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Chairman Hansen: 
[Roll was taken and Committee protocol was explained.]  Since there is a great 
deal of interest and at the request of Assemblywoman Bustamante Adams, we 
are going to begin with Assembly  Bill  212.  We want to remind everyone this 
bill is about changing the statute of limitations in Nevada on sexual assault, and 
we need to keep the testimony focused in that area.  With that, 
Assemblywoman Bustamante Adams, if you are ready, please come up. 
 
Assembly Bill 212: Eliminates the statute of limitations for sexual assault. 

(BDR 14-1062) 
 
Assemblywoman Irene Bustamante Adams, Assembly District No. 42: 
Thank you for the opportunity to bring forth Assembly Bill 212.  The genesis of 
this bill was a call from a constituent whose wife had been sexually assaulted 
some years ago.  You will hear from them later.  He spoke to me very 
eloquently about how hard it was for some victims to report this type of crime 
and how horrible it would be to have an assailant go free just because the 
victim was too traumatized to come forward within Nevada's four-year statute 
of limitations on reporting this type of crime.  Today, our presentation will 
consist of historical background on the current law, a broader picture of what 
other states are doing in regard to this issue, and then personal testimony from 
my constituents, who drove from Las Vegas last night to be before you today. 
 
Let me give you a quick background on this statute.  The statute of limitations 
for prosecuting sexual assaults depends on certain circumstances; there are 
different rules for children, assaults committed in secret, and persons under 
a disability which is outlined in section 4 of this bill.  In a situation involving an 
adult that would not be covered by one of those special situations, there is no 
statute of limitations if the victim reports the crime within four years.  That is 
the barrier in Nevada and our challenge today.  This four-year statute was 
enacted in 1997.  During that hearing, Assemblywoman Jan Evans proposed 
a seven-year statute of limitations, and during the process there was an 
amendment to remove the statute of limitations completely.  In reading the 
minutes of the enrolled version of the bill, the statute of limitations was 
removed, but only if the report was filed within four years of the alleged crime.  
My understanding of the arguments on removing the statute of limitations in 
1997 was that crimes reported years later would be hard to prosecute and may 
invite false reports.  I have to disagree, and here is why: Prosecuting a crime 
reported several years after the fact is difficult, but I do not see the difference 
between reporting it 4 years, 10 years, or 40 years later.  I do not see how 
a shorter time limit will stop false reports. 
 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/78th2015/Bill/1622/Overview/
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Nevada law enforcement will be testifying later in this presentation; you will 
hear directly from the people who are the end users in this area.  Clearly, 
a prosecutor will have to use his or her judgment on whether to prosecute 
sexual assault reports years later, but that is the process now.  Therefore, I do 
not agree with the argument used in 1997.  Removing the statute of limitations 
will be a way to seek justice in those instances when the assault is reported 
years after the crime; a successful prosecution is still possible. 
 
When my constituent approached me regarding this bill, I was surprised to learn 
how many other states allowed victims of sexual assault an unlimited period of 
time to file a complaint and seek prosecution.  My intern, Chandni Patel, who is 
a junior at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, studying political science, will 
share data with you regarding what other states' statutes of limitations are.  
While working on this project together, she has taught me a lot, especially that 
even if you have a soft voice, it does not mean you are irrelevant, and 
that everyone should have an opportunity to be heard.  [Written testimony was 
also provided (Exhibit C).]  
 
Chandni Patel, Intern for Assemblywoman Irene Bustamante Adams: 
According to the Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network, an American is 
sexually assaulted every 107 seconds.  Ninety-eight percent of the perpetrators 
will never spend a day in jail or prison.  This has become such a pressing issue 
that 26 states either do not have a statute of limitations on sexual assault or 
have revoked it, while a number of others have just begun the process.  
In numerous states, such as Utah, Kansas, and Tennessee, to name a few, this 
is a bipartisan effort with both chambers of the legislature seeing the need for 
change and voting unanimously to pass the measure.  [Ms. Patel continued to 
read from written text (Exhibit D).] 
 
With that, I conclude my testimony, and I am open to any questions that you 
might have. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Thank you.  Are there any questions for Ms. Patel at this time? 
 
Assemblyman Gardner:  
Where did you find your facts on the various states that have no statute of 
limitations?  I could only find one, which is Delaware. 
 
Chandni Patel: 
I received my information from the Legislative Counsel Bureau as well as the 
website <www.motherjones.com.>. 
 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/78th2015/Exhibits/Assembly/JUD/AJUD441C.pdf
http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/78th2015/Exhibits/Assembly/JUD/AJUD441D.pdf
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Assemblywoman Bustamante Adams: 
I would now like to introduce my constituents, Ben and Lise Lublin, who will 
give their personal testimony. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Before we hear their testimony, I would like to call a recess.  I just received all 
of the testimony and have reviewed what is going to be covered today.  I would 
like to talk with Assemblywoman Bustamante Adams for just a minute.  We will 
stand in recess [at 8:09 a.m.] until call of the Chair.   
 
[The meeting reconvened at 8:14 a.m.] 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
I have talked to the bill's sponsor, and some of the testimony names a specific 
individual as committing a specific crime.  In the interest of fairness, and as this 
is not a trial but a hearing regarding whether or not we should extend 
the statute of limitations beyond its existing four years, I am going to ask the 
people testifying to call him "the perpetrator" and not use his specific name.  
You can certainly tell the entire story, but I do ask that you redact the specific 
name of the individual.  Please proceed, Assemblywoman Bustamante Adams. 
 
Assemblywoman Bustamante Adams: 
Thank you, Mr. Chairman.  At this time, I would like my constituents to give 
their personal testimony, beginning with Mr. Benjamin Lublin. 
 
Benjamin Lublin, Private Citizen, Las Vegas, Nevada: 
I thank you for hearing my testimony regarding this important issue.  Sexual 
assault and rape is a matter I hold close to my heart and a subject that needs to 
be addressed.  I come before this Committee to urge you to abolish the statute 
of limitations for sexual assault.  It is a small change for you to make eliminating 
the four years, but a great change for victims. 
 
As you know, the statute of limitations only allows four years for a victim to 
report their sexual assault.  The most common misconception is that a victim is 
prepared to call the police and file a report within minutes after he or she has 
been raped.  Most victims are in disbelief, they are ashamed, scared, paranoid, 
and at times suicidal.  According to the Department of Justice, a woman is 
three times more likely to suffer from depression after an assault, 6 times more 
likely to suffer from post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), 13 times more likely 
to abuse alcohol, 26 times more likely to abuse drugs, and 4 times more 
likely to contemplate suicide. 
 



Assembly Committee on Judiciary 
March 13, 2015 
Page 6 
 
However, not all these numbers and words can give you any personal insight to 
what a rape victim has to deal with when he or she decides that they are finally 
ready to speak out.  I watched my wife, who was under the impression that she 
had a bad reaction to alcohol, fall apart when she found out it was really 
a methodical and devious plan to assault her.  I watched her cry in disbelief, and 
I watched her slide into depression and anxiety.  She was always a calm 
and cool person who changed into a woman who felt distant from me.  Things 
she found funny did not make her laugh anymore.  She changed.  With support 
and help from friends, family, and me, we worked with her to become strong 
again.  I honestly believed that we would have our day in court, where she 
would look her assailant in the eyes and let him know that he did not get away 
with it; he would be held accountable.  However, that was not the case, 
because I found out that there was a statute of limitations.  This confused me.  
I have always had a strong belief in the justice system, and I believed that if 
someone raped you, your wife, daughter, or son, then that monster would be 
held accountable.  Instead, the law allows the predator a get-out-of-jail-free card 
and the ability to create new victims.  The law should be in place to empower 
victims; instead, it deters them from coming forward.  When my wife decided to 
come forward and tell her truth, she was called a whore, a slut, a tramp, and 
they said she got what she deserved, "I bet he raped her good." 
 
The culture we live in not only makes fun of sexual assault victims but also tells 
them to be silent.  When I told my mother that Lise-Lotte, my wife, was going 
to come forward and tell the world publicly that she was assaulted, my mother 
told me to keep it in the family.  She said, "Do not let everyone know what 
happened."  My mother was worried about exposing our children to 
what society had to say.  I wondered why my mother would think this way; she 
was a strong woman.  Then it hit me: My mother comes from the old school, 
the school where we are programmed by society to stay silent and to keep quiet 
about rape. 
 
Rape is neither glamorous nor subtle.  It is a brutal attack.  This is an act that 
psychologically alters the victim's mind and permanently changes the person's 
life.  Part of the reason I hold this matter close to my heart is because as a child 
I was sexually assaulted at the age of thirteen.  Through my therapy and the 
devotion of my wife, I was able to take this horrible experience and change it 
into a positive by working with Assemblywoman Bustamante Adams to 
introduce a bill to change the statute of limitations.  I am here in front of this 
Committee to tell you what sexual assault looks like.  It has taken 25 years for 
me to come forward publicly and talk openly about my assault.  I have not told 
anyone outside of my wife and my therapist, and I have decided to share this 
with you because I have never felt more strongly about supporting an 
issue before. 
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The impact of rape on families, siblings, neighborhoods, and the community is 
far more severe than you would expect.  The statute of limitations does not 
take into account the time that might be necessary for a victim to come 
forward.  It took me 25 years to speak out.  How many countless victims will 
come forward only to be silenced and discouraged by the statute of limitations? 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Thank you sir, we do have a question for you. 
 
Assemblyman Wheeler: 
You gave us some statistics on alcoholism, suicide, et cetera.  In this 
Committee, we are looking at raising the statute of limitations.  To me there is 
probably nothing more abhorrent than violence against a woman except violence 
towards a child.  Do you believe or have any studies that would show by raising 
the statute of limitations that these statistics would go down and that we 
would see a lessening of suicide and alcoholism from these victims? 
 
Benjamin Lublin: 
I think that is a great question.  I know that we have other people who are 
sounder in the statistics department.  What I gave you was from the 
U.S. Department of Justice from 2003, which is the most recent statistics they 
have.  When you start looking things up online or try to get information from 
different areas, it is not very easy. 
 
Assemblyman Wheeler: 
Thank you very much, and thank you for coming forward. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Thank you for sharing your story with us this morning.  Take as much time as 
you need. 
 
Lise-Lotte Lublin Private Citizen, Las Vegas, Nevada: 
[Crying]  Good morning Mr. Chairman and the members of this Committee.  
I am Lise-Lotte Lublin, a native of Nevada.  I am a graduate of the University of 
Nevada and an educator.  My story began in 1989 when I trusted a man who 
I never believed would put a drug in my drink without my knowledge so that he 
could use my body for his sick, disgusting pleasure.  He insisted that I have 
two drinks, and within a few minutes, I became dizzy and disoriented.  
He asked me to sit with him.  As I sat, he began stroking my hair and talking to 
me.  This was the last moment I was conscious.  My next memory was waking 
up at home.   
 



Assembly Committee on Judiciary 
March 13, 2015 
Page 8 
 
In November of 2014, my husband informed me that several women had 
accused my assailant of drugging and sexually assaulting them.  When 
I reported the facts to the police, they took my statement and referred me to 
Detective Shane of the Sexual Assault unit, Las Vegas Metropolitan Police 
Department (LVMPD).  Detective Shane informed me that the statute of 
limitations prevented him from pursuing any investigation of this crime.  I sat in 
Detective Shane's office and cried as I realized no one would be able to help 
me.  I will never see justice, and I did nothing wrong.  If I had any idea of what 
had happened, I would have filed a report 25 years ago.  When I told my family 
about the oddness of my visit with my assailant and that I could not figure out 
what happened, I did not suspect he would have hurt me.  I now understand 
that the law prevents the victim in my circumstances from seeking justice, and 
when I needed the judiciary system to support me, I am stuck with, "You 
should have reported it sooner."  Why would the law want to prevent me from 
seeking justice?  I do not understand what purpose it serves to limit the period 
in which a victim has to report a sexual assault.  I see no other purpose than to 
protect an assailant.  Who is protecting the victim?  When the nature of 
a sexual crime is to dominate and overpower a victim, it is difficult for a victim 
to feel safe when exposing details of the assault when we feel we have lost 
power over our body and feelings.   
 
My assailant has assaulted over 30 women, and he continues to walk free.  
He has methodically planned and refined his routine for drugging and assaulting 
women.  I have read statements online from women who have described 
situations where he had rendered them unconscious before he sexually 
assaulted them.  When he is finished, he kicks them out the door, or he has 
a driver take them home so the girl can second-guess what has happened to 
her.  The law is on his side because the drugs will prevent them from 
remembering a clear picture of the assault, and he only has four years to wait 
before he is free and clear of any charges.  How do you justify this assailant 
walking free?  Because women were too scared to report the truth about their 
situation?  They needed time. 
 
Sexual assault is a crime that causes long-term damage.  Reporting the violation 
is extremely difficult to do and cannot be tethered to a time limit.  This law 
needs to be changed to allow victims the opportunity for healing and justice.  
No one expects a veteran to recover from PTSD within four years.  I feel that 
I have the strength to be here today and talk to you because I believe you will 
understand and you will empathize with the victims of sexual assault.  Changing 
this law protects us, and I know you want to protect us, because it is the right 
thing to do.  If your mother who nurtured you, your wife who supported you, 
or your daughter who you swore to protect, were standing before you and they 
had been assaulted, you would understand their pain and your choice would 
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be simple.  A vote to abolish the statute of limitations is what we need.  Please 
give me and other countless victims a day in court.  You have the power to help 
us.  I urge you to use that power for the greater good, and the good is to 
empower victims so they can become survivors. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Thank you very much for your testimony this morning.  I see no questions.  
Assemblywoman Bustamante Adams, who would you like to have testify next? 
 
Assemblywoman Bustamante Adams: 
That concludes our portion of the testimony.  Several people want to come up 
in support of this bill. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Ms. Allred, are you next?  It is a great honor to have you here at our Committee 
today.  Thank you for taking the time to be with us. 
 
Gloria Allred, Attorney, Allred, Maroko & Goldberg Law Offices, Los Angeles, 

California: 
Thank you very much for allowing me to testify in support of A.B. 212, which 
will eliminate the statute of limitations for criminal prosecution of rape in 
Nevada.  Currently, the statute in Nevada is four years, but only if a police 
report is filed within that time. 
 
I have been practicing law for almost 40 years.  During that time, I have 
represented thousands of rape and sexual assault victims in many states in the 
United States.  I currently represent many survivors who allege that this 
celebrity perpetrator raped or sexually assaulted them in Nevada.  [Ms. Allred 
continued to read from written text (Exhibit E).] 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Thank you, Ms. Allred, for sharing the stories of those four victims.  Mr. Araujo 
has a question for you. 
 
Assemblyman Araujo:  
Thank you, Ms. Lublin, for sharing your powerful testimony with us today.  
It was good to hear your perspective.  I know it takes a lot of courage to step 
forward and share your testimony.  Ms. Allred, in your expertise, do you know if 
there is any data on the states that do not have a statute of limitations, and 
how many cases are reported after four years? 
 
  

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/78th2015/Exhibits/Assembly/JUD/AJUD441E.pdf
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Gloria Allred: 
I do not have that information with me today, sir.  I will say though, even if the 
statute of limitations for criminal prosecution is changed, which would be a very 
significant change, it does not mean the cases will be prosecuted.  It will still be 
within the discretion of the prosecutor to look at the evidence and determine if 
it is possible, in their wise opinion, to prosecute a case and prove it beyond 
reasonable doubt in a court of law. 
 
Assemblyman Gardner:  
Ms. Allred, you mentioned that you have represented thousands of clients who 
have been in similar situations throughout the country.  Do you know of any 
studies regarding how difficult it is to prosecute some of these cases 20 to 
25 years after the fact? 
 
Gloria Allred: 
Probably the most accurate answer would come from district attorneys, who 
I know are here today.  The District Attorney of Clark County, for example, will 
be testifying today.  I do think it is fair to ask the question regarding whether 
there will be false reports.  I do think that the district attorney will look for 
evidence to support a case.  It is more likely that a rape will not be reported to 
law enforcement than a false claim of rape is reported.  This is because many 
alleged victims fear being victimized again by the criminal justice system or the 
civil justice system.  They fear reporting, especially if it is against a high-profile 
figure.  Of course, this law will benefit all alleged rape victims, not just those 
victimized by a celebrity.  I think the district attorneys are in a position, as is 
law enforcement, to screen out false claims.  I think it is highly unlikely that 
a victim will make a false claim and undergo the rather rigorous criminal justice 
process and the cross-examination.  Making a false claim to law enforcement is 
also a crime.  I would advise victims to seek a private attorney before going to 
law enforcement. 
 
Assemblywoman Diaz:  
How difficult is it to prove 20 to 30 years after it happened?  In my mind, when 
you report it sooner rather than later, the evidence is easier to secure for the 
case.  I am just wondering how difficult it is to prove after that amount of time 
has lapsed. 
 
Gloria Allred: 
I would concur with what I think is your underlying statement, which is that it 
would be better for rape and sexual assault victims to report earlier rather than 
later.  Sometimes victims will come to me and say, I have no evidence.  I tell 
them that their testimony is evidence; they are the complaining witness.  Let us 
not undervalue, let us instead value the fact that you have testimony that you 
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are going to give under oath after you swear to tell the truth, the whole truth, 
and nothing but the truth, so help you God.  That is evidence; will it be enough 
evidence?  Possibly.  Maybe you will have needed to go to the hospital and had 
a rape kit done.  Maybe you told others at the time, such as members of your 
family or a close friend, or possibly a therapist, rabbi, or priest.  There is a lot to 
look for, such as photos of you and the perpetrator together.  In the testimony 
that I have provided, there are photographs of the victim and the perpetrator in 
this case.  I have not held them up because that will identify the perpetrator 
that I have been talking about, and the Chairman asked me to be kind enough 
not to identify the perpetrator.  I would ask alleged rape victims not to try to be 
their own attorney and say, I do not have enough evidence, I do have evidence 
but it has been too long, or I did not do this, or do that.  Take your complaint to 
law enforcement, make the report, and then law enforcement and the district 
attorney's office can then tell you, I am sorry, we do not have enough evidence 
to proceed with the prosecution, or we do. 
 
Lise-Lotte Lublin: 
This is exactly what happened to me.  When I realized what happened, 
I thought, it has been 25 years.  What difference does it make if I say anything?  
A good friend of mine, who is a police detective, said it does not matter.  You 
need to go to the police and file a report.  You need to state what happened to 
you regardless.  I felt like there was no chance.  I would not be able to make 
a difference, but I am sitting here today.  I am trying to make a change.   
 
As an educator, I see my students suffering every day from things like this, and 
they are too afraid to talk about it.  They fear people will laugh and not believe 
them.  Some kids have told me that their parents do not believe them.  There is 
no possible way you can understand how long it takes to be able to have the 
courage to say, I want to do something about it.  I am 48 years old, and I am 
educated.  I have a master's degree.  It took me two and a half months to go 
into the police department when I realized what happened 25 years ago because 
I was scared.  When I had to send a petition to everyone on my Facebook, 
I was scared and did not send it.  I told my husband that I had done everything 
and the petition was ready.  I could not push the button because everyone was 
going to know.  Those on my Facebook are just family who understand, care, 
and support me.  I would never have dreamed that they would have come 
forward and supported me.  I thank every single one for being here, because 
I really thought it was just going to be my husband and me. 
 
Gloria Allred: 
I have one last point.  The Chief of Police of the Los Angeles Police Department 
(LAPD), Charlie Beck, recently said publicly that he wants to know what crimes 
are being committed in the City of Los Angeles.  I am paraphrasing, but it is 
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definitely the essence of what he said, which you can find online.  Even if it is 
too late for the case to be prosecuted, he wants victims to come forward.  
I took one victim of the same perpetrator I have discussed today to the 
detectives of the special victims unit of the LAPD and they interviewed her in 
a very sensitive, professional way for 90 minutes.  Later the district attorney 
said it was too late to prosecute, which we knew.  However, that was the 
Chief of Police's invitation; he wants to know what crimes have been 
committed.  If there is insufficient evidence or it is too late to prosecute, it still 
may help the police department and they would have a record.  If others report 
more promptly after the alleged rape, then the police would know that there is 
more than one alleged victim.  We need everyone to report, whether or not they 
think the crime can be prosecuted.  If there is no statute of limitations for 
criminal prosecution of rape and sexual assault in this state, victims will be 
encouraged to report. 
 
Assemblyman Wheeler: 
Ms. Allred, we seem to have made the entire testimony about one alleged 
perpetrator and obviously, for whatever reasons, we have not heard yet about 
others.  Can you tell us, do you have any statistics on how many overall victims 
come forward after the statute of limitations has run out?  We do not usually 
make law over one perpetrator, so I am wondering overall how many do we 
have? 
 
Gloria Allred: 
My guess is that the rape crisis centers and district attorneys will have those 
statistics.  My testimony today was about one alleged perpetrator; however, 
most rapes and sexual assaults are by other perpetrators, and this will benefit 
so many other victims in the state of Nevada.  I generally do not represent 
anyone from Nevada with some exceptions, but I would venture a guess that 
the rape crisis center would have the answer to that. 
 
Assemblyman Wheeler: 
Are you licensed to practice law in Nevada? 
 
Gloria Allred: 
No, I am not.  However, when I have a case, I petition the court to be admitted 
pro hac vice, as I have a spotless record in the state of California.  I am also 
licensed in the state of New York and Washington, D.C.  I have been admitted 
pro hac vice in many states, including recently in Connecticut, where 
I represented five rape survivors involving the University of Connecticut.  To be 
clear, I am not representing those in Nevada for filing a lawsuit, but for allowing 
them to understand what their options are. 
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Chairman Hansen: 
I would suspect few would challenge your credibility. 
 
Assemblyman Gardner: 
This question is for Assemblywoman Bustamante Adams.  I want to make sure 
that if we lift the statute of limitations, it will not lead to revictimization of these 
victims.  The women will be able to decide whether to go forward with 
prosecution. 
 
Assemblywoman Bustamante Adams: 
Yes, that is correct. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Thank you for your testimony, Ms. Allred, and it is a great honor to have you 
testify in our Committee today.  Actually, I do have one quick question for 
you.  If we remove this statute of limitations—you specifically mentioned 
four different victims—would it be your intention, if this were lifted, to submit 
for possible prosecution these four cases to the Clark County District Attorney? 
 
Gloria Allred: 
That would certainly be up to the alleged victims.  That is something I would 
have to discuss with them.  In addition, these only deal with the criminal 
prosecution.  Many of them are also barred from filing a civil lawsuit.  That 
would be a question for this Legislature at another time. 
 
Assemblyman Elliot T. Anderson: 
Can we have legal counsel answer that question?  I am not sure that we can 
constitutionally apply it if the statute of limitations has already expired. 
 
Brad Wilkinson, Committee Counsel: 
Assemblyman Anderson is correct.  That is addressed in section 5 of the bill.  
By its terms, this bill does not apply to crimes if the statute of limitations has 
already expired.  We would not be reviving the statute for crimes where the 
statute of limitations has already expired due to constitutional reasons. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
An unfortunate discovery.  Thank you both for your testimony this morning. 
 
Kristy Oriol, representing Nevada Network Against Domestic Violence: 
I am the policy specialist with the Nevada Network Against Domestic Violence.  
We are here today in strong support of A.B. 212.  I could not have expressed 
our support and the importance of this piece of legislation more eloquently than 
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the constituent that spoke today.  I will just refer you to my written testimony, 
which explains our support (Exhibit F).  I am open for any questions. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Those of you in Clark County who would like to testify in favor of A.B. 212, 
please come forward.  In addition, Carson City testifiers please come up. 
 
Daniele Dreitzer, Executive Director, The Rape Crisis Center, Las Vegas, 

Nevada: 
We are here in strong support of A.B. 212.  [Submitted letter of support 
(Exhibit G).]  Ms. Allred's testimony regarding various victims, as well as the 
constituents that spoke, showed the Committee how critical this bill is. 
 
Victims regularly call into our hotline asking questions regarding filing a report, 
even if the assault happened when they were children.  Many of them are now 
in their 20s and 30s.  It is a very empowering experience for a victim to have 
the opportunity to attempt to seek justice.  We certainly recognize and explain 
to these people that having a lack of evidence from an incident that happened 
so many years ago can have an effect on the ability to prosecute.  Just the 
opportunity to report the crime, to name the perpetrator, and see if there is 
a way that things can move forward, is a strong and empowering experience for 
victims. 
 
I would also ask the Committee to take into consideration the many reasons 
people do not come forward.  It often can be a family member who was their 
perpetrator, and now he or she recognizes that the perpetrator may have access 
to the next generation of family members.  At that point, the victim says, Now I 
have to say something because I am trying to protect the next generation.  
However, the victim may have lost the opportunity because the statute of 
limitations prohibits it.  Another common scenario is, the perpetrator could be 
the uncle and the victim waits for the grandmother to pass away because she 
does not want the grandmother to go through the trauma.  There are so many 
different scenarios and situations that we see and hear on a regular basis.  The 
elimination of the statute would offer a potential remedy for these victims. 
 
Chuck Callaway, Police Director, Office of Intergovernmental Services, 

Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department: 
We are here today in support of A.B. 212.  Studies show that sexual assaults 
often go unreported for a variety of reasons, which have already been stated.  
It is a very serious crime, and we do encourage victims to report these crimes.  
We want to get an accurate picture of what is occurring in our community.  
We want to know the hard numbers of what types of crimes are occurring, and 
it helps us when victims have the ability to come forward.  As was stated 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/78th2015/Exhibits/Assembly/JUD/AJUD441F.pdf
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earlier, we also want to know when someone has been previously accused of 
a crime of this nature and now they are being accused again.  This helps us to 
see a pattern when investigating these cases. 
 
John T. Jones, Jr., representing Nevada District Attorneys Association: 
You have heard some powerful testimony this morning.  We are here in support 
of A.B. 212.  I want to thank Assemblywoman Bustamante Adams for bringing 
this piece of legislation forward.  There are a couple of points I would like to 
make.  One is that victims do not always act in the same way with respect 
to traumatic events such as these.  Oftentimes we have cases reported after 
victims find out they are not alone.  My second point is that the prosecutors 
have to prove these cases beyond a reasonable doubt in court.  Just because 
you remove the statute of limitations, it does not mean we will automatically 
obtain a conviction.  The defendant would have every other trial right available 
to them. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
This law was visited back in 1997 when there was an attempt to push it 
beyond four years.  Do you have any idea why it has not previously been 
pushed beyond four years and why it has not been addressed until now? 
 
John T. Jones, Jr: 
Unfortunately, I cannot answer that question.  I do know that last session we 
increased the statute of limitations to 35 and 40 years, if the crime was 
committed in a secret manner on juveniles.  There have also been successful 
attempts in the past to increase the statute of limitations of various other 
crimes. 
 
Assemblyman Wheeler: 
I know there are other statutes where the statute of limitations does not start 
until you know about the crime.  Does NRS Chapter 171 have any provision for 
situations such as suppressed memory, et cetera?  I know there are some 
felonies that, for whatever reason, you do not know about the crime but maybe 
20 years later you find out about it, and that is when the statute of limitations 
begins.  Is this particular one like that? 
 
John T. Jones, Jr: 
The way I read the statute, it is four years, period.  With juvenile crimes, such 
as when the victim is under the age of 16, there is a secret manner exception.  
For adults, it is four years.  If a victim is unconscious and does not know what 
occurred, there would be no remedy after the four-year statute of limitations. 
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Assemblyman Thompson:  
At what time in the investigative period is the alleged perpetrator acknowledged 
or named?  You want to be sure that the crime is substantiated before the 
person is named. 
 
John T. Jones, Jr: 
If the perpetrator is known, they would be named at the time the police report is 
filed.  In some instances, the victim does not know the perpetrator. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Mr. Lublin mentioned that he had been a victim himself.  How many of the 
victims are male? 
 
John T. Jones, Jr: 
Unfortunately, I do not have that statistic with me.  I can consult with my 
colleagues and get an answer for you later. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
We focused mainly on women, but there are other victims as well, and we do 
not want to leave them out of the concerns being expressed here today. 
 
Eric Spratley, Lieutenant, Legislative Services, Washoe County Sheriff's Office: 
I am here in support of A.B. 212.  I thank Assemblywoman Bustamante Adams 
for bringing this bill forward for the protection of the victims in our state.  
As Director Callaway stated, no matter what happens with this bill, we hope 
that the victims in this state will come forward and file a report for these crimes 
committed against them.  As you have heard in testimony today, reporting 
these crimes continues to help us in the law enforcement realm and the 
prosecution as well. 
 
Assemblyman Gardner:  
Do we know of any studies or statistics regarding perpetrators who are 
prosecuted 10, 15, or 20 years after the alleged crime?  How many of those 
prosecutions are successful and how hard it is to prosecute?  I am trying to 
calculate how much of a benefit we will be giving the victims with this bill. 
 
John T. Jones, Jr: 
As with most cases, time does not necessarily help a case.  Some cases can 
still be quite strong after a period of time has gone by, especially if there is 
video evidence or some other type of corroboration of a testimony.  I do not 
have specific statistics, but I can ask our sexual victims unit what their 
experiences have been and report back to you. 
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Assemblyman Ohrenschall: 
Is it true that a lot of these statutes of limitations were adopted by state's 
legislatures long before the wonders of DNA technology? 
 
John T. Jones, Jr: 
That is correct.  We do have resources available to us today that could 
potentially help build a case even after a number of years have passed since the 
occurrence.  It does not mean that those resources are available in every case 
or that the evidence will be present in every case.  It at least gives us the ability 
to evaluate a case and determine if we can prove it beyond a reasonable doubt. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Are there any further questions?  [There were none.]  Does anyone else wish to 
testify in favor of A.B. 212? 
 
Robert Roshak, Executive Director, Nevada Sheriffs' and Chiefs' Association: 
We would like to go on the record in support of this legislation. 
 
Brett Kandt, Special Assistant Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General: 
I am here to express our support of A.B. 212.  Regarding the question about the 
incidence of rape or sexual assault among males, according to the Rape, Abuse, 
and Incest Network, about 3 percent of American men or 1 in 33 have 
experienced an attempted or completed rape in their lifetime.  About 
2.78 million men in America have been victims of sexual assault or rape. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Are there any more questions for Mr. Kandt or Mr. Roshak? 
 
Assemblyman O'Neill: 
Mr. Chairman, can I ask Assemblywoman Bustamante Adams to come back up 
for a question?  I apologize for calling you back up, Assemblywoman, but we 
have been talking about sexual assault victims and giving them the exemption 
from the statute of limitations.  There were conversations about child abuse 
victims who do not come out until years later, but they only have the limitation 
to 35 years.  Would you consider an amendment on children who are not 
sexually abused but physically abused being included in this bill?  Do you think 
there would be value in that? 
 
Assemblywoman Bustamante Adams: 
Yes, I would be open to the conversation. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Is there anyone else in Carson City who wishes to testify in favor of A.B. 212? 
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Jolene Dille, Intern, Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada, and representing 

the National Associations of Social Workers, Nevada Chapter: 
In the interest of not repeating what has already been testified, we all know 
there are numerous reasons victims do not come forward at the time of their 
alleged assault or within the statute of limitations.  Currently as the statute 
stands, it only serves to protect the perpetrator and not the victim.  
As previously stated, there are times when a victim does not come forward until 
a next generation has potentially become victims.  I want to express our support 
of A.B. 212 in protecting victims rather than perpetrators. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Is there anyone in Las Vegas wishing to testify?  [There was no one.]  We will 
now open the hearing to anyone who would like to testify in opposition 
to A.B. 212. 
 
Lisa Rassmussen, representing Nevada Attorneys for Criminal Justice: 
The current statute is written very liberally compared to other states.  We have 
an almost unlimited statute of limitations if someone has filed a police report.  
One thing that was written in the digest of this bill was that there is a backlog 
in the labs for processing DNA.  Anytime there is DNA involved, there has 
already been a police report generated.  That essentially opens up an unlimited 
statute of limitations.  What you are now talking about is allowing people to 
come forward years later, make an allegation, and generate a prosecution.  
What I would say to all of you is be careful what you ask for.  I understand the 
victims and their heartfelt testimony, but you must also think about whether 
you would want to be in a position where someone is saying 35 years later that 
someone did this to her.  I would encourage you to give that some thought and 
contemplate that we already have a very liberal statute of limitations. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Are there any questions for Ms. Rasmussen?  [There were none.]  Is there 
anyone who would like to testify in the neutral position? 
 
Vanessa Spinazola, Legislative and Advocacy Director, American Civil Liberties 

Union of Nevada: 
Our statute of limitations serve an important function in the justice system.  
They permit both the prosecution and the defendants to try the case before the 
evidence becomes stale.  As more time lapses, it becomes increasingly difficult 
for the accused to prepare a meaningful defense.  Memories are lost, witnesses 
die, and exculpatory evidence is no longer available.  Not everyone who is 
accused of a crime is guilty.  People are innocent until proven guilty in America.  
A statute of limitations provides important protections for the innocent.  
We understand the problems of survivors of rape.  We understand the courage 
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required by survivors to come forward.  We believe a better policy position 
would be to have a full discussion of sex education in our classrooms so that 
people, including perpetrators, are aware of boundaries and issues of consent.  
We will be tracking the other sex education bills during the session.  Depending 
on what happens with those bills, we may change our position later.  At this 
time, we are neutral regarding this bill. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
I have a concern with the open-ended aspect of this bill.  Is there a position that 
the ACLU has taken on what a reasonable statute of limitations may be beyond 
the four years? 
 
Vanessa Spinazola: 
We do not have an exact time frame.  I believe a longer period of years would 
be preferable to an open-ended statute in this case.  Unlike murder where the 
victim is dead, cases of rape turn into a he-said, she-said scenario, so it is very 
difficult to determine.  There is a lot of research on how memories change over 
time.  I could look at some analyses from other states, but at this time, we do 
not have a policy preference on the number of years. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Is there anyone else who would like to testify in the neutral position?  [There 
was no one.]  I will invite Assemblywoman Bustamante Adams to give closing 
testimony at this time. 
 
Assemblywoman Bustamante Adams: 
The passage of A.B. 212 will not change how detectives work the cases or how 
the district attorney prosecutes them, but it will allow justice to be served in the 
eyes of the law.  In a perfect world, you could report the assault within 
the four years, but that is not the case.  I ask you to consider removing the 
statute of limitations for all those victims that would be able to come forth and 
file a report.  Yes, it would be difficult to get the evidence; that is not the point.  
The point is to allow them to be heard and to have their opportunity to seek 
justice in the eyes of the law. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Thank you, Assemblywoman Bustamante Adams, for your excellent 
presentation this morning.  We will now close the hearing on A.B. 212.  We will 
take a two-minute recess [at 9:22 a.m. ]  
 
[The Chairman resumed the meeting at 9:25 a.m.]. 
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Assembly Bill 193:  Makes various changes relating to criminal procedure. 

(BDR 14-911) 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
We will now open the hearing on Assembly Bill 193.  Mr. Jackson, will you 
begin? 
 
Mark B. Jackson, District Attorney, Douglas County District Attorney's Office: 
I am the President of the Nevada District Attorney's Association.  I would like to 
begin by having the Chairman recognize and the record reflect that there are 
12 elected district attorneys present today.  We have Jason Woodbury, 
Carson City District Attorney; Steve Wolfson, Clark County District Attorney; 
Michael Macdonald, Humboldt County District Attorney; Ted Herrera, 
Lander County District Attorney; Daniel Hooge, Lincoln County 
District Attorney; Stephen Rye, Lyon County District Attorney; Sean Rowe, 
Mineral County District Attorney; Angela Bello, Nye County District Attorney; 
Bryce Shields, Pershing County District Attorney; Christopher Hicks, 
Washoe County District Attorney; and  Michael Wheable, White Pine County 
District Attorney.  Anne Langer, Storey County District Attorney, had a vehicle 
break down on the way to this hearing.  We are also expecting Arthur Mallory, 
Churchill County District Attorney. 
 
I ask the Chairman to reserve time for rebuttal at the conclusion of the 
opposition testimony.  I would like to introduce at this time Steven Wolfson, 
Clark County Office of the District Attorney, and Christopher Lalli, Assistant 
District Attorney, Office of the District Attorney, who will walk the Committee 
through the particular sections and amendments of the bill (Exhibit H). 
 
Steven Wolfson, District Attorney, Office of the District Attorney, Clark County: 
Christopher Lalli, Assistant Deputy Director, will be helping me with this 
PowerPoint presentation (Exhibit I).  I believe that A.B. 193 is probably the 
single most important bill for Nevada's criminal justice system in the last 
20 years.  As you recognized by the support of my colleagues (Exhibit J), I think 
that speaks volumes for its importance.  
 
I will begin with A.B. 193, section 1.  This bill helps victims of crimes.  We are 
fortunate to be following the last bill, where there was so much emphasis on 
victims.  This bill will result in the savings of money, and it will help battle 
violent crime and protect Nevada tourist destinations.  It will also bring Nevada 
in line with the majority of other states.  Forty-seven other states have 
preliminary hearings and 36 of those states already do what we are asking this 
Committee to allow us to do.  That would be to allow hearsay at preliminary 
hearings and grand jury presentments.  This bill does not deprive criminal 
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defendants of any constitutional right, such as the right of confrontation or 
cross-examination.  This bill will not cost our counties more money; in fact, it 
will result in a savings.  This bill will not cause more felony cases to go to trial.  
Obviously, Clark County is where I am from, so my comments are addressed 
primarily to the situations in that county.  There are a finite number of judges in 
Clark County.  We can only present so many cases to the district court level for 
trial.  Anyone who says this will cause more cases to go to district court or 
more trials, I do not believe that will be the case at all. 
 
I would like to review the steps needed to have a case go to trial.  It can go to 
trial in one of two ways.  We have either a preliminary hearing or a grand jury 
presentment.  Those are called probable cause hearings.  Before any felony 
jury trial can be conducted, there must be a showing of probable cause at either 
the preliminary hearing or at the grand jury presentment.  The state must show 
there is probable cause, and they must show that the person charged is the 
person who committed the crime. 
 
Witnesses are summoned to court by a subpoena.  A subpoena is a document 
that is a command to appear at a judicial proceeding and to give testimony in 
a certain matter.  I have 110 district attorneys in my criminal division who issue 
subpoenas every day.  When a deputy district attorney receives a file, they 
determine which witnesses they need for a preliminary hearing or grand jury 
presentment.  Under the current status of the law, it is not uncommon to 
present multiple witnesses at a preliminary hearing or grand jury presentment.  
Sometimes five to ten witnesses can be served a subpoena and will be paid to 
appear in court.  These would be lay witnesses as well as law enforcement 
officers.  Many of these witnesses are local, but they can come from all over 
the United States and the world. 
 
Las Vegas and Reno are international destinations; witnesses from outside the 
United States are common.  International witnesses pose a particular problem.  
Thieves target the Las Vegas Strip for the international visitors every single day.  
Our criminals have become very sophisticated.  They know that in Las Vegas, if 
they trick-roll or commit a crime against an international visitor, we will most 
likely not bring the visitor back to testify.  Often, they do not want to travel 
back to Las Vegas two or three times. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Mr. Wolfson, would you define trick-roll? 
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Steven Wolfson: 
Trick-roll is a street term for when a working girl or prostitute lures her victim to 
a room and then either by drugs or when the victim goes to the restroom, she 
will steal his money or property. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Thank you, Mr. Wolfson.  For the purpose of the record, I thought it was 
important to define that term. 
 
Steven Wolfson: 
The point is, our criminals have become very sophisticated in recognizing that 
the Office of the District Attorney most often will not bring international victims 
back to Las Vegas because of the cost, and the victim does not want to travel 
back for a preliminary hearing and then a trial.  This bill will eliminate the need 
for the international victim to appear for preliminary hearings.  It will allow 
a detective or an officer with knowledge of the victim's testimony to testify 
what they reported.  The victim will be brought back for trial, so it is not 
a deprivation of any constitutional right to persons accused of committing 
crimes. 
 
A round trip airfare ticket from Sydney, Australia is almost $1500; from Rome, 
Italy it is almost $3,000.  The cost involved in bringing these witnesses back is 
extraordinary.  We would have to bring them back twice under the current 
status of the law.  Under what we are proposing, they would have to come 
back only for trial. 
 
I would now like to turn the presentation over to Christopher Lalli. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Before you proceed, we are discussing the friendly amendment from the 
Nevada District Attorney's Association, correct?  You are all here to support 
the amended version of the bill? 
 
Christopher J. Lalli, Assistant District Attorney, Office of the District Attorney, 

Clark County: 
That is correct.  The gist of the bill is to allow one witness to testify for multiple 
witnesses.  That is what a hearsay preliminary hearing provides for.  The effect 
is to streamline the preliminary hearing process.  It would allow fewer witnesses 
to testify at the preliminary hearing.  Once a case goes to trial, all the necessary 
witnesses would testify.  This does not affect a defendant's trial rights in any 
way.  This is a pretrial change to the procedure.  It would allow the 
investigating detective to testify about the results of a forensic examination by 
using the forensic report and admitting that into evidence during the preliminary 
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hearing.  Thus, it would not be necessary to bring the forensic examiner in to 
testify.  The investigating detective would be able to play a recording or read 
a handwritten voluntary statement given by a witness in the investigation, 
instead of bringing the witness to court.  We would still be able to subpoena 
and offer the live testimony of a witness if we felt it were important. 
 
If, after reviewing a case, we questioned the veracity of a witness and we 
wanted to bring that witness into court to cross-examine them under oath on 
the stand, there is nothing in A.B. 193 that would prevent us from doing that.  
It makes a more streamlined hearing. 
 
The function of a preliminary hearing is to do two things: to establish if there 
was probable cause to believe a crime occurred and probable cause that the 
person charged committed the crime.  This is done in the majority of 
jurisdictions in the United States.  Forty-seven states provide preliminary 
hearings.  Of those states, 36 allow hearsay at the preliminary hearings and 
grand jury presentments.  The passage of A.B. 193 will align Nevada with the 
majority of states on this issue.  This is constitutionally permissible.  It has been 
challenged in other states and found to be permissible. 
 
With respect to cost, Mr. Wolfson indicated that this is a cost-effective 
measure.  I would like to present some insight into the Clark County 
District Attorney's Office.  In fiscal year (FY) 2014, we spent $444,000 in 
witness fees for jury trials, preliminary hearings, and grand jury presentments.  
These figures are for all proceedings.  Approximately two-thirds, or 66 percent, 
represent what we paid out for preliminary hearings and grand jury 
presentments.  Over $300,000 was paid out in mileage, approximately 
$500,000 in airfare to bring witnesses to testify, and approximately $70,000 in 
lodging.  In FY 2013, witness fees were over $500,000; airfare, $450,000; and 
mileage was over $350,000.  These figures will be drastically reduced if this bill 
passes. 
 
It is not just a reduction in our budget but also a reduction in costs for other 
organizations.  The Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department (LVMPD) would 
not need to send a forensic analyst to preliminary hearings.  There currently is 
a backlog at the LVMPD's forensic laboratory.  Instead of sending forensic 
analysts to preliminary hearings, those analysts could be at the lab working on 
that backlog.  Currently they have to send samples to a lab in Philadelphia at 
a tremendous cost.  Also the coroner's office would not need to send a forensic 
pathologist to a preliminary hearing.  There is savings to the casino industry, 
both in Reno and Las Vegas, where security officers and surveillance operators 
are needed for many cases and would not have to testify at a preliminary 
hearing. 
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Mr. Wolfson has already addressed the condition of the Las Vegas Strip and the 
significant number of international tourists in Las Vegas.  When an international 
visitor becomes a victim of crime, that case is often not prosecuted by our 
office because of the cost associated with bringing that victim back and forth to 
court.  Yesterday, the head of our Special Victims Unit was in my office, and 
we were discussing whether to bring a victim from Europe in for a sexual 
assault case.  The cost, which we ended up approving, was $4,000.  
International visitors stand out because of the way they dress, how they talk, 
how they carry themselves.  Criminals prey on international visitors because 
they know that they are more vulnerable and that we seldom bring them back 
for preliminary hearings.  We try to find solutions to this in Clark County.  
We have started a program with the LVMPD.  We try to get them in front of the 
grand jury before they leave so that at least we can get a case started.  
However, this program has largely been ineffective.  Assembly Bill 193 will 
allow us to reach these cases which until now have been unreachable.  If you 
get the opportunity to ride down the Strip with LVMPD, you will be mortified by 
what you see going on in our backyard. 
 
Steven Wolfson: 
This is a victims' rights bill.  In many ways, the criminal justice system 
discriminates against victims.  One way it does that is by requiring them to 
relive this traumatic event multiple times.  I cannot emphasize how traumatic it 
can be for victims of any crime, especially one of a violent nature, as we 
witnessed this morning by the testimony of a victim on the previous bill.  This 
revictimization is done many times.  The first time is when they have to tell their 
story to a police officer, then they have to give a recorded statement, and they 
have to appear in front of a crowded courtroom with strangers.  If we allow 
hearsay at preliminary hearings and grand jury presentments, they will not have 
to testify multiple times. 
 
Finally, A.B. 193 will help us combat violent crime.  I meet with the sheriff in 
Clark County once a month and, oftentimes, it turns into once or twice a week 
to talk about the things that we have in common.  What he shared with me is 
that violent crime is up in Clark County by about 8 percent.  In addition, there is 
a significant increase of as much as 19 percent in robberies and assaults.  
Murder is up 13 percent.  These are crimes against people who have to come 
forward and testify.  Assembly Bill 193, with the amendment, allows us to 
combat these violent criminals in a more efficient manner without depriving 
anybody of any constitutional right. 
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Chairman Hansen: 
We have a few questions for you.  I hope someone will give us a brief overview 
of the 13 sections of the bill.  Remember, this is not a financial committee.  It is 
a policy committee, and while economic considerations, especially international 
tourism, are huge, we have to balance that against proper due process concerns 
for everyone including the ordinary citizens of Nevada. 
 
Assemblyman Wheeler: 
Preliminary hearings are an important part of our Seventh Amendment right.  
What bothers me about this is we have talked about the savings to the county.  
What about the defendant who is sent to trial because of hearsay evidence that 
under our current system would not be sent to trial?  What about the cost to 
them, not just in money, but also in time, trouble, and reputation because 
hearsay evidence is allowed in a preliminary hearing? 
 
Mark Jackson: 
It is important to note that there is no constitutional right to a preliminary 
hearing; it is a statutory right that has been created.  The fact that Nevada has 
preliminary examinations exceeds the requirements of the Fourth Amendment as 
recognized by the United States Supreme Court in Gerstein v. Pugh 
420 U.S..103 (1975).  The Supreme Court has concluded that although the 
Fourth Amendment requires a judicial determination of probable cause as 
a prerequisite to a restraint on liberty, adversary proceedings are not necessary.  
A probable cause hearing according to the Nevada Supreme Court in a case 
such as Sheriff v. Middleton 112 Nev. 956 (1996), states that it is based upon 
slight, even marginal evidence that a crime may have been committed and that 
the defendant may have been involved in some capacity in the commission of 
that particular crime. 
 
I have been doing this for almost 25 years: 10 years as a criminal defense 
attorney and over 14 years as a prosecutor.  I have conducted, on both sides, 
hundreds of preliminary examinations.  The statutes as they currently read, and 
will not be changed pursuant to the amendments to this bill under 
Nevada Revised Statutes Chapter 171, are that the defense can present 
evidence at a preliminary examination.  In my 25 years, I have never seen 
a single witness or single piece of evidence presented by the defense at a 
probable cause determination.  These hearings are very limited in scope and our 
Nevada Supreme Court has recognized as early as 1962, and in Marcum v. 
Sheriff 85 Nev. 175 (1969) in 1968 that a preliminary hearing is not a mini trial.  
It is not a substitute for trial.  A full exploration of all facets of the case is 
reserved for trial.  Our Supreme Court in Nevada recognized in 2006 that the 
confrontation clause does not apply to preliminary hearings. 
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There is no due process associated with allowing hearsay to occur.  
For example, a child molestation victim, a sexual assault victim, or a domestic 
violence strangulation victim, who has been victimized and has to pour his or 
her heart out, who has told an officer, perhaps that interview has been 
recorded.  Then the officer, or the mother of the child who heard her child talk 
about the neighbor that molested her child, could come forward and testify on 
behalf of that child or victim.  About two months ago in Douglas County, 
we had a violent crime involving a child, and the child refused to get on 
the witness stand at the preliminary examination.  He hid behind the seats in the 
gallery and hugged his mother's lower leg because of the fear.  I am not saying 
this would not have been overcome by the time of the potential jury trial.  
Justice is a double-edged sword, and it swings both ways.  No constitutional 
rights are denied them by having hearsay admitted at the preliminary hearing.  
The sword also swings for the victims.  Victims in the state of Nevada have 
constitutional rights under Article 1 of the Constitution of the State of Nevada 
as well as a victim’s bill of rights as set forth under NRS Chapter 178. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
To clarify for the Committee, hearsay only applies to the preliminary stage? 
 
Mark B. Jackson: 
That is not exactly true.  This bill only applies to the preliminary hearing and 
grand jury.  I believe there are 26 recognized exceptions to the hearsay rule 
under the current rules of evidence.  There are exceptions such as present 
sense impression and excited utterances, which are already exceptions to the 
hearsay rule and could come in and be admissible at trial. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
As far as this bill goes, we are dealing exclusively with preliminary hearings, 
correct? 
 
Steven Wolfson: 
Yes, and grand juries. 
 
Assemblyman Elliot T. Anderson: 
Congratulations for getting trick-roll on the record.  I want to talk about hearsay, 
because hearsay is more than confrontation rights.  We keep talking about the 
Nevada Constitution, and that is important, but Irving Younger would probably 
be a little concerned that we were talking about hearsay, not for the 
confrontation rights but for the reliability of having good evidence.  I know he 
was concerned whether this evidence would be reliable.  We want people to be 
there not just for confrontation but so we can parcel out the evidence, just as 



Assembly Committee on Judiciary 
March 13, 2015 
Page 27 
 
we do up here.  We have different sides that question our witnesses so we can 
get good information and make good decisions. 
 
I am starting from a difficult place on hearsay, and I hope you can respect that.  
It has nothing to do with the witnesses, the victims, or the defense, but just to 
get to the truth of what happened.  That is very important to me.  I am 
concerned about our international visitors; I agree with you, I think it is very 
important that we keep our economy strong, that we protect them.  This bill is 
drafted a lot more broadly; it would be one thing for me if you came with a bill 
that said we could admit hearsay for international visitors.  Even then, I do not 
understand why you have to bring them more than once.  I think that is covered 
under Rule 804 of the Federal Rules of Evidence, which I believe are 
substantially the same in Nevada.  If the declarant is unavailable and you have 
an under-oath testimony at a prior proceeding, which I believe the preliminary 
hearing would qualify, would the declarant-unavailable exception to hearsay 
apply at trial? 
 
Steve Wolfson: 
The international person who does not want to come back would not qualify as 
a person who is unavailable.  There are limited circumstances where you can 
use a person's testimony a second time, but those would not qualify. 
 
In response to Assemblyman Wheeler's question, we still provide full discovery 
to the defendants and their lawyers.  Even if we admit hearsay at preliminary 
hearings, the accused and their lawyers have all the witness statements, the 
police reports, the forensic evidence, and all the evidence that far exceeds what 
we are required to do pursuant to statute.  Nevada Revised Statutes 
(NRS) 171.1965 requires us to provide a certain number of things, but in 
Clark County, we give full discovery.  Even though the victim of a crime may 
not physically appear, if you accept this bill, their previously provided statement 
or recorded statement is provided to the defendant and his lawyer.  They have 
the right to call witnesses at a preliminary hearing.  We do not want to put an 
uncredible witness before a jury trial without testing that witness's credibility as 
well.  Sometimes, we will have a child testify because we want to know how 
that child will testify at trial. 
 
Assemblyman Elliot T. Anderson:  
I am wondering why we have to write this bill so broadly.  Why not say in cases 
where you have an international visitor outside of a certain mileage you can use 
one level of hearsay and the police report?  I am concerned about how broadly 
this bill is written. 
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Steven Wolfson: 
I would be open to a discussion to narrow the scope of this hearsay bill.  
I would not say just international because I think most of our victims come from 
all over the country and it can be just as costly.  If we could have a discussion 
about out-of-state witnesses, I think it would be better. 
 
Assemblywoman Seaman: 
Mr. Jackson, with the current law not including the hearsay rule, how many 
times would a child have to be revictimized by testifying at the preliminary 
hearing and trial? 
 
Mark B. Jackson: 
There are limited exceptions dealing with a child victim's information being 
given.  In Douglas County, with respect to preliminary hearings, in 
approximately 75 percent of those cases we have to put the child on during the 
preliminary hearing, notwithstanding that an interview was recorded, audio and 
visual.  In our sexual assault and domestic violence cases, it is almost 
100 percent. 
 
Assemblyman Araujo: 
It appears that the state may, but is not required to, present exculpatory or 
inconsistent statements to the grand jury.  Is that accurate? 
 
Steven Wolfson: 
We are required to provide exculpatory evidence first to the defendant and his 
lawyer, and then are required to present it at a grand jury presentment. 
 
Assemblyman Ohrenschall: 
Often, we have bills at the Legislature that may pass constitutional muster, 
but that does not necessarily mean they will be good policy.  While I have many 
concerns about this bill, the main issue is that it eliminates the screening 
function served by our justice courts and by the preliminary examination.  
The first bill we talked about referred to laws before the technology we now 
have.  Our justice courts in the urban areas have very qualified attorneys; it is 
not like in the past when we had lay people serving.  My concern is that we are 
eliminating checks and balances and what is going to happen is that we will be 
flooding the district courts with issues that could have been settled at the 
justice court level. 
 
When you look at indigent defendants who are not able to post a bond, this will 
create jail overcrowding.  People will be held in jail waiting for trial and having 
issues with exculpatory evidence about motions to suppress resolved at the 
district court that could have been resolved at the justice court.  We often hear 
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at the Legislature, If it is not broke, why fix it?  I wonder what the issue is now 
that is suddenly bringing this bill to light? 
 
Mark B. Jackson: 
It is broken.  If you look at the annotations under NRS Chapter 171 dealing with 
the preliminary examinations, you will see a long list of cases dealing 
with delays in preliminary hearings based upon the unavailability of witnesses.  
It can happen for many reasons, especially if the defendants exercise their rights 
to a preliminary hearing within the 15 days.  As an example, we are required to 
put on forensic evidence and the criminal has a multitude of other subpoenas 
and conflicts with their testimony on that same date.  There are also delays in 
preliminary hearings because of the docket.  To the contrary, in the research 
that I have done in those states that allow hearsay, it takes care of all the 
issues that concern you.  It does speed up the process.  It is a limited process 
about dealing with the restraints on these liberties.  However, even the 
U.S. Supreme Court in the Gerstein case said that the probable cause 
determination could be made on hearsay and written testimony.  We are always 
going to look at the Constitution. 
 
In regard to your comments about the ability of a justice of the peace to be able 
to act as a screening process, I am speaking for all of the district attorneys who 
are present here who are united and stand unanimously in support of A.B. 193.  
The most important process and function is always the charging decision by 
a district attorney's office.  It is not our duty to seek convictions; it is our duty 
to see that justice is served.  Once we make that charging decision, whether 
the case is dismissed later on or whether the person is found guilty, we cannot 
un-ring the bell.  I spent a lot of time speaking with the district attorneys across 
the state.  We talked about that and the importance of making the proper 
charging decision.  We are just one step in that particular process.  The burden 
of slight, even marginal, evidence that needs to be presented at a preliminary 
hearing is not even a speed bump along the way.  It is a simple showing to 
establish that.  This is truly a victim's bill.  This is to prevent the victim from 
having to go through the process multiple times. 
 
Assemblyman Ohrenschall: 
I am looking at section 1, subsections 6 and 9, page 4, in the proposed 
amendment they are subsections 7 and 10, about all the evidence that is 
relevant to the existence of probable cause and the lack of the ability to file 
a motion to suppress based on that evidence.  I am very concerned about the 
defendant's lack of ability to bring up exculpatory evidence and the lack of 
ability to file those motions to suppress.  I question the policy decision in terms 
of, if that evidence is there and if there is a possible successful motion that 
could be filed at the justice court level, making such a delay until it gets to 
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district court would very likely increase our beds at the county jail until that can 
happen. 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
In regard to the motions to suppress evidence, if we are challenging the 
voluntariness of the defendant's statement, those types of motions are properly 
heard at the trial level for a number of reasons.  The main reason is, oftentimes, 
it requires evidentiary hearings.  A preliminary hearing and the role of a justice 
court is very limited.  They are there to determine whether there is probable 
cause to believe a crime occurred. 
 
Assemblyman Ohrenschall: 
I understand, Mr. Lalli, but you have seen charges dismissed following 
a preliminary hearing, is that not correct? 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
I have but with respect to….  
 
Assemblyman Ohrenschall: 
Pardon me for interrupting you, but those charges would be going on to district 
court and to me it seems like a toll on our judicial economy and resources. 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
They are, but my point is, those types of motions require the development of 
a record.  The proper venue is in district court where an evidentiary hearing can 
be held and the facts can be developed both by the defense and the state 
relevant to those issues.  Importantly, the citizens of this state have made the 
decision to enact a court of appeals.  You now have the ability, if the defendant 
or the state does not agree with the trial court's ruling, to solicit the court of 
appeals if you disagree with the district court's decision.  From there you can 
take it to the Supreme Court.  Therefore, there are plenty of opportunities 
where a defendant can challenge the constitutionality of a search or 
voluntariness of his statement to the police.  The least appropriate place for that 
to happen is in a justice court where the fact relevant to that inquiry has not 
been developed. 
 
Assemblyman Ohrenschall: 
I think we are very lucky to have the new court of appeals, but my fear is that 
while that process is going on, how many beds are going to be occupied when 
something like this could have been resolved in justice court, as it is being done 
now? 
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Assemblyman Gardner: 
It is my understanding this puts us in line with federal grand juries.  
The preliminary hearing is never meant to be a mini trial; it is supposed to be for 
the purpose of deciding probable cause.  Is that the point of the bill?  
 
Steven Wolfson: 
You hit the nail on the head.  It brings us in line with what they do in the federal 
criminal justice system and what 37 other states currently do. 
 
Assemblywoman Diaz: 
Mr. Jackson, you mentioned that this would speed up the process.  
My question is, it speeds up the process in whose favor?  Not all defendants are 
created equal; not everyone has the education that you gentlemen have, and so 
when you rush the process and take hearsay that can be admitted into the trial 
later and the people do not understand what everything they are saying really 
means, I am troubled by this notion. 
 
Mark B. Jackson: 
Those specific incidences I was talking about, you would put on the prosecutor. 
Under the current status of the law, the prosecutor makes a motion to continue 
the preliminary hearing because they do not have witnesses who are available. 
The defense attorneys will typically object to those; however, the judges' hands 
are tied because there is a certain criteria the prosecutor has to meet.  Then the 
judge is going to grant that continuance.  This will elevate those issues, which 
is the number one reason for those delays, which would be to the advantage of 
the defendant. 
 
Assemblywoman Seaman: 
There are 36 states with this law, and there have been a few potential problems 
brought up here today.  With your research and knowledge, do you know of any 
of the states that have come back to repeal this law? 
 
Steven Wolfson: 
No.  To expand on Assemblyman Ohrenschall's concern that more cases will 
end up in the district court, I do not think that will be the case.  Right now, we 
have about 10 justices of the peace in Clark County who hear felony preliminary 
hearings.  They each have calendars that are a minimum of 15 preliminary 
hearings per day.  A certain number of defendants are in custody and some out 
of custody.  We have to settle most of our cases or our system will collapse; 
it is called plea-bargaining.  What that means is that we can only put one or 
two preliminary hearings on a judge per day, right now.  Additionally, I have 
a finite number of trial court judges who can hear these cases at trial.  Right 
now, some of our jury trials are taking one to five years to get to trial.  I do not 
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expect this bill to create more cases for the trial court.  We only want the kinds 
of cases that should be considered for jury trial.  The majority should be 
plea-bargained and settled at the justice court level.  Under these new rules, 
that will continue to happen.  Respectfully, Assemblyman Ohrenschall, I do not 
think that we are going to cause our jury case load to grow.  It will allow us to 
get the important cases through to district court in a more efficient way, not 
rushing cases, but recognizing the rights of the victims. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Since this was directed to you, Assemblyman Ohrenschall, this is not an 
adversarial hearing as you lawyers are used to.  We are simply trying to get as 
much information as we can.  I will give Assemblyman Ohrenschall an 
opportunity to respond to Mr. Wolfson. 
 
Assemblyman Ohrenschall: 
My only concern is with this language, even with the proposed amendment. 
With the abbreviated record we may get at the preliminary examination, I see 
the potential for delaying that negotiation process.  We all know how important 
the plea bargaining process is, but if vital information is not going to be able to 
occur at that justice court level, I see negotiations not happening, cases not 
resolving that should resolve and clogging up the district courts, indigent 
defendants sitting in jail and costing the taxpayer money when this could be 
resolved a lot earlier.  I am afraid I have to stick to my guns; this bill has 
unintended consequences. 
 
Steven Wolfson: 
Mr. Chairman, could I quickly respond? 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Actually, no.  At this time we are going to go to Assemblyman O'Neill.  For the 
audience's information, we will stop sharply at 11 a.m. today.  In fact, I am 
guessing since I have so many lawyers in the room, we will have to extend this 
so everyone gets an opportunity.  This is an extremely important bill for both 
sides.  We will probably go into recess at 11 a.m., and I do not know when in 
the future we will be able to continue this hearing.  This is one bill where we 
will have to spend the time and get it thoroughly vetted. 
 
Assemblyman O'Neill: 
If we are trying to model those 37 other states, and having worked under this 
procedure before in other states and here in Nevada under the federal system, 
why did you not include the ability for the lead investigator to sit at the table to 
help further expedite the proceedings?  I am a strong supporter of this bill.  I am 
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just curious why you did not model it completely after some of these other 
states. 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
That is already allowed under Nevada law. 
 
Assemblyman O'Neill: 
Allowed, but is it used?  
 
Christopher Lalli: 
We do not use it that often, but there are provisions to do that. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
I would like to give the proponents as much time as possible to get through the 
actual bill.  We have the idea of what we hope it will do, but we need to go 
through the language.  Ideally, for our education, we need to go through the bill 
section by section. 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
Section 1 provides a number of other significant things.  It authorizes justices of 
the peace to take felony and gross misdemeanor guilty pleas. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
This is the amended version, not the original version, correct? 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
That is correct.  That is intended to be enabling language and to apply to 
Clark County.  In the amendment offered by the Nevada District Attorney's 
Association, it makes this discretionary.  The reason for doing this is as 
a solution to jail overcrowding in Clark County.  It would cut down on the length 
of stay for those inmates in our detention center.  Currently, it takes as long as 
eight days between the time a person waives his right to a preliminary hearing 
until the time the defendant first appears in district court. 
 
To give the Committee an example of what would occur, a person would appear 
for his preliminary hearing.  If that preliminary hearing were waived, that waiver 
would be entered on the record, and in that same proceeding, the defendant 
would enter a plea of guilty.  It would make that proceeding very efficient.  
It would actually combine two hearings into one.  It is discretionary, not 
mandatory, and that would only apply to Clark County.  It requires that 
a defendant actually be present for a preliminary hearing, and we have already 
discussed that it would prohibit the justice of the peace from hearing motions to 
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suppress.  The appropriate venue for that would be in district court where the 
evidentiary hearings could be held. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Mr. Lalli, before you leave section 1, I have a question on subsection 2 of the 
amended bill (Exhibit H) where it says, "In a county whose population is more 
than 700,000, the parties may…."  Is it normal to have different procedures for 
criminal defendants in different counties?  Would this only apply to 
Clark County, and the other counties have a different set of rules in the 
Nevada Revised Statutes? 
 
Steve Wolfson: 
I think the simple answer is that Clark County has unique problems and unique 
issues that some of the other counties do not. 
 
Assemblyman Elliot T. Anderson: 
Section 1, subsection 7, says "At the examination, only evidence that is 
relevant to the existence of probable cause may be admitted."  That section 
seems duplicative with the relevance rule, Rule 401 in the Federal Rules of 
Evidence.  Can you explain to me what that phrase is seeking to do?  I am 
concerned that the judiciary will be confused when applying it. 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
Are you reading from the amended bill or the actual bill? 
 
Assemblyman Elliot T. Anderson: 
I am reading from the amended version, and it is section 1, subsection 7, 
lines 17 and 18. 
 
Mark B. Jackson: 
What this does is codify what currently is existing law interpreted by the 
Nevada Supreme Court, which puts these limitations and restrictions on at 
the  preliminary hearing.  If it is not codified, we get other types of 
interpretations.  Outside of Clark and Washoe Counties, there is no requirement 
that the justice of the peace has to be an attorney.  We are fortunate in 
Douglas County that our two justices of the peace are licensed attorneys, but 
in most of the rural jurisdictions, they are not attorneys.  This would clear up 
any potential confusion about interpretations with any of the case law that 
again goes back to 1962. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
In the amendment, section 1, subsection 7, line 20, where the line is blocked 
out stating "that it was unlawfully acquired…" does that mean that people who 
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do illegal things will be allowed to bring that as evidence into a preliminary 
hearing? 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
We do not want a justice of the peace to consider unlawfully acquired evidence. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Then why are you blocking it out? 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
It is being eliminated. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Now you are saying that you cannot object to people bringing evidence that is 
unlawfully acquired? 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
You are correct. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
That is one issue we will have to address. 
 
Assemblywoman Diaz: 
In section 1, subsection 9 of the amendment, we are requiring the defendant to 
be present.  Can you explain this change? 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
That is to address the State v. Sergeant 128 P.3d 1052 (2006) decision by the 
Nevada Supreme Court.  This amendment would address that decision. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Proceed to section 2. 
 
Wesley Duncan, Assistant Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General: 
Mr. Chairman, I would like to address your concern.  I think what we are talking 
about here is the jurisdiction of different judges.  Our justice court judges were 
elected to hear misdemeanor trials, arraignment of felonies, and preliminary 
hearings.  In many of our courts, we are getting far afield from what these 
justices are elected to do.  There are ethical responsibilities that prosecutors 
have in bringing forth cases.  The point of this is that we are putting a clear line 
in the sand as to what the justice of the peace can do.  Their statutory duties 
are not to be ruling on things that are meant to be handled at the district court.  
There defendants get to exercise all of their constitutional rights.  This bill does 
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nothing to affect what is happening at the district court level.  There are justices 
of the peace in rural communities who are not attorneys, and they are ruling on 
evidence that they do not have the legal training to do.  The justices of the 
peace have limited jurisdiction that they are responsible for, and this bill 
addresses those.  It does nothing with the defendant's trial rights.  I just want 
to make that clear. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
I do want to get to section 2; it is 10:30 a.m. with 30 minutes left today.  
Obviously, we are going to have a hard time getting through all 13 sections. 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
I would like to make one more point about the entire amendment.  This 
amendment is not only based upon issues that are important to Nevada 
prosecutors, some of the amendments were the product of discussions that we 
had with the justices of the peace throughout Nevada.  The language was 
removed based upon some of those discussions. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
We will have to get back to that.  I am a nonprofessional, and when I see 
somebody saying you cannot object to unlawfully acquired information being 
presented at a preliminary hearing, it does raise a red flag. 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
Section 2 expands the use of out-of-state affidavits under NRS 171.197.  
To prove the elements of an offense, many times we will need to bring  
witnesses to the preliminary hearing to testify that they were the owner of 
certain property, did not know that defendant, or did not give that defendant 
permission to possess the property.  If the witness lives more than 100 miles 
from where the preliminary hearing will be held, we are allowed to use an 
out-of-state affidavit.  Section 2 allows us to add value to the affidavit.  
For those offenses where value is an element, such as the theft or taking of 
a vehicle or theft of jewelry, we can include that information in an out-of-state 
affidavit. 
 
Section 6 expands the out-of-state affidavit and value to grand jury 
proceedings. 
 
Section 3 recognizes the advancement of audiovisual technology and brings that 
to the courtroom.  Those of us who have children in college rely on FaceTime or 
Skype, or for those of you at the Legislature, you may communicate using these 
applications with your loved ones back at home.  You are familiar with the 
reliability of these applications.  It is unfortunate that our statutes have not been 
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able to keep pace with technology.  Nevada Revised Statutes 171.1975 was 
written in 2001.  That was 15 years ago, and when you think about all the 
technological advances that have occurred since then, it is mind-boggling.  
We have antiquated requirements that are just not useful in today's technology.  
This amendment brings the statute in line with today's technology.  Section 7 
does the same for grand jury presentments. 
 
Section 10 has to do with Nevada's law regarding grand juries.  Nevada law 
gives defendants the right to testify at a grand jury.  It is unique from other 
jurisdictions in that regard.  To give that right, meaning before a grand jury 
presentation concludes, Nevada prosecutors are required to give a defendant 
notice that the grand jury is meeting to consider charges against him.  We call 
that notice a Marcum notice.  It needs to be provided five days prior to when 
the indictment is returned.  Defendants often challenge the sufficiency of that 
notice.  They may get creative with the calculation of five days, or it could be 
that a prosecutor did not give the notice in sufficient time.  It could be that the 
appointed attorney argues that they were not appointed to represent 
the defendant for grand jury proceedings, only to represent them in justice 
court.  It could be that a defendant was undergoing a psychiatric evaluation and 
the argument put forth is that the defendant was not competent to make 
the decision to testify.  If, for whatever reason, a court makes the determination 
that the Marcum notice was defective, the remedy is very harsh: the case is 
dismissed under current law.  In reality, this is gamesmanship, and I do not fault 
the defense bar for what they do because they are doing their job.  If I were 
a defense attorney, I would do the same thing.  I have been practicing law for 
21 years, and in cases that I have prosecuted, not once has the defendant gone 
to the grand jury and exercised this right to testify.  If a case is dismissed due 
to the Marcum violation, prosecutors have the right to reindict.  If a dangerous 
defendant has his or her case dismissed, the defendant is released from 
custody.  If a person is held from another jurisdiction, he or she may be lost and 
extradited out of Nevada.  If a person has an Immigration and Customs 
Enforcement hold, he or she may be deported and lost forever from prosecution.  
What section 10 does, if there was a problem with the Marcum notice, 
prosecutors are allowed to go back to the grand jury and if the defendant wants 
to exercise his or her right to testify, he or she is allowed to do so.  The 
defendants' rights are not a club to be used against prosecutors. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Have you covered section 4?  I would prefer to go section by section. 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
Section 4 indicates that hearsay is enough to make a finding of probable cause. 
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Section 5 is a provision that applies to grand juries.  It is a rule of evidence.  
If you impeach a witness with an inconsistent statement at a preliminary 
hearing or trial, the rule of evidence in Nevada is that inconsistent statement is 
sustentative evidence in itself.  That applies everywhere but a grand jury.  This 
section corrects that and makes the inconsistent statement sustentative 
evidence in the grand juries. 
 
Section 8 states that only information contained in the case file would be 
submitted to the grand jury.  It clarifies that a defendant cannot deliver to us 
fugitive information to submit to the grand jury.  We are allowed to submit 
exculpatory evidence to a grand jury.  That usually comes in the form of 
information contained in the investigative record.  This section prevents 
a defendant's attorney from saying, My client claims that this crime was 
committed in self-defense and requires to have that as evidence presented to 
the grand jury even though there is no evidence contained in the investigative 
record to suggest that.  Or, My client says someone else did the crime.  We do 
not want you to put that evidence in front of the grand jury even if there is no 
record or evidence to suggest that. 
 
I believe that I have covered all the sections in A.B. 193. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Did you cover section 9 regarding finding a probable cause pursuant to 
subsection 1 may rest solely on hearsay evidence? 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
Yes, that section makes the finding of probable cause based upon hearsay 
sufficient for grand jury purposes as opposed to preliminary hearing purposes. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
You are adding a new section.  Would you cover that quickly? 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
The new section goes along with section 1.  The way section 1 is written, 
when a justice of the peace receives a guilty plea, the charging document in 
justice court is a criminal complaint.  That criminal complaint becomes the 
charging document in district court.  Under current law, in district court, 
prosecutors are required to endorse or list all known witnesses on the 
information.  Criminal complaints do not currently list any witness names or 
addresses.  The added section removes the requirement of adding witness 
names to information so that those complaints can be used as charging 
documents in district court.  It is just a technical amendment to procedure.  
The important thing to keep in mind is that defendants will still know who the 
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witnesses are going to be at trial.  We are required to file notices of experts and 
witnesses in district court.  In Clark County, the practice is at first appearance 
we present the defense a packet of discovery.  At a case's onset, defendants 
receive information as to who the witnesses are, and that flow of discovery is 
ongoing through the life of the case. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Are there any questions from the Committee? 
 
Assemblywoman Seaman: 
My question is for Mr. Duncan.  While we are debating procedure with 
preliminary hearings, are there any states that eliminate preliminary hearings and 
go straight to trial? 
 
Wesley Duncan: 
Yes, there are currently three states that do not have a preliminary stage.  
This is because it is not a constitutional requirement.  I would like to break this 
down.  Say you have a young child who is a victim of sexual assault at the 
hands of an adult perpetrator.  The police are called to the scene; the detective 
or investigator shows up and interviews the child.  What commonly is done is 
that interview is recorded.  Instead of putting that five-year-old child on the 
stand at a probable cause hearing, this bill will allow us to call the detective and 
have the recorded interview played at the preliminary hearing.  Not only does 
the perpetrator victimize children, then the children have to tell the story to the 
police, then they have to attend a preliminary hearing and tell their story again 
to a prosecutor, then they have to go to a grand jury or preliminary hearing to 
tell the story again and be subjected to cross-examination at a probable cause 
hearing.  Once they go through that, it is time for trial.  The children may be 
subjected to a psychiatric evaluation, they might have to talk to a defense 
investigator, and then talk again to the prosecutor who is going to prepare the 
children for the case.  Finally, they will go in front of 12 people they have never 
met before, retell the story, and be cross-examined again.   
 
This Committee gets to make a statement regarding whether they think that is 
the right thing to do.  This is about the victims, and we do care about the 
victims in this state.  This Committee gets to put a price tag on what that is.  
I would strongly urge this Committee to pass this bill. 
 
Assemblyman Ohrenschall: 
I want to address section 8 of the original bill and the deletions on page 10 to 
NRS 172.145.  In the 76th Session of the Nevada Legislature, the former 
Chairman of this Committee, Assemblyman Horne, and the current Chairman 
worked on Assembly Bill 269 of the 76th Session, which stated that if 
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a preliminary examination was held and the justice of the peace felt that there 
was not slight or marginal evidence in order to bind a defendant to district court 
and hold that defendant to answer on the charges, the case was dismissed.  
Then the district attorney served the Marcum notice and decided to get 
a second bite at the apple and go to the grand jury to try and reinstitute the 
proceedings.  That defendant, for the first time in Nevada law, would be able to 
let the grand jurors know that the preliminary examination had been held and 
a justice of the peace had ruled that there was no slight or marginal evidence to 
send the case to district court.  I see that you are proposing to delete that 
language.  What is the benefit of not letting the grand jurors have 
that information?  I also have one brief follow up, Mr. Chairman, regarding the 
amendment. 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
I cannot think of a case where that has had an effect on our grand jurors.  
Oftentimes cases are dismissed at the preliminary hearing level for many other 
reasons.  It could be that a witness did not appear or a plethora of 
other reasons.  The concern is that the grand jury is being fed disinformation.  
It creates more confusion at the grand jury level, and we believe it should be 
deleted. 
 
Assemblyman Ohrenschall: 
I fail to see how the fact that charges were dismissed at a preliminary hearing 
would be disinformation that the grand jurors should not be allowed to know 
about.  The deletion of the existing language in NRS 173.045, subsection 2, 
(Exhibit H) concerns me regarding the judicial economy and resources.  If we 
delete this language, when will the defendant and their counsel find out about 
witnesses?  Would it not be reasonable to put a timeline in the language?  Many 
cases need to go into plea bargain, and I see this delaying it.  This would keep 
an indigent defendant housed at a county jail when this could be resolved 
earlier. 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
This is one of the provisions I am sure we can reach a compromise on.  This is 
a technical addition that I am sure we can work out.  Going back to section 8, 
when you go back to the reasons for probable cause here, there are only 
two issues at hand: whether a crime occurred and who committed it.  The issue 
of whether a case was dismissed at the prior hearing is not relevant to that 
issue and that was the reason the language is being dismissed. 
 
Assemblyman Ohrenschall: 
I respectfully disagree.  In the 76th Session of the Nevada Legislature, we felt it 
was relevant enough to put it in the NRS. 

http://www.leg.state.nv.us/Session/78th2015/Exhibits/Assembly/JUD/AJUD441H.pdf
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Assemblywoman Diaz: 
There was a scenario posed by Mr. Duncan regarding children being victimized.  
We are here to represent our constituents and protect the victims.  This to me is 
access to justice.  We need to be sure that what we put into our statute will be 
sound for everyone across the board.   
 
Assemblyman Elliot T. Anderson: 
Section 3 does not fix your visitor problem because it allows for the use of 
audiovisual.  I also wonder about section 5, subsection 3, and the inconsistent 
statement.  Why is it needed when in the section above it, subsection 2, you 
are allowing hearsay; so under subsection 2 you allow everything.  Subsection 3 
seems to be duplicative. 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
Section 3 does help us with our tourist and out-of-state victims.  What was 
your next question, I am sorry? 
 
Assemblyman Elliot T. Anderson: 
I am looking at section 5, subsection 3, speaking to the inconsistent statements 
of the grand jury.  In subsection 2, you allow all hearsay.   To me, that is wide 
open in subsection 2.  Subsection 3 just appears to be duplicative and not 
needed because you are allowing hearsay of all types. 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
I would agree with you in that regard.  It is duplicative, but I think it further 
clarifies the point, and that is why section 3 is in the bill. 
 
Assemblyman Elliot T. Anderson: 
We have it on the record now, thank you. 
 
Assemblyman Thompson: 
In section 7, I want to ask about the witness verification process.  I notice that 
we are eliminating certification of the videographer.  I understand that we are 
trying to advance and use more technology.  You are also looking to change it 
from the witnesses who reside more than 100 miles instead of 500 miles.  Can 
you explain how that verification and validation process occurs with video? 
 
Christopher Lalli: 
Right now, this provision is not used at all.  It is not used because of all the 
procedural requirements in this section.  What I can tell you with respect to 
witness validation is who am I right now: I can tell you I am Christopher Lalli, 
but I could be Jim Smorgawitz; how do you know who I am?  How do we know 
if any witnesses are who they claim to be when they come to court?  It is 
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because presumably a police officer has verified that person's identity.  All of 
those checks and balances are in place in the criminal justice system.  When 
victims are here in Nevada and interviewed by members of law enforcement, 
their identity is validated, and when they are testifying through video equipment 
in whatever state or country they are in, we would know that they are who 
they claim to be.  It is no different if they are appearing on video or in our court. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Mr. Jackson, if you could hold your comment unless it is pertinent to that 
section of the bill. 
 
Mark B. Jackson: 
It was going back to Assemblyman Ohrenschall's question on the new section, 
and I thought it should be part of the record. 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
Actually, I am going to put this hearing on A.B. 193 on recess at this point.  
I apologize for all the district attorneys who traveled so far.  We will have to 
have another hearing to try to get further into the bill.  Obviously, it is 
complicated, and I would encourage both sides in the interim to work out any of 
the differences that were expressed today.  We will have a further hearing 
on A.B. 193.  Hopefully, in the meantime, we will be able to address some of 
the concerns so we can get the hearing concluded.  We have been going since 
9:20 a.m. and it is now 11 a.m. and we have not gotten through the first 
three components of the bill.  In the interim, we will need to get as much on the 
record and give as much information to the Committee as possible so we can 
make an educated decision on the bill. 
 
The hearing on A.B. 193 is now in recess.  We have some committee business 
we need to take care of.  We have two bill introductions. 
 
BDR 40-586—Revises provisions governing trafficking controlled substances.  

(Later introduced as Assembly Bill 297.) 
 
Chairman Hansen: 
I will entertain a motion at this time. 
 

ASSEMBLYMAN OHRENSCHALL MOVED TO INTRODUCE 
BDR 40-586. 
 
ASSEMBLYMAN THOMPSON SECONDED THE MOTION. 
 

https://www.leg.state.nv.us/App/NELIS/REL/78th2015/Bill/1794/Overview/


Assembly Committee on Judiciary 
March 13, 2015 
Page 43 
 

THE MOTION PASSED.  (ASSEMBLYMAN NELSON WAS ABSENT 
FOR THE VOTE.) 
 

BDR 15-914—Revises provisions governing the criminal liability of parties to 
certain crimes. (Later introduced at Assembly Bill 296.) 

 
Chairman Hansen: 
I will entertain a motion. 
 

ASSEMBLYWOMAN SEAMAN MOVED TO INTRODUCE 
BDR 15-914. 
 
ASSEMBLYMAN ELLIOT T. ANDERSON SECONDED THE MOTION. 
 
THE MOTION PASSED.  (ASSEMBLYMAN NELSON WAS ABSENT 
FOR THE VOTE.) 
 

Chairman Hansen: 
Is there any public comment at this time?  [There was none.] The meeting is 
adjourned [at 11 a.m.]. 
 
[All items submitted on NELIS but not discussed will become part of the record:  
(Exhibit K), (Exhibit L), (Exhibit M), (Exhibit N), (Exhibit O), (Exhibit P), 
(Exhibit Q), (Exhibit R)] 
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