that. If we satisfy the posting requirements 
for the employees who are capable of seeing this in the break rooms and that is 
sufficient, then we are in full support. I think this is asking for something more.  
 
I want to reiterate that this is important information and employers have to 
follow through with providing it. The fines and penalties are appropriate if an 
employer is not providing this information. There is a lot of information on these 
postings, and it changes. The administrative penalties can reach up to $5,000, 
but they do not start there. There is a notification process. We are comfortable 
with that. This is a subset of what is on those posters. I think the intent is that 
if employees are not going to be at the office where they can see the posters 
routinely, then there needs to be another mechanism to provide this information. 
The language does not seem to suggest that. We thought it would be an 
alternative to posting this information conspicuously. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
The way section 5 is written, if employers do not conspicuously post the 
requirements as set forth in section 5 and do not provide the information at the 
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time of hire, then the employer is subject to the penalties set forth in the act, 
which we have already described. Are you okay with that? 
 
Mr. McMullen: 
That is our concern. We are not trying to be difficult. We have worked with 
Mr. Mallory. We thought this would be an alternative to the conspicuous 
posting in the main building in the main business operations and was a catchall 
to make sure off-site workers would receive the information as well. We 
thought it would be a much more limited set of circumstances than the 
technical words of this bill describe. The bill requires the information be given at 
the time of hire even if an employer conspicuously posts the information. We 
are also concerned about proving the employer has provided this information so 
the employer is not guilty of a misdemeanor. This puts the burden on the 
employer to prove the information was provided at the time of hire. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
Subsection 2 of section 5 is not an alternative; it is an additional requirement to 
subsection 1 of section 5. 
 
Mr. McMullen: 
I agree with your interpretation of the bill. 
 
Tray Abney (The Chamber): 
I signed in supporting the bill because I told Mr. Mallory I would. Unfortunately, 
I have to change that position. The Chamber is neutral on A.B. 186 because we 
have heard from the Nevada Resort Association and the Nevada Manufacturers 
Association that they are opposed to this. The Chamber has several of those 
businesses in our membership. When the bill was heard in the Assembly 
Committee on Commerce and Labor, we were strongly opposed to it. 
Mr. Mallory negotiated with us and other groups and got it to a point where our 
membership decided it was language they could live with. I was not aware there 
were still members who had concerns, so we are neutral.  
 
Mr. Mallory: 
As indicated, the bill is significantly different from the original. Originally, there 
was a requirement that every employer provide every new employee with 
a written notice that contained all this information. Employers were to use the 
standard notices determined appropriate by the labor commissioner and obtain 
a signature from the employee stating he or she had received the notification in 
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an understandable language. It was very clear and very restrictive. In the course 
of the first 66 days of the Session, I had multiple meetings with representatives 
from the business industry. I thought we had addressed all the concerns in the 
amendment accepted by the Assembly Committee on Commerce and Labor. 
These are new concerns I had not heard until today. A number of items are 
required to be included in the conspicuously posted labor law poster. It is our 
belief and our position that if those items are included on that labor law poster, 
that satisfies the requirements of subsection 2 of section 5. The time of hire is 
actually the time when a new employee engages in compensable activity. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
If that is the intent, would you consider adding an “or” after subsection 1 of 
section 5? 
 
Mr. Mallory: 
I would; however, there would need to be an exception for paragraphs (a) and 
(b), because employers do not put every employee’s wage rate on the labor law 
posters. I do not think they would want to do that. Labor law posters only have 
a generic statement about overtime. Overtime, under NRS 608.018, varies for 
different individuals depending on how and how much an employee is paid.  
 
Chair Atkinson: 
There are a few issues to work out. I will close the hearing on A.B. 186. The 
hearing on A.B. 213 is now open. Assemblyman David Bobzien has submitted 
remarks about A.B. 213 (Exhibit D). 
 
ASSEMBLY BILL 213 (2nd Reprint): Revises provisions governing the issuance 

of a certificate of registration to a provider of a service contract. 
(BDR 57-759) 

 
Neena Laxalt (National Home Service Contract Association): 
Assembly Bill No. 74 of the 76th Session removed language from 
NRS 690C.170. That change removed the ability for small, new home service 
companies to enter into the State because they could no longer meet the 
financial criteria. During the interim, the National Home Service Contract 
Association worked with the Division of Insurance and compromised on the bill 
before you today, A.B. 213. The amendments in the Assembly removed the 
fiscal note from the bill. 
 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/77th2013/Exhibits/Senate/CL/SCL1321D.pdf
https://nelis.leg.state.nv.us/77th2013/App#/77th2013/Bill/Text/AB213
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James Wadhams (Service Contract Industry Council): 
We worked with Ms. Laxalt and the Division of Insurance on A.B. 213. The new 
language in section 1, subsection 2 allows the commissioner of insurance to 
create a system where the reserve grows as the company grows. The financial 
security will grow as the company gains more business. This will allow small 
companies to come to the State. The change in section 1, subsection 1 clarifies 
that an insurer who backs up a service contract or a home warranty company 
needs to be licensed, registered or authorized to do business. It needs to be 
a legal entity, but the commissioner of insurance will have control. We worked 
with the commissioner of insurance on this bill too. 
 
Mr. Plain: 
During the Assembly Committee on Commerce and Labor hearing on A.B. 213, 
the Division of Insurance was “negatively neutral” on the bill. During the 
76th Session, the Division of Insurance proposed a heavy-handed fix to this part 
of NRS. The National Home Service Contract Association brought a valid 
concern to the Division. Originally, we did not like the proposal. We worked 
with the Association and are fine with the proposal now. This will protect 
Nevada consumers and allow the industry to resume normal operations. 
 
Chair Atkinson: 
During the Assembly hearing, did you speak in neutral position? 
 
Mr. Plain: 
Yes. 
 
Chair Atkinson: 
Are you still neutral?  
 
Mr. Plain 
Yes. We are as positive as can be while still being neutral. 
 
Chair Atkinson: 
The hearing on A.B. 213 is closed. I will open the hearing on A.B. 404. 
 
ASSEMBLY BILL 404 (2nd Reprint): Revises provisions relating to time shares. 

(BDR 10-960) 
 

https://nelis.leg.state.nv.us/77th2013/App#/77th2013/Bill/Text/AB404
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Erin McMullen (American Resort Development Association): 
The American Resort Development Association (ARDA) is the professional 
association representing the time-share and resort industry. There are over 
1,000 members. We have worked on this bill and a counterpart bill, 
Senate Bill (S.B.) 383, which is on its way to Governor Brian Sandoval. 
Together, these two bills streamline the time-share renewal and application 
process. 
 
SENATE BILL 383 (2nd Reprint): Revises provisions governing time shares. 

(BDR 10-916) 
 
Specifically, A.B. 404 focuses on resale agents and transfer companies. We 
have worked with the Real Estate Division on these bills. The Real Estate 
Division lost personnel and staffing and had serious budget constraints because 
of the economic downturn. It resulted in a backlog in time-share renewal 
applications. That is the genesis of the two bills. Assembly Bill 404 includes an 
increased fee schedule for these types of applications or renewals. The 
increases in fees will allow the Real Estate Division to hire an additional program 
officer dedicated to time-share renewals and applications. The bill also 
streamlines procedures. This will help the process and the time-share industry. 
We also submitted four letters (Exhibit E) in support of A.B. 404. The industry 
does support the new fee schedule. 
 
Karen Dennison (American Resort Development Association; American Resort 

Development Association Resort Owners Coalition): 
I have written testimony (Exhibit F). The American Resort Development 
Association Resort Owners Coalition is comprised of approximately one million 
time-share owners across the United States. We worked with the Real Estate 
Division on A.B. 404, which we are presenting today and S.B. 383, which has 
passed both houses. We have submitted an amendment to the bill (Exhibit G). 
We are in agreement with the Real Estate Division on the language of the 
amendment. The proposed amendment does not introduce any new concepts. It 
adds definitions and some additional language we believe clarifies the bill. 
Assembly Bill 404 streamlines the registration process for time-share 
developers. The time-share industry is one of the most highly regulated 
industries in Nevada. Before sales can occur, the time-share developer must 
register the project with the Real Estate Division and provide a lot of detailed 
information about finances, experience, the project and the time-share plan of 
how it will operate in use of time-shares by purchasers. We have tried to 

https://nelis.leg.state.nv.us/77th2013/App#/77th2013/Bill/Text/SB383
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/77th2013/Exhibits/Senate/CL/SCL1321E.pdf
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/77th2013/Exhibits/Senate/CL/SCL1321F.pdf
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/77th2013/Exhibits/Senate/CL/SCL1321G.pdf
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streamline the registration process to make it more business friendly. This is 
designed to encourage business in the State as well to add additional consumer 
protections.  
 
Section 4 of the bill regards transfer companies. Transfer companies are 
unregulated in Nevada. The language is patterned after a recently passed Florida 
law. Transfer companies are known in the industry as “Viking ships” because 
they disappear into the sunset. They contact time-share owners and offer to 
take their time-share. The owners pay between $2,000 and $5,000 to give their 
time-share to the transfer company. The transfer company has no intention to 
resell the time-share. This creates a non-paying time-share as far as the 
associations are concerned. Recently, time-share associations have been 
cash-strapped with multitude of defaults and foreclosures. It exacerbates the 
problem when time-shares are taken out of the paying stream of revenue for the 
assessments. The associations have to incur foreclosure costs. This bill would 
make it a criminal offense and deceptive trade practice to engage in this kind of 
heretofore-unregulated practice. 
 
Section 11 and section 11.5 govern exemptions with respect to homeowners 
associations (HOAs). Currently, HOAs are exempt from the registration process 
developers must go through. We have added some disclosure requirements for 
HOAs when they take back a time-share either through delinquent payments or 
for other reasons. The HOAs need to resell the time-share to return them to 
paying status. We added disclosure requirements for information the HOA must 
give the ultimate purchaser. They are the same disclosure requirements 
a time-share resale broker must give. We have also added a 5-day right of 
rescission to those sales, similar to the 5-day right of rescission required of 
developers. In addition to that, we have created a new exemption, which is 
a-sale-to-existing-owners exemption. For example, if you have a national 
time-share company that has a time-share located outside the State but the 
company is registered in Nevada, the company is subject to the jurisdiction of 
the Real Estate Division and all disciplinary action associated with violating this 
act. The company is merely exempt from registering, but must give the 
consumer a 5-day right of rescission period and deliver the disclosures required 
by the situs state to the consumer. 
 
Section 23 and section 23.5 streamline the registration process. Heretofore, the 
Real Estate Division has issued the disclosure document, which is really the 
developer’s disclosure document, called the public offering statement. Under 
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A.B. 404, the developer would issue its own disclosure document. It would 
have to be approved for use by the Real Estate Division. This is a streamlining 
measure. The other aspect of these sections is filing an abbreviated registration 
when a project is registered in another state. The developer is probably filling 
out a very similar form to the one Nevada requires for the other state. The 
developer will not have to repackage the information into Nevada’s form as long 
as the other state’s disclosure requirements are equal to or greater than our 
requirements. The Real Estate Division can accept the other state’s registration 
package as the Nevada registration and accept the disclosure document as the 
Nevada disclosure document. The Real Estate Division would attach a face page 
certifying it approved that particular public offering statement. 
 
Section 32 of the bill covers fees. The industry has worked with the Real Estate 
Division to develop a fee schedule. The time-share industry is solidly in support 
of the fee schedule. It is long overdue. 
 
Section 35 of the bill is very important to the industry. This section allows the 
time-share developer to attach an addendum when there is an amendment to 
a disclosure document pending with the Real Estate Division. This will ensure 
the sale will not be interrupted because of delays. The inability to get a new 
public offering statement has caused interruptions in sales. 
 
Sections 41 through 44 add additional requirements on time-share resale 
brokers. Time-share resales have been a subject of consumer complaints. 
Currently, time-share resale brokers must be licensed as real estate brokers and 
must register with the Real Estate Division. This bill adds that resale brokers 
must give purchasers a 5-day right of rescission when there is a sale contract 
between an owner and a purchaser and a time-share resale broker facilitates the 
sale contract. Additionally, all of the documents governing the time-share plan 
must be delivered to the purchaser. The same requirements would apply to 
resale listing contracts. Resale listing contracts are contracts between the seller 
and the broker to list the time-share for resale or sale. A 5-day right of 
rescission also applies to those brokerage agreements. Finally, another subject 
of complaints is advance fee listings, when the resale broker takes a seller’s 
money and then does not promote the property sale. Added in this bill are 
certain disclosures that must be given to the time-share reseller. We have also 
given the owner of the time-share the right to void the contract for a period of 
up to 1 year. There is an additional civil penalty of up to $1,000 per violation. 
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Senator Hutchison: 
Section 32 of the bill contains the new fee structure. Do you believe the 
increased fees will solve the revenue shortfall and remedy the lack of personnel? 
Is that the fee structure mentioned in testimony? 
 
Ms. McMullen: 
Yes, that is the fee structure we mentioned. I do not think this will solve the 
problem completely, but it will help fund another program officer. Prior to the 
economic downturn, the Real Estate Division had a full-time employee and 
administrative help reviewing time-share applications and renewals. Now, the 
Real Estate Division has one program officer reviewing applications and 
renewals twice a week because he or she oversees many other projects. This is 
a step towards solving the issue and clearing some of the backlog of 
applications. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
If the transfer companies become unit owners and acquire the contractual 
obligations of being unit owners once they buy the time-share, why can you not 
seek legal remedies against the transfer companies? 
 
Ms. Dennison: 
There is nothing illegal about what they are doing. They are creating havoc for 
time-share associations and owners. The transfer companies are preying upon 
owners. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
This must be a good economic transaction because the unit owners are not 
being forced to sell their time-share to these transfer companies. The time-share 
owners do not want to pay fees and maintenance costs, so they sell their unit 
to a transfer company. Why is that an unfair trade practice? Why can you not 
seek legal remedies similar to any other unit owner not paying their dues or 
fees? 
 
Ms. Dennison: 
Eventually, a time-share association will seek legal remedies against a transfer 
company for nonpayment of fees. The foreclosure costs often equal or exceed 
the resale value of the time-share unit. The time-share association has lost 
money on unpaid dues and assessments and has to pay foreclosure costs. This 
is an economic burden on the time-share associations and owners. 
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Senator Hutchison: 
I would like Ms. Anderson to address this issue, too. I am concerned when there 
is a market for something and we are being asked to make it an unfair trade 
practice. There is an economic benefit to the time-share owners and the transfer 
companies when these sales happen. What is the rationale for making this an 
unfair trade practice? Is there any other reason than it is wreaking havoc on the 
time-share industry? 
 
Ms. Dennison: 
This is a problem that has been discussed at ARDA meetings for 4 or 5 years. 
Ms. Anderson can tell you about the complaints the Real Estate Division has 
received. Some of the transfer companies claim to be resale companies, but 
they are not. They are not regulated. Florida has seen the need to pass similar 
legislation. We believe this is a good regulatory practice to ensure these types 
of practices are stopped. 
 
Gail J. Anderson (Administrator, Real Estate Division, Department of Business 

and Industry): 
I have submitted written testimony (Exhibit H) in support of A.B. 404. We 
worked with ARDA on the proposed amendment, Exhibit G. An important 
provision for consumers in this bill is the addition of the 5-day rescission period 
in resale of time-shares. We have received many complaints from people who 
have purchased a resale unit and were not aware there was no rescission 
period. There is a rescission period with the sale of a new time-share. That is an 
important provision.  
 
I also support the requirement for direct supervision by the project broker or 
a designated broker-salesperson working under the supervision of the project 
broker of those time-share sales agents. These brokers, project brokers and 
broker salespersons are real estate licensees under the jurisdiction of the Real 
Estate Division. There is a high level of supervision, responsibility and 
accountability needed.  
 
It is my understanding that transfer companies market to consumers, take their 
money, but never execute a transfer of ownership. That is an unfair and 
deceptive trade practice. I am part of the Association of Real Estate License 
Law Officials and chair the Timeshare Advisory Group. We have discussed 
similar situations and issues at the national level. We have had a number of 
complaints, and some inquires, from consumers who say someone contacted 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/77th2013/Exhibits/Senate/CL/SCL1321H.pdf
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/77th2013/Exhibits/Senate/CL/SCL1321G.pdf
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them offering to buy their time-share for $1,500. The Real Estate Division 
always advises consumers against this and to use a time-share resale broker 
instead. These are practices that are harmful and deceptive to consumers, and 
this bill gives more authority to take action. Assembly Bill 404 strengthens 
consumer disclosures, rescission rights and protections. This will also enable the 
Real Estate Division to process filings and amendments in a more timely 
manner. 
 
Senator Hutchison: 
Under this bill, will time-share owners be able to sell a time-share to a transfer 
company, assuming the transfer company is not engaged in deceptive trade 
practices? Will that transaction be illegal now? 
 
Ms. Anderson: 
Time-share owners will still be able to resell time-shares. They could utilize one 
of these companies; we hope they would ask the right questions. The bill allows 
for a referral into the criminal arena if the transfer company engages in 
deceptive trade practices. This does not stop that business practice. Many of 
these transfer companies are Internet-based. They are difficult to track down, 
but there are means we can use to do so. 
 
Mr. Breslow: 
I want to address the economic development aspects. The Real Estate Division 
has been unable to process the time-share applications. There are companies 
ready to build projects. Some of the companies, like Hyatt and Disney, have 
significant projects proposed. We have not been able to process the applications 
because we do not have a body to do it. This will help alleviate that. 
 
Mr. McMullen: 
I work for ARDA and am a proponent of A.B. 404. This is a substantial 
amendment. If you wait until after work session to send the amendment to the 
Legal Division for drafting, there could be timing issues. Could the Committee 
give the amendment to the Legal Division now so they could draft it and get it 
back to the Committee?  
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Chair Atkinson: 
It is up to the Committee on how comfortable they are. I am comfortable with 
the amendment. The Committee members are indicating they are comfortable as 
well. The hearing on A.B. 404 is now closed. 

 
SENATOR HARDY MOVED TO AMEND AND DO PASS AS AMENDED 
A.B. 404 WITH THE AMENDMENT PROPOSED BY KAREN DENNISON, 
EXHIBIT G. 
 
SENATOR DENIS SECONDED THE MOTION. 
 

Senator Denis: 
There will probably be questions, but at least the amendment will be done and 
then we can answer those questions. We will not have to worry about the 
amendment not being drafted in time. 

 
THE MOTION PASSED UNANIMOUSLY. 

 
***** 

 
  

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/77th2013/Exhibits/Senate/CL/SCL1321G.pdf
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Chair Atkinson: 
The meeting is adjourned at 3:51 p.m. 
 
 

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED: 
 
 
 

  
Caitlin Brady, 
Committee Secretary 

 
 
APPROVED BY: 
 
 
 
  
Senator Kelvin Atkinson, Chair 
 
 
DATE:  
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EXHIBITS 
 

Bill  Exhibit Witness / Agency Description 
 A 1  Agenda 
 B 3  Attendance Roster 
A.B. 106 C 2 Assemblyman Ira Hansen Proposed Amendment 9412 
A.B. 213 D 2 Chair Atkinson Remarks from Assemblyman 

David Bobzien 
A.B. 404 E 5 Erin McMullen Letters 
A.B. 404 F 10 Karen Dennison Written testimony 
A.B. 404 G 23 Karen Dennison Proposed amendment 
A.B. 404 H 1 Gail J. Anderson Written testimony 
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