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CHAIR DONDERO LOOP:
We will first hear a presentation on the Tobacco Master Settlement
Agreement (MSA) by the Office of the Attorney General (AG).

HILLARY A. BUNKER (Senior Deputy Attorney General, Office of the Attorney
General):

| have put together a brief overview of the MSA (Exhibit C). The MSA originated
after several states sued major tobacco companies in the 1990s to recover
Medicaid costs and other damages related to tobacco use. In 1998, Nevada,
many other states and territories, and various tobacco companies signed the
MSA. What is important is the MSA does not end. There is no sunset provision;
it will continue on as long as cigarettes are sold.

The MSA placed restrictions on tobacco companies related to outdoor
advertising, sponsorship and focus on youth smoking. The states that signed
the MSA agreed to release the tobacco companies from claims they may have
otherwise been able to pursue. In return, the tobacco companies would make
annual payments to the signatory states.

Of the original four participating tobacco manufacturers, Philip Morris and
R.J. Reynolds are the only two companies still in existence. The other two,
Lorillard and Brown & Williamson, are no longer tobacco manufacturers. Since
1998, more than 40 other manufacturers have signed on.

Nevada receives a 0.6 percent share of the MSA payment in April, which
translates into approximately $40 million annually. Per statute, 40 percent goes
to the Governor Guinn Millennium Scholarship Program and 60 percent goes to
the Fund for a Healthy Nevada. Enforcement costs are also funded by the MSA
payment.

Tobacco companies that are not signatories to the MSA are referred to as
nonparticipating manufacturers. They do not make annual payments to the MSA
but are required to make payments to an escrow account. This prevents them
from gaining a market advantage. Their activity is regulated by statute.

After the MSA was signed, tobacco companies challenged whether states were
performing the required diligent enforcement. Ongoing arbitration, which is
delayed, most recently focused on sales in 2004. Failure to perform diligent
enforcement can cost a state up to its entire MSA payment for the year in
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guestion. Diligent enforcement is not defined in the MSA, but some factors
taken into consideration are: how well the AG Office and the Department of
Taxation work together on tobacco issues, the reliability of wholesale dealers
submitted information, what resources are allocated to enforcement, enacted
legislation and working with the National Association of Attorneys General.

The two agencies in the State responsible for enforcing the MSA are the
AG Tobacco Enforcement Unit and the Department of Taxation MSA Unit.
These units make sure all tobacco-related companies active in our State follow
policies, regulations and laws. The Tobacco Enforcement Unit oversees the
Youth Compliance Program, in which undercover stings are performed on
retailers to see if tobacco sales will be made to children under 18. It regularly
works with and represents the Department of Taxation on tobacco-related
issues.

SENATOR RATTI:

Is the percentage Nevada receives from the MSA always the same, or is it
driven by usage? Would it be affected by smoking rates increasing or
decreasing?

Ms. BUNKER:
The 0.6 percent Nevada receives is written in the MSA itself, so it will not
change.

SENATOR KIECKHEFER:
Who holds the escrow account non-signatory tobacco companies remit to?
What are those funds used for?

Ms. BUNKER:

Statute stipulates the bank must satisfy certain qualifications. The accounts are
held in private banks that meet the threshold amount of deposits. The funds sit
in the escrow accounts for 25 years. If the State were to sue the company to
recoup healthcare-related costs, the funds could come from escrow. Companies
that signed the MSA cannot be sued to recover healthcare-related costs by the
State, but private individuals can seek damages.

SENATOR KIECKHEFER:
Have other states sued nonparticipating companies for funds?
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Ms. BUNKER:
To my knowledge, there has been one release claim. Overall, litigation against
tobacco companies has decreased substantially, even by private individuals.

SENATOR RATTI:
What happens to the funds after 25 years?

Ms. BUNKER:
They revert to the company which originally placed them in escrow.

SENATOR RATTI:
Do we know how much money is in escrow?

Ms. BUNKER:

The AG Office receives quarterly updates from the holding banks and the
remitting tobacco companies. One of our tasks is to ensure funds do not drop
below the principal amount. There is between $15 million and $20 million in
€eSCrow.

CHAIR DONDERO LOOP:
How often does the Youth Compliance Program catch a retailer in a sting? What
is the penalty to the business?

Ms. BUNKER:

The statutes impose a fine and misdemeanor citation issued to the clerk
involved in the sale. It differs in that way from underage alcohol sales, which do
result in penalties for the business. Our buy rate has been increasing over the
years and stands today at about 14 percent.

SENATOR RATTI:
Are there states that fine the establishment as well as the clerk?

Ms. BUNKER:

Yes, there are other states that do it differently. Some fine the business with
the potential for license suspension or revocation if the violation persists. Some
states have the ability to penalize both the business and the clerk.
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SENATOR KIECKHEFER:
Is there a correlation between the intensity of enforcement and the instance of
violation?

Ms. BUNKER:

Our minors are hired State employees. Because this is a criminal citation, we
have POST-certified investigators perform the stings. | do not have the exact
numbers, but | have heard states that levy penalties against the business often
have an immediate reduction in their buy rates. When a store has something to
lose, it is treated differently than when a clerk has something to lose. Repeated
violations at the same store will not affect that store's ability to sell tobacco
products in Nevada.

CHAIR DONDERO LOOP:
| will now open the hearing on Senate Bill (S.B.) 62.

SENATE BILL 62: Revises provisions relating to manufacturers and wholesale
dealers of tobacco products. (BDR 32-424)

JESSICA ADAIR (Chief of Staff, Office of the Attorney General):

| am here on behalf of Nevada Attorney General Aaron Ford to present
testimony in support of S.B. 62, revising Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 370,
which regulates the manufacture and sale of tobacco products in Nevada. In
1998, Nevada entered into the MSA, which resolved healthcare-related lawsuits
between the Nation's largest tobacco manufacturer and 52 U.S. states and
territories. In exchange for the receipt of annual MSA payments, the State of
Nevada must demonstrate diligence in the regulation and enforcement of the
manufacture and sale of tobacco products in our State. Senate Bill 62 is brought
for your consideration in furtherance of our diligent enforcement efforts.

Ms. BUNKER:
Each Legislative Session, the Office of the Attorney General submits a bill
related to tobacco regulation enforcement. The office is tasked with diligent
enforcement of the MSA, which is determined on an annual basis. The entire
MSA payment Nevada receives is jeopardized if it is found to have failed diligent
enforcement.

Following signature of the MSA, the tobacco companies arbitrated against the
states to determine if they had been diligent in their enforcement efforts. As a
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result of this arbitration, Nevada signed a separate Settlement Agreement with
over 30 other states and various tobacco manufacturers concerning our diligent
enforcement of the MSA for calendar years 2003 through 2017. By entering
into this Agreement, Nevada did not have to participate in arbitration
proceedings to determine its diligence in enforcing the MSA for those years. As
there is no sunset provision on the MSA, the question of diligence has to be
determined every year.

Although diligent enforcement is not defined in the MSA, one of the factors
considered in determining diligence is whether the State enacted legislation
toward strengthening its enforcement efforts.

The main focus of this bill is to amend various sections of NRS 370 to mirror
what is already being done in practice. These sections relate to styles of
cigarettes, which is an industry description of cigarettes. For example, Camel is
a brand of cigarettes, but Camel Silver and Camel Crush are cigarette styles.
Similarly, Marlboro is a brand of cigarettes, but Marlboro Red and Marlboro
Special Blend are different styles of the same brand family. This is how all of
the cigarettes are listed in the Nevada Tobacco Directory (NTD) when the State
Fire Marshal Division certifies cigarettes by style for fire standard compliance.
This bill amends sections so that throughout NRS cigarettes are identified,
certified and listed by style, not by brand family. By requiring cigarettes to be
certified by style, the State has the ability to more accurately monitor cigarette
sales and create a more uniform certification for all tobacco manufacturers.

Section 1 amends the contraband definition to include any style of cigarette not
on the NTD. Existing language is limited to brand family.

Cigarette manufacturers are required to submit annual certifications and updates
to the AG's Office whereby they certify what cigarettes they are requesting to
sell in the State. Section 2 of S.B. 62 requires these manufacturers to list all
styles of cigarettes in addition to the current brand families.

Sections 3 and 4 relate to the NTD, which is a list of all cigarettes and
roll-your-own tobacco that can legally be sold in the State. Section 3 amends
the listing to include styles of cigarettes. Section 4 allows updates to the NTD
to include when a style is added or removed. These are already included in the
way the Directory appears online.
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Nevada Revised Statutes 370 states it is unlawful for anyone to stamp, sell or
possess for sale any cigarette-brand family not listed on the NTD. Section 5 of
S.B. 62 amends this to include cigarette styles not on the NTD.

Section 6 broadens the scope of compliance to ensure manufacturers are
complying with any regulations relevant to tobacco enforcement. This section
also clarifies all cigarette manufacturers are subject to civil penalties, to include
participating manufacturers that signed the MSA.

SENATOR KIECKHEFER:

It seems today there are a great many styles of cigarettes. How often will a
manufacturer be able to update this list? Will it hamper their ability to move
products in to the State? What is the process?

Ms. BUNKER:
Manufacturers are required to notify the State at least 30 days before they
intend on selling cigarettes in Nevada. The NTD can be updated at any time.

CHAIR DONDERO LOOP:
Is there a standardized way cigarettes are displayed or sold? Are businesses
mandated to keep them behind a counter?

Ms. BUNKER:

There is a federal ban on self-service displays, which is why tobacco products
are kept behind the counter in most establishments. In terms of the display, you
are touching on a hot-button industry issue, which is shelf space. Manufacturers
are greatly interested in exactly where their brands are displayed.

CHAIR DONDERO LOOP:
How are cigarette vending machines regulated under the federal ban on
self-service displays?

Ms. BUNKER:

Not every state allows cigarette vending machines, but Nevada does. They are
supposed to be in an area not accessible to youth under the age of 18, such as
casinos and bars. As part of our Youth Compliance Program, we do vending
machine stings, but we do not issue a citation to a clerk. Our investigator
instead talks to a security manager or general manager on site, and then our
office follows up with the corporate entity or a general counsel.
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MicHAEL HACKETT (Nevada Tobacco Prevention Coalition; Nevada Public Health
Association):

| am here in support of S.B. 62 to ensure the State continues to be in
compliance with the terms and conditions of the MSA. Settlement dollars are
the sole source of funding for the Fund for a Healthy Nevada, which provides
important public health programs for the State. It is the likewise the sole source
of funding for the State's Tobacco Prevention and Control programs and funds
programs on food insecurity, Senior Rx and Nevada 2-1-1 phone service, among
others.

CHAIR DONDERO LOOP:
| will close the hearing on S.B. 62 and open the hearing on S.B. 81.

SENATE BILL 81: Revises various provisions relating to tobacco products.
(BDR 32-190)

MELANIE YOUNG (Executive Director, Department of Taxation):

Before you today is S.B. 81, which revises the provisions relating to tobacco
products. The bill establishes uniform provisions for the licensing of persons
engaged in the manufacture, distribution and sale of cigarettes and other
tobacco products (OTP) as well as creating consistency within the statutes of
OTP.

SHELLIE HUGHES (Chief Deputy Director, Department of Taxation):
Before | go into the details, | would first like to explain the current issues we are
trying to resolve with this bill.

Existing law under NRS 370 provides certain licensing procedures, requirements
and penalties for cigarettes and other tobacco products. Nevada Revised
Statutes 370 is separated into several sections. One of those sections contains
provisions related solely to cigarettes and another section contains provisions
related solely to OTP.

We found clarity and detail are needed with many of the provisions that relate
to OTP to bring those provisions into alignment with the cigarette provisions.
Our goal is to have uniform provisions for both cigarettes and OTP in the areas
that are similar between the two. This will make the law clear and enforceable.
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There are some procedures absent in both the cigarettes and OTP provisions of
NRS 370. Examples are the refund claims procedures and issuing a license for a
logistics company, warehouse or distribution center. Essentially, we see this as
a cleanup bill.

As you look at the language of the bill and all 84 sections, it might appear we
are adding many new requirements for licensees of other tobacco products, but
that is not the case. The provisions under OTP in NRS 370 are similar to
provisions under cigarettes for licensing and applications, remittance of taxes,
refunds and credits, reporting, suspension and revocation, penalties, contraband
definition and seizures. However, many of those provisions under the OTP
sections that start at NRS 370.440 and end at NRS 370.503 are not as detailed
as the similar provisions under the cigarette section.

For example, the OTP provisions explain who needs to apply for a license, but
do not go into detail regarding the contents of the license, posting and transfer
requirements, the scope of the license, the period of validity and renewal
procedures as described in the cigarette provisions. All these provisions are
important for enforcement purposes and keep the OTP provisions in uniformity
with the cigarette provisions. This is not an expansion of licensing
requirements, rather it is a clarification of existing provisions.

You can look at the 99 provisions under the cigarette section compared to the
11 provisions under the OTP section to understand the OTP provisions are
lacking the detail and clarity the cigarette provisions have. The only real
difference between the two types of products is cigarettes fall under the MSA
and are required to be stamped.

We are working with the industry on their questions and potential amendments
to the bill. With that said, | will briefly explain the sections of S.B. 81.

Sections 2 through 18 provide definitions. Sections 9 and 16 are new
definitions. Section 19 adds that a person shall not engage as a wholesale
dealer of cigarettes or OTP, a tobacco retailer, cigarette vending machine
operator, logistics company, warehouse or distribution center without a license.
It also adds that a manufacturer shall not sell any cigarettes to a wholesale
dealer of cigarettes in this State or operate or permit any person other than a
manufacturer to operate a cigarette rolling machine unless that person secures a
license. It also provides that a separate license is needed for each activity and



Senate Committee on Revenue and Economic Development
February 26, 2019
Page 10

that a person may be licensed in all categories. Most of this language exists in
separate sections in NRS 370. The new language relates to requiring a logistics
company and warehouse or distribution center to obtain a license prior to
operating.

Sections 20 through 34 establish uniform provisions for the licensing of persons
engaged in manufacturing, distribution and sale of cigarettes and OTP.

Section 20 provides that the Department will create, maintain on its website
and make available to the public a list of all valid licenses and the identity of
those holding those licenses as well as Indian tribe reservations or colonies on
which cigarettes are sold but from which the Department does not collect the
tax. The Department will update the list at least once a month. This is a current
provision for cigarette licensees but a new provision for OTP licensees. This
enables the public to know who is licensed to legally sell a product.

Section 21 provides that no license will be issued, maintained or renewed if any
of several different conditions exist. This is an enforcement tool. We need to
know where the product is because in certain areas we have no jurisdiction.

Section 22 adds requirements for an application for a license. This is language
in separate sections of NRS 370.

Section 23 adds that a licensee shall not operate from any other location than
that listed on the license. It also adds that the Department may issue a
temporary license for a convention or trade show with specific dates of
operation. This is new language for both cigarette and OTP licensees and will
help with enforcement.

Section 24 adds that the Department may issue a license without a fee to
anyone authorized to do business on an Indian reservation or upon a military or
other federal reservation. This is language under the cigarette provisions but is
new language under the OTP provisions. This language is needed so that tribes
can purchase from manufacturers.

Section 25 adds what will be included on the license. Section 26 adds the
requirements for each license holder regarding signing and posting. It also adds
that the license is nontransferrable unless written notice is provided with a
change of location. Section 27 adds what each license authorizes the holder to
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do. All of these are current language for cigarette licenses but new language for
OTP.

Section 28 adds that each license is valid for one calendar year and must be
renewed annually. It details the fee and due date for a license and the late
payment of fees. This is language under the cigarette section but new language
for the OTP section and provides more detail on the period of validity for OTP.

Section 29 adds requirements for a bond and the amount of the bond for each
licensed wholesale dealer and for deferral of payment on the purchase of
revenue stamps. This is existing language for cigarettes but new language
regarding bond requirements for OTP.

Section 30 adds recordkeeping requirements and production of records. Some
of this language is current for both the cigarette and OTP sections, and some of
it is new language in alignment with recordkeeping requirements and production
of records of our other tax types. This change helps the Department maintain a
chain of custody.

Section 31 adds that this chapter does not prohibit any county, city or town in
Nevada from requiring licenses to operate. Section 32 adds provisions relating
to the suspension or revocation of a license. This is existing language for
cigarettes licensees and adds new language for OTP licensees as to when a
license will be suspended or revoked.

Section 33 adds that the Department will adopt regulations establishing
procedures for the suspension and revocation of licenses. This is existing
language for cigarettes but new language for OTP.

Section 34 adds that sections 2 through 34 do not apply to common carriers,
persons with quantities for household or personal use which are exempt from
federal import duty, or a duty-free sales enterprise. This is new language for
both cigarettes and OTP.

Section 35 details how much inventory a wholesale dealer of OTP must have on
hand. Sections 36 through 45 relate to overpayments, credits and refunds.
These are new provisions for both cigarette and OTP licensees and similar to
language in our other tax types. Section 36 adds procedures for overpayments
and how they will be credited or refunded, while section 37 adds procedures
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regarding credits and refunds: how to claim a credit or refund and the period in
which the credit or refund must be claimed.

Section 38 adds that interest must be paid on refunds in accordance with
NRS 360.2937. Section 39 adds requirements for suits, actions or proceedings
in court, while section 40 adds time frames and requirements for bringing
appeals of a final decision of the Nevada Tax Commission to a court of
competent jurisdiction.

Section 41 adds provisions relating to the Department's failure to respond to a
refund claim and appeal rights to the Nevada Tax Commission. Section 42 adds
provisions relating to payment of interest on a judgment, while section 43 adds
provisions relating to who may receive a judgment. Section 44 adds provisions
on how the Department can recover any refund or credit erroneously made.

Section 45 stipulates that if any amount in excess of $25 has been illegally
determined, it must be certified by the State Board of Examiners who will
authorize the cancellation of the amount in the records of the Department.

Section 46 amends NRS 370.0305 to include wholesale dealers of cigarettes
and OTP and tobacco retail dealers. This extends the definition of license to
include licenses under the OTP provisions.

Section 47 amends NRS 370.035 to provide an exemption for licensed logistics
companies or operators of a licensed warehouse or distribution center from the
definition of sale. This is a new provision.

Section 48 amends NRS 370.055 to revise the activities that cause a person to
be considered a wholesale dealer of cigarettes and provides that these activities
do not include the purchase of unstamped cigarettes from anyone other than a
manufacturer.

Section 49 amends NRS 370.073 to include the requirement that manufacturers
and retail dealers maintain current mailing and electronic addresses with the
Department. This provision is needed to include all licensees rather than just
wholesale dealers.

Section 50 amends NRS 370.090 to require a wholesale licensee to keep
$10,000 worth of cigarettes on hand, while section 51 amends NRS 370.175
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to include that the provisions do not apply to a person engaged in
manufacturing, testing, investigation or research of cigarettes or OTP if the
person is operating legally and has all licenses required by federal and State law.

Sections 52 through 54, 56, 61, 66 and 70 remove references to metered
machine impressions, while section 55 removes the phrase “received at those
stamping facilities.”

Section 57 amends NRS 370.240 to specify what should be included in the
report to the Department regarding stamped and unstamped cigarettes and the
date when it shall be provided.

Section 58 amends NRS 370.260 to include that all taxes and fees imposed by
sections 2 to 34 of this bill be remitted to the Department.

Section 59 amends NRS 370.270 to direct that a cigarette stamp should be
affixed at the time the retail dealer takes possession of a package of cigarettes.
Section 60 amends NRS 370.280 to indicate that a refund for cigarette stamp
tax paid shall be allowed to wholesale dealers and specifies what is required in
order to claim the refund.

Sections 61 through 65 make conforming revisions. Sections 66, 67 and 69
explain that violations of cigarette and OTP provisions included in sections 2 to
34 of this bill are unlawful, and a person in violation of any of these provisions
is guilty of a Category C felony or a gross misdemeanor.

Section 68 amends NRS 370.385 to indicate that a wholesale dealer shall not
affix a Nevada cigarette revenue stamp and indicates what types of packages,
cartons, packets or other containers a wholesale or retail dealer shall not accept
or possess.

Section 71 extends the forfeiture provisions found in existing cigarette
provisions to OTP. Section 72 amends NRS 370.425 to indicate when a civil
penalty will be imposed. This revises current language for cigarette licensees
and adds language to include OTP licensees. Section 73 extends the definitions
found in NRS 370.440 to section 35 of this bill.

Section 74 amends NRS 370.470 to indicate when a wholesale dealer of OTP is
required to obtain an itemized invoice from a manufacturer or wholesale dealer
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when purchasing OTP. Section 75 extends the provisions of NRS 370.525
regarding a person instituting a civil action for injunctive relief if the person
sustains direct economic or commercial injury as a result of sections 2 to 34 of
this bill.

Section 76 amends NRS 370.677 to require the Department to notify wholesale
and retail dealers of cigarettes of any changes to the Directory and revises
notification requirements of the Department from sending to a physical address
to requiring notification to an email address. It also requires a wholesale dealer
of cigarettes to identify and set aside for sale outside of this State any product
from a manufacturer, style or brand family that has been removed from the
Directory within 20 days after receiving the notice of the removal.

Section 77 amends NRS 370.684 to remove from the requirement that an
importer is jointly and severally liable for the escrow deposit for cigarettes sent
to a person who holds a license as a retail dealer.

Section 78 amends NRS 370.685 to require each distributor of cigarettes to
submit certain information to the Department on or before the twenty-fifth day
of each calendar month instead of 20 days after each calendar quarter.

Section 79 makes conforming changes to the grounds for the suspension or
revocation of a license of a wholesale dealer. This applies to cigarettes only.
Section 80 amends NRS to indicate that the Department will not accept bonds,
savings certificates, certificates of deposit or investment certificates in lieu of
the surety bond. Section 81 makes conforming changes to include sections 2
to 34 of this bill. Section 82 adds requirements for a person operating as a
logistics company, a warehouse or distribution center.

Section 83 repeals certain sections of NRS 370 that were only under the title
“Cigarettes” or only under the title “Other Tobacco Products” and have now
been added to a uniform section that applies to both “Cigarettes and Other
Tobacco Products,” which was previously discussed in sections 2 through 34.

Section 84 stipulates that sections 1 through 28; 30 through 82 and
section 83, subsection 1 become effective upon passage. Sections 29 and
section 83, subsection 2 become effective 180 days after passage.
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In summary, S.B. 81 will create consistency for cigarette and other tobacco
product licensees and make sure these tax types are strongly regulated. The bill
provides greater enforcement tools for the Department to prevent illegal activity,
eliminate tax avoidance and help with compliance for both OTP licensees as
well as cigarette licensees, which is important for MSA funding and has a direct
impact on the Governor Guinn Millennium Scholarship and the Fund for a
Healthy Nevada.

SENATOR KIECKHEFER:

Section 21, subsection 1, paragraph (a) of S.B. 81 appears to allow the
Department to deny licensure if an owner, even a minority owner, has a
delinquency in any type of tax, even if not related to tobacco. Is that correct?

Ms. HUGHES:
That is correct, if the owner has 10 percent or greater ownership interest.

SENATOR KIECKHEFER:
Even if the delinquent tax is from a separate business one may own, unrelated
to this business entity?

Ms. HUGHES:
That is one of the factors we would consider when deciding whether a license
should be issued or renewed.

SENATOR KIECKHEFER:
Does each physical location have to get licensed, regardless of how many
locations a parent company may have?

Ms. HUGHES:
That is correct.

SENATOR KIECKHEFER:
Is section 27 all new language for both cigarettes and OTP?

Ms. HUGHES:
That is correct.
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SENATOR KIECKHEFER:

As | read section 28, if a business gets licensed in November, it pays a fee and
has to apply for renewal in January. That seems burdensome. Is there a reason
we do not have a rolling licensure?

Ms. YOUNG:
The licensing is on a calendar basis. If a business started in November, it would
pay a 25 percent prorated fee and have to renew in January.

SENATOR KIECKHEFER:
Can a business apply for a year and a month at a time? Must they fill out
two separate licensing applications?

Ms. YOUNG:
The business would have to complete two separate licensing applications.

SENATOR KIECKHEFER:
Why do we require maintenance of a certain amount of inventory for all sellers?

Ms. HUGHES:

We require a certain amount of inventory to legitimize the business. It helps to
make sure these individuals are actually in the business of selling rather than
purchasing for personal consumption.

SENATOR KIECKHEFER:
It appears section 57 is a significant expansion of the reporting requirements for
wholesalers. Why does the Department need the reporting to be so proscriptive?

Ms. HUGHES:
The language is from NRS 370.235, and expands what is required for reporting
purposes. This helps the wholesaler with inventory control and with reporting.

SENATOR KIECKHEFER:
Are you copying the language from another section which you are deleting?

Ms. HUGHES:
That is correct.
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CHAIR DONDERO LOOP:
Could you clarify the proposed regulations as they pertain to Indian colonies in
section 24?

Ms. HUGHES:

Section 24 states the Department may issue a license without payment of fees
to any applicant authorized to do business on an Indian reservation, Indian
colony, military or other federal reservation. Under the cigarette statutes, the
Department provides licenses to Indian tribes without fee, which allows them to
purchase directly from manufacturers. The language in section 24 allows that
same provision for OTP as well.

MR. HACKETT:
We are in support of the Department's efforts to clarify and modernize the
tobacco licensing requirements and processes.

PeTER D. KRUEGER (Cigar Association of America):

The Cigar Association of America is a national trade association representing
cigar manufacturers worldwide. Senate Bill 81 deals with licensure, reporting,
handling and distribution of cigarettes and OTP, which includes cigars. We have
met with the Department of Taxation senior leadership to explain why the
marketing and distribution of premium cigars is different than the marketing of
OTP. This one-size-fits-all approach needs work.

Cigars fall in two categories. One is the premium cigar, which generally retails
for at least $10. The second is the popular-priced cigar, which generally costs
$2 to $4. It is manufactured by machine and may not have a tobacco wrapper.
All premium cigars have tobacco wrappers. We can craft bill language
recognizing the unique nature of a premium cigar. This amendment would still
allow the Department to ensure only properly licensed dealers and wholesalers
maintain an inventory of premium cigars. We hope to provide this language by
tomorrow.

| will give you examples of how the bill affects premium cigars. Section 35
establishes a minimum inventory level. Retail cigar tobacconists buy directly
from the manufacturer, as freshness is an important quality in a premium cigar.
That is why minimum inventory levels as cited will not work. For the same
reason, a manufacturer representative for premium cigars would not have the
minimum inventory levels required by section 50.
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We are in full support of preventing people claiming to be wholesalers but using
their product for personal consumption. We believe the bill can accomplish this
without penalizing the premium cigar industry.

JOSHUA J. Hicks (McLane Company, Inc.):

McLane Company is one of the Country's larger grocery and food service supply
chain providers. In that capacity, McLane affiliates hold cigarette wholesaler
licenses in Nevada. We are in opposition to S.B. 81 as written, but we are
proposing some changes. We are working on those amendments with the
Department. | would describe the proposed amendments as process-related, not
substantive. We are primarily focused on setting up a graduated scale of
penalties to deal with infractions. We look forward to bringing a consensus
amendment to this Committee soon.

ROBERT OSTROVSKY (Core-Mark International, Inc.):

Core-Mark is a wholesaler under the category discussed in S.B. 81. It provides
services and merchandise to convenience stores throughout the State. Tobacco
is one element of what we provide. We are working with the Department and
other interested parties on language that would allow us to comply with the law
without overly interfering with our operations. We want to ensure the State
gets all the tax revenue it is entitled to and properly controls tobacco products.
Because Core-Mark has warehouses in nearly every state, we are concerned
with conforming to regulations without undue burden. We look forward to
coming before this Committee with a friendly amendment soon.

CHAIR DONDERO LOOP:
To all those with concerns, please continue to work with the Department of
Taxation to find consensus.

MARLA McDADE WILLIAMS (Reno-Sparks Indian Colony):
We want to go on record to ensure any changes include tribal entities as this bill
moves forward. We will work with the Department to ensure this.
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CHAIR DONDERO LOOP:

This meeting is adjourned at 2:40 p.m.

APPROVED BY:

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED:

Senator Marilyn Dondero Loop, Chair

DATE:

Barbara Williams,
Committee Secretary



Senate Committee on Revenue and Economic Development
February 26, 2019

Page 20
EXHIBIT SUMMARY
. Exhibit / . . .
Bill # of pages Witness / Entity Description
A 1 Agenda
B 3 Attendance Roster
C 9 Hillary Bunker / Office of the|Introduction to the Master
Attorney General Settlement Agreement




